We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saco River Camping Area

1550 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860
Saco River Camping Area
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    9
    10
    5
See reviews for
36
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Okeechobee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We visited your campground in August of 2014. It was a very nice campground. We only stayed a couple of days in an RV. We very much enjoyed being able to float down the river behind our campsite. The Campground was very quiet and noticed that there were quite a few activities for children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our campground. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Gardiner, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for long weekend. Just got camper and wanted to try different campgrounds. Signs had quiet times posted but kids loud before those times. Bathrooms/showers need desperate cleaning. I felt dirty even after getting out of shower. Coin operated shower. Other campgrounds I went to, shower was free

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our campground. We understand kids can be noisy and we are glad you noticed that quiet times were enforced. As for the showers, unlike most campgrounds we're on town water and town sewer. As a result, water usage is very expensive for us. We're also adding more staff in 2015 to keep... More 

Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We have stayed at this campground for years and always a great time. Booking 1 year in advance for the Fryeburg Fair when we left. This year 2014 it has changed ownership again. New rules. Seems old timers moved out. Just not the camping experience it was. Drove down the road and checked out 2 other campgrounds. Found one to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are however disappointed you did not feel you were treated in a friendly and welcoming manner. All of us try hard to provide a friendly and welcoming experience for our guests. We're sorry you went away feeling anything less. We also understand many people do not like change and... More 

Deerfield, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This is one of my favorite campgrounds ever. It has everything you could possible want/need camping. Owners keep striving to make it better which is great to see the work they have recently done. Location, location location! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

It's great to read of your terrific experience at Saco River Camping Area. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Kittery, Maine, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

My family and I have been camping here at least two to three times per year for several years. We knew that having changed hands, we should expect some changes. We went into our experience hopeful that we would still love what had become our favorite summer stomping ground. For our first trip, in July, I had called ahead to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Hello Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay here. We're sorry we fell short of your expectations.We have reviewed your comments with our staff and management. While there are some significant discrepancies on the items you have outlined, I will focus on a just a few items for clarification: 1. There are no... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Just left this morning after a mother-daughter weekend. Had a wonder time, first time at this campground. We arrived to a very clean campground, and most importantly clean bathrooms. The staff very friendly. My daughter and I took kayaks down the Saco, again the staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend highly that you check this campground out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the kind words. We're thrilled you and your daughter enjoyed your stay here and we hope to have you back for your next mother/daughter trip. More 

Merrimac, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We are not new to this campground and were worried of changes with new owners. Boy were we wrong! I found changes everywhere! Cleaner bathrooms, activities that even our teens loved! Staff everywhere and more than ready to help in any way! Quiet time, how awesome is that? No complaints here. We have camped for many years and there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We visited the SRC on August 16-21. This was our first trip to this area. Check in was a breeze, with lots of things to check out in the country store. Staff was friendly and accommodating, answered all our questions and more. During our trip we planned a kayak trip which we rented right at the campground and were driving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We camped here for 4 nights last week. I was really looking forward to camping on the Saco River. I was disappointed at the size of the campsites - they are fairly narrow and VERY close to each other - much closer than I am used to. The 1st night the people across from us were loud and partying till... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at the campground the week of August 4th. When checking in I have to say the staff was more then pleasant. Much to my surprise the girl shared with me a comment that Nick put on my reservation saying ( Nicest lady ever ) well you can't help but to be nice when someone treats you the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent experience with us and we're thrilled your family had such a great time. Our staff works hard to ensure a terrific experience is found here. Thanks again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question