We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Keene hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Keene
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Emily M Moultonborough, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (191)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    63
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
57
59
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moultonborough, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Service at this hotel was good. Staff were friendly. Room was not clean. Not impressed with their treadmill. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone for their getaway weekend. I would of liked to see a hot tub in the pool room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed for one night, July 20, 2014. Booked the hotel with a senior rate of $88 several days in advance. Read recent TripAdvisor reviews, so on checkin requested a room that would be quiet and that was in good condition. The desk clerk at checkin was very pleasant, and I was given a room on the first floor of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

your average slightly sub-grade motel. Nothing wrong, exactly, but the rooms were a bit worn, cigarette smoke in the hallways, etc. I was bothered by the fact that the website mentioned lobby renovations - "sorry for any inconvenience" -- but couldn't bother to mention that breakfast was being served in the dark pub next door only until 9 am --... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tuckerton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First I must note that the hotel was undergoing some renovations in the check in and business meeting room areas, so it wasn't possible to give the hotel a better grade. However, the staff was extremely pleasant and courteous and the room I was given was far from the construction area so I would have a good nights rest. The... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathews, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is undergoing major construction and should be avoided this summer. Housekeeping staff missed our room first day and air conditioning controls didn't work. Breakfast and pool were good but overall experience was bad.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel for the price. Was missing toilet paper but otherwise a very clean hotel and the irish pub right in it was awesome. After 12h of motorcycling, the drink felt good. Location is easy to find as it's right beside the highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay upon you last visit, we hope that on your next visit we can impress and you leave 100% satisfied. Thanks again, see you soon. More

Pt. Charlotte, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was old ,peeling wallpaper,dirty floor. Would not stay here again. I expect more from a Best Western Plus.Stayed for 4 nights and the breakfast was the same every day. It was served in a restaurant buffet style and would be so easy to offer a little variety.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to express your views on TripAdvisor. We are deeply sorry your were not 100% satisfied throughout your four night stay. We hope you choose to stay with us upon your next visit to Keene, so we can give you the excellent stay you deserve. More

Killingworth, Connecticut
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aware if the lobby remodeling but didn't expect the poor and unkempt condition of the rest of the hotel. Yes, the desk staff was friendly; had requested at time of reservation for a quiet room. First room assignment was midway on the first floor, not too far from the vending/ice machine and facing the highway side. And, in the morning,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to express your views on TripAdvisor. We apologize for any inconveniences that you may have encountered while you were our guest. We urge you to stay with us again upon your next visit to southwestern New Hampshire. More

Reston, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was super disappointed with this hotel. I grew up in Keene and it was one of the nicest hotels around (we had our prom in the ballroom there). Now it is a mess. The rooms have water damaged cielings, and the "updates" look like a DIY project gone wrong. The free breakfast is awful. The staff was very nice,... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate reviews of any type because we accept constructive criticism, We apologize you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. As you mentioned this is very irregular at our hotel and would implore you to give us another chance. We hope to see you again soon. More

Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came through Keene for one night. Although the lobby is being remodeled, we weren't inconvienced al all. Had a great night sleep and a nice hot shower. First floor room was nice. Breakfast was very good at the attached Irish restaurant. Lots of room to sit and plenty of food for the sold out Saturday night crowd on Sunday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you fro the fantastic review. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our onsite restaurant Waxy O' Connors. They offer Live Entertainment every weekend and there is no cover charge for hotel guests. We hope you come back once our renovations are completed. Hope to see you soon. Thanks again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Currantly under renovation for lobby and breakfast area..Till april 30.2014 ... more   less 
Number of rooms
128

See which rooms travelers prefer