We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Newbury B&Bs / inns

The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee

1349 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee to your Saves list
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
85%
Ranked #4 of 4 Newbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jeannine J Mineola, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned home from a beautiful relaxing trip. I have stayed in the Inn last year and had a lovely relaxing experience, so we figured we would stay here again this year. We found that the Inn has a quiet, homey, pleasant feeling and will melt away all your stress. The couple who run the establishment are friendly, pleasant and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the Lake Inn based on its location in the Sunapee area, the room price and the many good reviews on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, the inn was not what we had anticipated. When we pulled into the driveway, it was very evident that maintenance on the building had been deferred (broken screen door, peeling paint, weeds in the entry door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

We value the opinions of all of our guests and thank you for your review. We have been working hard over the past three years to make this a destination of which to be proud. Having said this, we are embarrassed and sorry about the condition of the bathroom upon your arrival and take full responsibility for not checking rooms... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely spot, and the rates are great. That said, service is terrible, owners are rude and demanding. We were asked and required to take out our own trash. Never had Linens changed. Had to go request new towels. Once, I found a nasty note from a housekeeper scrawled on a pad in the room. It was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

The experience you describe is not characteristic of the service guests receive when staying with us. Your employer booked and paid for several rooms from Monday to Friday for a number of construction workers (6-12) at drastically reduced contractor rates over the past few months, a courtesy we try to extend to businesses. At less than 50% of the usual... More

New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

like many previous reviewers, I was pleasantly surprised by this property. We booked it due to proximity to Mt. Sunapee where we were visiting due to the annual craft fair. Reviews were good but when we mentioned where we were staying to a Chamber of Commerce rep at the Fair and he wasn't familiar, we were hesitant. We shouldn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ended up staying here for one night when the cottage that we rented for the long weekend had a major plumbing problem and we were left with no running water. From the moment I called the inn (at 9pm at night) to see if they had room availability, the owner was very helpful and welcoming. He held two rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

We were happy that we could help you out. We aim to assist travelers with their needs even when they encounter an unexpected event such as you did. We are glad you enjoyed the remainder of your evening. Hopefully if you are in the area again, you will stay with us. More

LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our large family stayed at the Lake Inn for a wedding, renting six rooms over a weekend. The owners are lovely and extremely helpful - they just couldn't be nicer. The rooms are clean, pleasant, and quiet, the price is reasonable, and the location is excellent, with a stunning view of the lake. The inn offers hammocks for lounging and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having your family here at The Lake Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your extended weekend and all the area has to offer. We hope one day you will return. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

A refurbished and somewhat updated version of a motel which has been on this site for years. Nothing very fancy but a good location if you are interested in winter skiing at Mount Sunapee or summer activities at beautiful Lake Sunapee both of which are close by. Rooms are clean and comfortable, reasonably priced, and convenient to several decent restaurants.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

Clean, comfortable rooms and our quiet location help to make stays with us memorable. Thank you for your kind words. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband booked this hotel when planning to visit his parents childhood home. It was perfect. Very nice owners, very clean rooms, fair price, unbelievable view of the lake, nice restaurant next door within walking distance. Decent continental breakfast included, ice machine on premises, hammock available to lounge in. Gas grill and picnic tables on site.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hospitality is important and we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again! More

Milton, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at The Lake Inn the first week in July and had a truly exceptional time. First off all, the room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is located very close to everything including restaurants and attractions, beaches and boating. The owners will bend over backwards to assist with whatever they can. We wished we could have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority and we are happy to see we succeeded with your visit. The fall foliage is beautiful and we look forward to your return. More

Sneads ferry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I got married in NH this weekend and several of my family members and I decided to spend an extra night. We chose the Lake Inn at Mt Sunapee because of the great views and location. Upon checking in, the owner found out that I was an active duty Marine and just got married the night before and gave me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this review

We were very happy to accommodate you and your wedding party! We had 2 sons in the military...1 marine and 1 air force...so we were glad we could help make your day special. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee

Address: 1349 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Every room overlooks beautiful Lake Sunapee with a screened porch or patio outside each room. Clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms with private baths, air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, color cable TV, VCR, WiFi, alarm clock and hair dryer. Fire pit and gas grill available. Continental breakfast offered every morning in the office. During summer we are a short walk or one minute ride to Lake Sunapee State Beach for swimming, canoe/kayak rentals, a shaded picnic area with grills, a children's playground, and a public boat launch, . You may also want to take a cruise on Lake Sunapee on either the MV Mt. Sunapee (afternoon cruise) or the MV Kearsarge (dinner cruise). Mount Sunapee Resort is the site of an Adventure Park with zip line tours, treetop course, Segway tours, disc golf and miniature golf. In the fall, when looking out over the lake from your room, you have a gorgeous view of the colorful foliage from the nearby mountains. In the winter, we are 1/2 mile from the entrance to Mount Sunapee Ski Resort for skiing and riding. Around the corner is the State Beach where snowmobilers gather at the beginning and end of their day. Come visit us for a night or a week. We look forward to meeting you. Weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer