We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 North Conway B&Bs / inns

Isaac Merrill House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   720 Kearsarge Rd, North Conway, NH 03847
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Isaac Merrill House to your Saves list
Isaac Merrill House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #22 of 27 North Conway B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014
matt w Boston, Massachusetts
  • Overview
  • Reviews (103)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    16
    12
    11
See reviews for
23
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is just a dump. Even though the building is 240 years old, it has all been replaced with cheap stuff. Lumpy mattress, tiny room. The bathroom door did not even close fully and the lock was outside the door. Zero ventilation. TV did not work. Yes, the internet worked. Creaky floor boards. You could hear everybody the building talk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Having decided to travel up to North Conway on February vacation for a few, accommodations were slim but this Inn seemed like the best bet for the money. It was. Our room was what we needed - comfy bed, tv and bathroom...although I know they offer more for more $$. The Inn itself is aged its creaks adding some charm.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The outside of this very old inn is beautiful, however the inside is another story. The dining room/living room is out of White Christmas, that is about the only positive thing it has going. Room was clean, however carpet was stained and decrepit. Bathroom clean, however shower head was disappointing. Heat HOT about 1 am, and no heat at all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norway, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I can only speak for the jacuzzi room, we have stayed 4 or 5 times in that room, we love it. It's quiet, yet still close to town. The price is reasonable and we get deals in emails often. We have stayed in the summer, winter and spring, always encountered nice people at the desk. I've read the reviews, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinver, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Isaac Merril in October and had two rooms, we were the only guests in the first night and it felt just as though the place had been opened up just for us. Nice receptionist great welcome wine and cheese, but the rooms are so tired and the bathrooms in both rooms really did need ripping out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for the night recently. Nice they didn't make us book two nights like a lot of the other local places do. Price was average, and the girl at check-in and breakfast host were both very nice. Our room was ok, could use some updates. It's an old house so lots of squeaks, and we could hear every step of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Enfield, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

First of all we appreciate and understand the idiosyncracies of old inns and enjoy them for what they are. We have made this inn our getaway for the last 4 years and have always enjoyed our time here. The hostess is very warm, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was good and more than enough to get us going for the day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Titusville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is definitely a historic B&B that is approximately 240 years old. Apparently, it has absentee owners and is run by younger folks. I must say that the on-site staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good and included the normal continental breakfast items plus a choice of pancakes, waffles or french toast. I thought the price was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Franklin, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was awful. Just terrible. We did have an inn keeper as we walked in, we saw our room and it was "quaint". We left for the night and came back, no one was there (as we were told there wouldn't be) We went to the 75 degree room with no AC. We tried to get cool and were unable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
isaacmerrillhouse, Owner at Isaac Merrill House, responded to this review

There is no way you stayed here. Must be someone in the industry trying to hit us. 1. We have A/C in all our rooms. 2. Have for the last 12 years. 3. We have an assistant innkeeper who lives in the inn and her phone number is given to you when you check in. Nice try, but you didn't... More

Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed there September 14, 2013 and as everything seemed to be booked out in North Conway we were expecting much less. We were very happy with the Isaac Merrill House. Our room was on the 3rd floor, clean, great bathroom with whirlpool tub and quiet. Breakfast was home cooked blueberry pancakes and sausage. Sure some of the rugs in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Isaac Merrill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Isaac Merrill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaac Merrill House

Address: 720 Kearsarge Rd, North Conway, NH 03847
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isaac Merrill House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Isaac Merrill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaac Merrill House Hotel North Conway

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;