We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee

Hotel website
1349 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Lodge)
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!!
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #4 of 4 Newbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015
Sharron S North Reading, Massachusetts
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
North Reading, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My young son, boyfriend and I recently stayed here. We took advantage of their Sunapee ski & stay package. I checked around and they had the best discount as a bundle: ski with stay. (You receive ski vouchers and then need to exchange them for a ticket.) We stayed in Room 9 which is on the bottom level. First, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The Inn was maintained very nicely. My kids thought that it was really cool that they could see the lake from their deck. Plenty of parking with easy accessibility to the room. Affordable and clean. The continental breakfast was ok. The inn was run by a nice family!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a variety of guests from couples, families, business travelers and long term guests. Our success stems from guest satisfaction and the cleanliness of our rooms. We appreciate your taking the time to review our motel and hope you will stay with us again. More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We were in town for a quick 2 night stay to visit family and really felt lucky to have found this place online. Our room was pristine and all of the litttle touches really made a difference. From the bedding to the vase of pretty faux flowers to the samples of vitamin C it made for a nice experience. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do try to add little touches to make your stay memorable. We've even had requests for wine and flowers in the room which we have done for several guests. We hope you will stay with us again when you are in the area. More 

Charlestown, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My wife and I booked one night on our way up to Morningside. The next morning we liked the place so much we booked a second night. This is an older property, but the room was clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom clean and functional. Overall, there were no problems with our upper level room. The motel has no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

This motel has some decent reviews and I was shocked at the condition of our room. Yes, the owners are nice and friendly, but that's not a reason to give the motel good reviews. I stayed with my granddaughter. My room had 2 double beds with the bed posts broken and rattling around. I thought that was kind of dangerous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

Thank you, we value the opinions of all of our guests. Our goal is to provide our guests a relaxing escape in the mountains of NH that also mimics the rustic environment in which we reside, not mirroring the façade of a city hotel. Being that you are a senior contributor on Trip Advisor, we would hope you would bring... More 

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Me and my fiancé just returned from a trip from New Hampshire, We chose The Lake Inn because of the prices ( stay 2 nights get one free was the current special) and location. The rooms were small but perfect for just the two of us, The room was very clean, and the views where breathtaking! The owners where extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel; we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The property is older and with that comes some squeaks, but we are always trying to improve. We also try to have a special for guests to take advantage of during the week. We hope you return. More 

Mineola, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Just returned home from a beautiful relaxing trip. I have stayed in the Inn last year and had a lovely relaxing experience, so we figured we would stay here again this year. We found that the Inn has a quiet, homey, pleasant feeling and will melt away all your stress. The couple who run the establishment are friendly, pleasant and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your peaceful stay again this year and hope you come back next year. We will hopefully have a few new upgrades. More 

Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We chose the Lake Inn based on its location in the Sunapee area, the room price and the many good reviews on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, the inn was not what we had anticipated. When we pulled into the driveway, it was very evident that maintenance on the building had been deferred (broken screen door, peeling paint, weeds in the entry door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

We value the opinions of all of our guests and thank you for your review. We have been working hard over the past three years to make this a destination of which to be proud. Having said this, we are embarrassed and sorry about the condition of the bathroom upon your arrival and take full responsibility for not checking rooms... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a lovely spot, and the rates are great. That said, service is terrible, owners are rude and demanding. We were asked and required to take out our own trash. Never had Linens changed. Had to go request new towels. Once, I found a nasty note from a housekeeper scrawled on a pad in the room. It was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

The experience you describe is not characteristic of the service guests receive when staying with us. Your employer booked and paid for several rooms from Monday to Friday for a number of construction workers (6-12) at drastically reduced contractor rates over the past few months, a courtesy we try to extend to businesses. At less than 50% of the usual... More 

New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

like many previous reviewers, I was pleasantly surprised by this property. We booked it due to proximity to Mt. Sunapee where we were visiting due to the annual craft fair. Reviews were good but when we mentioned where we were staying to a Chamber of Commerce rep at the Fair and he wasn't familiar, we were hesitant. We shouldn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. At the Craftsmen's Fair, representatives are not employees of the Chamber of Commerce, but rather business members volunteering their time to assist guests with the area. Some representatives are new and not completely familiar with all businesses. We are glad you decided to give us a chance. We know that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities