We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Hampton hotels

Ashworth by the Sea

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ashworth by the Sea to your Saves list
Ashworth by the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
74%
Ranked #7 of 43 hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
NewEnglandfloor1
  • Overview
  • Reviews (518)
  • Photos (140)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (133)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    148
    78
    38
    27
See reviews for
149
235
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is clean and neat, the location is fantastic. I thought the pool was less than average and needed to be updated, not to mention it was difficult to find and with a stroller there is no elevator access to the pool, my husband and I had to carry the stroller down a flight of stairs to get there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback regarding your experience. While we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location and clean facility; however, we apologize that you had difficulty accessing the pool. The pool is going to be up for a major renovation for next season and will have improved wheelchair accessibility.... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I got the first negative impression when we arrived and the valet guys treated us rather second rate. Informed me that they had to check over car for damage to be sure I didn't make false claim that they damaged car? No offer to help with luggage, hold door, or whatever? Everyone who we encountered who worked at the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Joe, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering feedback regarding your experience. Our valet service does a four point inspection of all vehicles that require valet service. We apologize if this process made you uneasy; however, it is standard procedure and we will share your comments with our valets to ensure that it is done tactfully.... More

Lake Luzerne, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I just returned from a beautiful getaway to hamton beach New Hampshire and had a fabulous stay at the Ashworth by the sea. We were greeted by Patrick at the front desk and to our surprise our room was ready at 10:30 upon our arrival. We had called a few days prior and spoke to Emily to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Sharon, Thank you for this outstanding review. We have a great team here at The Ashworth and appreciate your generous compliments regarding their customer service. We're happy to hear that they made an impression on you and your husband. We will be sure to pass your feedback along to them and we look forward to hosting your next stay. Best,... More

Oakdale, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was our first trip to Hampton Beach, and we were not familiar with hotels in the area. By the time we decided to vacation in Hampton Beach, weekly rentals were booked solid. That was in mid April. We decided on Ashworth by the Sea,due to it's availability. The location of the hotel is amazing, that, the staff and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for offering feedback regarding your experience. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amazing location, professional staff, and wonderful on-site restaurants. In regard to parking, There is free state parking in March however, seasonal parking charges (including state –owned property parking charges) start June 1st each year on Hampton Beach... More

Windsor Locks, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed at a few hotels during the years at Hampton Beach; however a cousin of mine told me the Ashworth was just remodeled and thought it would be perfect for me and my husband to get away for a few days. Something for my husband to look forward to during his recovery. This was our first stay at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Herkimer
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first stay at Ashworth by The Sea. Overall we were happy with our stay. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked a live band that played all weekend long. The staff was accommodating & The Wharfside Cafe located in the hotel had an amazing breakfast and complimentary coffee to go. No complaints here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 4th year coming to the Ashworth. Very disappointed this time. The Queen beds were both horrible. They were caving in towards the middle and uncomfortable on the edges if you didn't roll into the abyss. It's time to replace them folks!! The heated pool was almost as cold as the ocean. Have never found it this way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your repeat patronage of our hotel and for offering valuable feedback regarding your recent visit. We sincerely apologize that you found your visit to be disappointing. We will look into the status of the mattresses in this room as we regularly perform inventory inspections to update when needed. In regard to the pool, temperature readings are performed... More

Colchester, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Ashworth every time we have visited Hampton Beach for the past six years. This spring unknown to my wife, I made reservations to celebrate our anniversary and Mother's Day there. When I told her we had reservations, I told her we had to settle for a side room, she was just happy to be returning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Tom, Thank you for your loyal patronage of The Ashworth and for taking the time to review your recent experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that our wonderful ocean view accommodations, friendly staff, and delicious on-site dining provided you and your wife with a memorable anniversary visit. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next stay.... More

Pelham, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed the Ashworth! The food at the Sandbar (the cool scallop salad) was exceptional. The bands were good, unfortunately it got rained out a couple of days. The staff and food at Breakers was fantastic. The Valet Staff was personable and professional, they seemed to go above board to get our vehicle as quick as possible. Cleaning staff was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Robert, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Sandbar, Breakers restaurant, and our valet and cleaning staff. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit. Best, Tom Cannizaro, GM More

Wallingford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed July 2014. Room 353 double queen ocean front balcony. Also had rollaway bed brought in. 2 adults, 2 kids. Plenty of room, refrigerator, comfy beds, modern bathroom, great view and balcony. Valet parking was great. Hotel staff was friendly and polite. Room wasn't cheap at $350 a night but what do you expect in the peak of summer. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our spacious accommodations, modern bathrooms, and ocean-view balconies. We value your business and look forward to hosting you again next year. Best, Tom Cannizaro, GM More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ashworth by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hampton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
105

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ashworth by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer