We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saco River Camping Area

1550 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860
Saco River Camping Area
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    15
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The campground was in a good location to everything in North Conway and had great access to float down the Saco River. The sites were all good size, we have a 30 ft trailer and a Ford 350 and we had plenty of site space even with parking the truck. Some things were a bit outdated, but clean. The store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay. We're thrilled you found our staff friendly, facilities clean, your site large and you enjoyed the river. Naturally, we're disappointed you were unhappy with the river area by the bridge. Please know that section of the river is private property and unfortunately,... More 

Voluntown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our 2nd year in a row staying here and we love it. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The grounds are very clean with lots to do. The best part is the location. While at your campsite, you are in the wild with the river running right by the campground but with a 2 minute ride, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. We're thrilled you had a terrific time and found our staff welcoming and the facilities clean. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Haverhill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

You have a lovely campground and the location is ideal. However, the patrolling of the campground by the guy in the golf cart was a bit much. We were there for a family weekend with children and we observed and followed your rules. But having the man in the golf cart with no headlights patrol the campground at 10:01pm was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Hello Lynne - Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay here. I'm thrilled you liked our location and thought the campground was lovely. Unfortunately, I’m also disappointed you felt our night security was overly burdensome. I offer our sincere apologies. As a family campground we have many children who are put to bed prior to 10 pm and... More 

Northwood, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We just got home from a wonderful weekend at your campground. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The site, and bathrooms all clean and well taken care of. We camped with my son and his wife and my folks. Had a blast kayaking down the river with the dogs. We are hoping to get reservations for july! We have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Hi There LouAnn, Thanks so much for the great review. We're glad you found our facilities and property clean...we try very hard to keep them that way. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Lyndonville, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This place is fantastic! The people are very friendly and very helpful. We have been comin,g here for about 6 years. It was always a nice place but some new owners have bought it and they have really made some nice improvements. I haveh used the restrooms and they are clean and refreshing. Big sites with all the extras and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Hi William, Thank you so much for the great review. We're thrilled your family enjoyed your stay here and you have kept coming back for the last 6 years. Good stuff. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

East Angus, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Stayed for Mother's Day weekend - after finding out our hot water tank was leaking and Zales lost my wife's wedding ring things weren't going so well. When the campground couldn't get a hold of an rv repair guy they sent over one of their staff who had worked for an rv dealer. He found the problem and got everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here. We were thrilled we could help make your weekend a little better after its rough start. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay. More 

Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Our first time to this campground. It was immaculate from the lawn to the bathrooms and we had a great time. You have to try the fun cycle bikes as their a blast. My only sort of negative thing was the pool was too hot. They said it was 80, but felt way warmer to us. Still we had fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thanks very much for sharing your great experience here on Memorial Day weekend. It's always great to hear to such positive feedback. Thanks again. We look forward to having you back. BTW - After reading your feedback, we double checked the pool temperature and confirmed it was 80 :)....sometimes on cool days it does feel warmer. More 

Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We visited your campground in August of 2014. It was a very nice campground. We only stayed a couple of days in an RV. We very much enjoyed being able to float down the river behind our campsite. The Campground was very quiet and noticed that there were quite a few activities for children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our campground. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for long weekend. Just got camper and wanted to try different campgrounds. Signs had quiet times posted but kids loud before those times. Bathrooms/showers need desperate cleaning. I felt dirty even after getting out of shower. Coin operated shower. Other campgrounds I went to, shower was free

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our campground. We understand kids can be noisy and we are glad you noticed that quiet times were enforced. As for the showers, unlike most campgrounds we're on town water and town sewer. As a result, water usage is very expensive for us. We're also adding more staff in 2015 to keep... More 

Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We have stayed at this campground for years and always a great time. Booking 1 year in advance for the Fryeburg Fair when we left. This year 2014 it has changed ownership again. New rules. Seems old timers moved out. Just not the camping experience it was. Drove down the road and checked out 2 other campgrounds. Found one to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SRCA1550, Manager at Saco River Camping Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are however disappointed you did not feel you were treated in a friendly and welcoming manner. All of us try hard to provide a friendly and welcoming experience for our guests. We're sorry you went away feeling anything less. We also understand many people do not like change and... More 

Travelers are raving about these North Conway hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
1.4 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#15 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities