We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Laconia hotels

The Margate Resort

76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Hotel amenities
The Margate Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Margate Resort to your Saves list
70%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Cindy C Salem, New Hampshire
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    142
    57
    32
    48
See reviews for
155
123
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (453)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (244)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Salem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is where we stayed after leaving the Shalimar . I got a two bed room suite that was wonderful. I would tell everybody to go there. Pool was blue and warm hot tub was relaxing the view was breathtaking .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cranston, RI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to Margate for a long weekend getaway this past Columbus Day weekend. The location was great, right on the lake. It was very easy to find. The staff was helpful, but they could have been a little friendlier. We had to go back to the front desk for an explanation on how the key card worked. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here in August for my best friends wedding. Our reservation was for a room across the street at the Inn Building. When we first entered the room I was dissatisfied with it entirely. It had a smell to it, the sink wasn't in the bathroom, the carpet and bedding looked like it was 30 years old. Since it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, Front Office Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however I remember your situation clearly and that it happened a bit differently. Upon relieving the night auditor, which was the man you claim to have told you there was nobody here to help you and to call back in the morning, he made me aware of your complaint. He told me that you wanted... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Margate was a very enjoyable place to stay. We had a water view room - it overlooked the beach, the water, the grassy area and the gazebo/restaurant off to the right. Very peaceful scene after a busy day. The breakfast - which was included was very nice. A great place to relax & enjoy the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting such a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Can’t wait to have you back again soon! Kyle Parisi General Manager More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been going to Laconia for years and people always rave about the Margate. I attended a wedding there recently. The beach bar is pretty great, great views, drink and food. Out of everyone that works there though, there was only one nice person on the staff...an older female bartender. She was awesome! Like, awesome awesome. Other than that, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you think all of my staff, except the bartender, were jerks. Our wedding bonfires are contractually scheduled until 1:00am for various safety and insurance reasons. It sounds like the "jerk" who put it out at 1:30am gave you an extra half hour out of the goodness of his heart. Beyond that, unfortunately we cannot have... More

Waterford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here early in September for a family wedding. The venue is hard to top. The Margate is an all in one; wedding chapel under a tent and a very short walk up the hill to the reception tent. The grounds are a pristine sitting on the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee. A beautiful place. My only complaint, and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Margate Resort. We are very fortunate to have such a great location for weddings and events of all types. And we are constantly upgrading the rooms and the property as a whole, making every effort so all of our guests have a positive experience. Thank you for your kind review and... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I visited the Margate for a week for a well needed get away. The staff treated us like royalty. Especially Tyler who called us his VIP'S. The room was spotless. It felt like home I was so comfortable. We spent the last day on the lake all day and ended up at the gazebo for excellent food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Beverly B for your wonderful review. I am so glad Tyler was able to make your stay, as well as your anniversary here at the Margate Resort that much better, and we have recognized him for doing so. I am also happy that you were able to experience some of the amenities the Margate has to offer. Again,... More

Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just got home from a weekend at the Margate for a wedding. The wedding was beautiful but the hotel was not. The Margate had 4 weddings going on at the same time. To me that is ridiculous. We had a room over looking the late and the outside bar. The whole 2 nights we couldn't get to sleep until... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, however it is loaded with inaccuracies. And I am confused as to why you believe people at the bar were not "paying clients". Do you mean locals? Although we do allow local guests to patronize our Beach Bar, we do not advertise our Beach Bar locally....at all. On this particular night, the Beach Bar was busy... More

Mendon, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did not accept AAA discount. Toilet seat broken, not attached to rest of toilet, vending machine not working properly[ripped me off for $3.25, room overpriced. Nice view though. Stayed in the Inn accross the street from the main hotel. Pretty poor room conditions. See Tanja Yane review. Absolutely right on, totally agree.

Was this review helpful? Yes
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. You are correct that we do not offer an AAA discount, however we do offer a variety of multi-night discounts that many guests have taken advantage of throughout the years. I am assuming you made our front desk aware of your toilet seat situation and that it was fixed promptly. Our front desk would... More

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a room here for a weekend getaway at the tail end of the summer. When we first arrived, we thought the place looked pretty nice- definitely could be a three-star hotel. At check in, the girl working the desk was extremely rude. Then we were then sent to our room- which was not actually in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Dear TanjaYane, I appreciate you posting your review on TripAdvisor. First off, I would like to apologize if you thought our front desk staff was discourteous. Let me explain a little bit about The Margate. The building where you checked in is our main amenities building and has no overnight rooms. The Inn across the street is our more cost... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay