We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    117
    101
    50
    38
    20
See reviews for
105
94
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (326)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed (2) nights at this hotel on Keene, NH. Rooms were clean and very quiet. Pleasant surprise for a college town. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms spotless. There were ample choices in the breakfast room and the food was warm. Staff was very attentive and accommodating. Location is walking distance (1-2 mi.)to downtown and Keene State College right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Norm A for the great comments in your review about your stay with us. Please do come and see us very soon! More 

Mystic, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended a day long conference at this hotel. Arrive the evening before and was very pleased with the staff and the accommodations. Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to the center of Keene. Will definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to this area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Kevin M for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay with us. Please come see us again soon. More 

Hinsdale, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel recently had made modest remodeling upgrades. The ice machine on the 2nd floor was out of service for 3 months...even after reporting the status to general manager/owner K.T. Patel.... the hotel raises the prices for the summer season... why... most of the business I have ever seen is in the fall and winter here... the rooms fill rather... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear this Gary S. Our hotel's peak season is from May until October. We are actually slower in the winter times and that is when prices are lower. As all of the hotels in town, and around the world, when there is a demand for rooms, there is usually a rise in price. Our rates are set... More 

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lobby was beautiful and an extremely nice atmosphere, front desk people were very friendly and helpful, Room itself was large and comfortable. I had a couch with a pull out that I did not use. As couch it was comfortable. The fitness room was great. They had free weights and a machine with plenty of room to move around. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mark W. for the fantastic review about your recent stay with us. We enjoyed having you at our hotel again, please come back and see us soon! More 

Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed my stay and will go back again. The food at Waxy's was wonderful. We all tried something new and we all loved it. It is close to Keene State College, which was our destination. Enjoyed the pool it was nice and warm.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Kimberly G for the great review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we have for you at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel while our floors were being refinished to avoid the odor from two coats of polyurethane as it was drying over several days. It has to tell you something when you decide to check out after two days and take your chances with toxic fumes. Queen beds? Maybe in Munchkin Land. The room was so dank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I have already spoken to our housekeeping staff about your review and this... More 

West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our main issue with the hotel has to do with the cancellation policy. When we made our reservation online the cancellation policy was 4 pm that day, and we received an email from Best Western confirming that. Later, we received a second email from the hotel which included, ins mall print, information that we had to cancel 24 hours in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I have checked all of our websites and I could not find anywhere,... More 

Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
384 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed over after a long Bike ride from MA to Keene. A nice and clean hotel with a pretty lobby. The staff were great and we ate breakfast in the morning which is included. We were happy that it had a fridge as we had lots of water to put uin it for our hike the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Dibird50 for taking the time to fill out a review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that everything was to your expectations. I hope that your hike the following day was great and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was not great. Had to go around a confusing rotary and try to see the sign. The pool water was so warm it was gross. It took a full 4 minutes for hot water to come out of the bathroom faucets. The ice machine was broken. The furniture in our room as beat to hell. Really awful. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing this review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. More 

VERMONT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second visit here. I had been here for a workshop for several days in the past. I had to return to Keene for another workshop in town and knew I could count on clean comfort. Breakfast choices were decent. The only drawback was waking to the sounds of conversation before 5 AM, nothing outrageous, just extended talking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mayur P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you vtbiker for taking the time to fill our a review about your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize on behalf of the staff about this incident. I have already spoken to and shared your review with them to advise them that although they are awake and working, not everyone else is. I hope that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 12 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
13.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
14.2 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 12 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay