We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashworth by the Sea

Certificate of Excellence
295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842
Hotel amenities
3 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ashworth by the Sea
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    290
    190
    102
    50
    32
See reviews for
190
309
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (664)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (295)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Never a dull moment when you think this is the place to go. The only major hotel @ Hampton Beach. We visited there for a night of socializing, dancing and meeting new people in the lounge. The atmosphere is a comparison to a New York City Hotel with no suggestion of a Resort Hotel. Never a pleasant greeting even with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed at The Ashworth for a quick overnight during a beautiful late August beach day. The upside of this hotel is that it's a quick walk across the street to the beach and it's a little ways away from the hustle bustle of the arcades. The hotel has an indoor pool which was great for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved it here! Staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and had plenty of room for 3 adults (our son slept on the fold-out couch which was surprisingly comfortable). Valet parking reasonably priced at $15/day for in & out as much as you want. Hampton Beach is clean, crowded yet fun, great waves, nice bath houses and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Too many things to list . Top of the list : broken promises,terrible service and disgusting food . Tiny rooms for $300+ a night and find filthy sliders and hair . The manager looked more like a used car salesman with hooka necklace and cheap cargo pants from Walmart : I would prob be a little more posh dressed if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Addy, I'm so sorry to hear of your disappointment with us during your recent stay. We normally receive many compliments regarding our food and I will personally speak with my head chef to ensure that this was just an isolated issue. As for service, I will share your comments with each and every team member and use this as... More 

Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In fairness, we visited Ashworth by the Sea during the last two weeks of summer vacation for New England. I would not recommend that timing, as the beach was just a sea of people, making it hard to enjoy the view of the ocean from our small balcony. The room was clean, the bed linens very nice, and the amenities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed for 2 nights at the ashworth. We have stayed there many many times and were always pleased, but not this time. We believe that it is overpriced at approximately 260 a night plus another 15 for parking without a lousy breakfast included. Plus a hold on the credit card for $25 for authorization is ridiculous! We were expecting entertainment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Lyd799, Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the smell of smoke in your room due to other guests. We had our security and manager on duty sent up numerous times and those guests were given a final warning. We do take this very seriously and they were charged accordingly.... More 

Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight at the Ashworth. Staff was friendly and happy to answer any questions. Room was nice and clean, as was the bathroom, although the decor was a little dated. Room was quite small, however - there was perhaps 2 feet of space to each side of the king-size bed, and not much more at the foot. There was barely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for choosing us to host your stay to Hampton Beach. We take great efforts in training our team and I'm so happy to hear that my staff was very accommodating and attentive during your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room size; We do have different options of guest rooms available... More 

Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To start the valet service is lacking. We had to unload ourselves bring our own bags to our room and the same when we checked out. Keep in mind you are paying a $15 a night parking fee. They only have 1 elevator which is small so you have to maneuver carefully. Our room was clean the view was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Katandglen, Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Ashworth By the Sea. I am very sorry that there were so many aspects of your stay in which you did not enjoy. I am however, happy to hear that you got the opportunity to watch the fireworks and I will look into extending our "last call" so... More 

Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

to make a long story short we spent 300+ a night for a tiny first floor room near the road when we asked for a 3rd floor room when we booked . second the room wasn't filthy but tiny and looking worn . went to dinner in the hotel restaurant and the $24 haddock was the worst I've ever had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Ndodier, I am very sorry that we failed to deliver you exceptional service during your recent stay. I was very disappointed by your feedback as we normally receive many positive comments regarding our food quality. We always strive for the freshest seafood and all around best in season ingredients and I will reach out to my Chef to ensure... More 

Hampden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here over 10 years ago and at the time was the best on the beach. I called a couple of days before our stay and was intrigued that they still had our record on file. There was only a few rooms left and the clerk advised that they were smaller rooms with one queen bed and no view. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Willygoo, Thank you for your detailed review on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great experience with us and I'm honored to get the chance to host your stay 10 years later. We appreciate your suggestions regarding our indoor pool enclosure and covering up more of the middle roof with decking; We... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Valet parking(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
  • Best hotel(3)
  • Breakfast buffet(3)
  • Coffee shop(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

216 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#3 of 44 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#14 of 44 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#6 of 44 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay