We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Margate Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST RATES
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
What travelers say:
Very nice
(7)
Continental breakfast
(6)
Indoor pool
(4)
The Margate Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Margate Resort
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    149
    59
    35
    48
See reviews for
163
129
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (472)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (244)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
South Portland, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have started a tradition of coming to the Margate in the early spring when occupancy is low and I can relax without interference. I only come once a year and stay for a few days. I relax in the spa,the pool and always head to Funspot. The first 2 years I went were amazing. I basically got the pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, Front Office Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry for any inconvenience this guest experienced. This guest, and every other guest that had an arrival date during our indoor pool renovation was contacted via e-mail or phone. I personally left this guest a voice mail approximately a week before his arrival date and never heard back from him. On his arrival date when he called, I... More 

Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed at the Margate for a ski competition that was being held a nearby Gunstock mountain. What is good: They accommodated all the race families with a room to sharpen and wax skis. The kids enjoyed the pool. The rooms are by and large clean. We had a family suite that featured a king in one room and two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. This ski race weekend is always a very busy time for us, but our staff is always happy to help our guests in any way. We really do make every effort to accommodate all guest requests, and to respond to any issues that may arise. Thank you for noticing those efforts. You... More 

York, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

In the middle of a snowy, New Hampshire winter we were thrilled with the prospect of a weekend at a hotel with a heated, indoor pool, a hot tub and a sauna. (Hot showers were a luxury taken for granted.) We were in town for a Pee Wee hockey tournament so were booked into a block of rooms for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. I say thank you, because it helps prove to the previous reviewer that we were not lying to him about the property wide cable outage we experienced during the weekend of 2/27 through 3/1/15. This issue has since been resolved by Metrocast, and the TV signal into our property has been amplified. No further... More 

Narragansett, Rhode Island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I stayed at this property while visiting family who had just relocated to Laconia. Check-in was uneventful, the staff was friendly, was assigned a room in the lakefront building. I checked-in at approximately 4:00pm, took a shower then left for dinner. I arrived back at the room at approx. 10:00pm. I was tired from snowboarding all day and spending time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your stay was below expectations. By having no cable TV signal in your room, this would negatively affect anyone's stay. We have been experiencing off-and-on issues with our cable TV service ever since the government mandated digital upgrade that took place last autumn. But we never had a problem like this. For whatever reason,... More 

boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I threw a destination birthday party here for about 40 people this past October, and overall my experience was excellent (most people attended Fri to Sunday, myself included). Most of the facilities the Margate offered were used. During the day Saturday, we had people kayaking on the lake, playing bocci on the grounds, using the pool/hot tub, taking advantage of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for the awesome review! You're right, we do not claim to be the ultimate in luxury, but we do try and provide the best quality guest rooms, function space, and on-site amenities that we can, while also providing a great value. And by the sound of your review, it appears your group took advantage of almost everything... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We love the lakes region and stay on Winnisquam every summer. We often drove past The Margate on our way to Weirs beach or Funspot every year. We were fortunate enough to get some family time together over the holidays and made a reservation at The Margate for 2 nights.It was absolutely a great time and a good value. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review, and thanks for giving us a try! If you enjoyed your stay during the winter, you will absolutely love it here in the summer when all of our outdoor amenities are open. And if you are looking for more great values, we have some multi-night specials available even during peak season. We hope to see... More 

Chelsea, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

The Margate is one of my favorite places to go to. I like the friendliness about it. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff has always been friendly whether it is on the phone or in person. The area is great and you can drive to other areas and find a lot of things to do or just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We have always tried to create a family friendly atmosphere, and clean, comfortable, and affordable accommodations. And as you stated, there are a lot of great area attractions and restaurants to fill the days of Lakes Region visitors. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you again!... More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Located in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire, The Margate was a really great stay! We attended a family event held at The Margate selected by local reputation and they did not disappoint. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with staff friendly, engaging and knowledgeable. If you are planning a getaway in the Lakes Region, I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

I am so glad you decided to stay with us. We appreciate the nice comments you made regarding our rooms. Also, like you we agree our staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We greatly appreciate you recommending us. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future. Kyle Parisi General Manager More 

great neck, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We stayed here for just one night on a packed schedule, but for the kids sake i wish we stayed longer. My kids (3 & 5 yrs old) absolutely loved it. The lake was so peaceful and they loved going in the water and swimming out to the dock. The beach is right on the property and very family friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I am glad you were able to utilize some of the amenities that the Margate has to offer. You are correct; this is a very family friendly resort. We do try to control how loud the beach bar gets at night, and I am sorry you had to experience this. Thank you for your... More 

Reading, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The decor is dated and it happened that there was a large conference staying while we were there for a surprise birthday party so a lot of people were in and out of a few conference rooms and in the halls the whole time and at the buffet breakfast our entire party had to leave to go elsewhere because there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize about the number of people that were staying at the hotel. We have 141 rooms on property, along with function rooms and conference space. At full capacity we typically have roughly 300 overnight guests on property. We would like to hope this doesn’t inconvenience people. Again I apologize, and I hope to see... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question