We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Top Notch Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581
Offers & Announcements
FREE Attraction Ticket
3 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Top Notch Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    215
    122
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
122
148
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (221)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Top Notch for 2 nights in July. PROs: We requested a quiet room and were given one at the back of the inn away from the main road. Front desk staff extremely friendly. Quick check-in. Wonderful dinner recommendations at 'SAalt' restaurant down the road. We ate there both nights. Also, we received a 'moose spotting' sheet from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to write a detailed review of the Top Notch. As for the “PROS” we are glad that you found good food and activities you enjoyed while here! And the “CONS” we have looked into and appreciate you bringing to our attention. Hope to see you again soon! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I would stay here again, with some caveats. LOCATION: I went here w a friend to hike Mt.. Washington which is only about a 15-20 minute drive away. The Top Notch Inn is in the middle of Gorham, and you can walk to most restaurants from the hotel. Convenience-wise, it can't be beat. THE TOWN: There's nothing in the town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the detailed review of the motel and the town of Gorham. We appreciate your compliments and complaints and will take measures to rectify improvements. We actually do have many restaurants in Gorham, from casual to gourmet, many with rave reviews from foodies all over the world. We give our guests discounts to 4 restaurants you can walk to... More 

Jericho, Vermont
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a very basic motor inn. Don't let the name fool you. It is not top notch and to call it an inn is a stretch. The employee at the check in is very helpful. The room is very dreary and dated. The bed was uncomfortable. We wore our shoes in the room and our clothes to bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review since it helps us to improve our operation. We are discouraged to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have many different types of rooms, and not sure which one you had an issue with. We were hoping you could please call us to let us... More 

Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed last summer at the Top Notch after we decided at the last minute that we wanted to introduce Storyland and Santa's Village to our little one. Within a day or two after I made my reservation at Top Notch, I came down with one of the worst colds I ever had and sadly called back to rebook my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

We glad we were able to accommodate you, and that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do have a fortunate location near nice restaurants and popular attractions. We look forward to your return visit! More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night at this hotel for a weekend trip to Mount Washington. Smooth check-in, nice room and amenities, recently renovated bathroom, everything looked quite clean. Would return and/or recommend it to anyone. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is a 3-minute walk away from a nice pizza place which offers discount for Top Notch Inn guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

We hope that you enjoyed your hiking trip, and got to summit Mt Washington! We are fortunate to have "Mt Fire Pizza" and "J's Restaurant" on either side of us. They both are very good and offer our guests a discount. Thank you for staying with us, we're glad you found the accommodations and the staff to your liking. More 

Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our family of four stayed at the Top Notch for a night in July and we will stay there again for a night in August. Room 110 is perfect for a family with two kids as there is a bunk bed in the same room as a King bed for the parents. The room was clean; the fridge, microwave and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all the compliments! We love to see happy customers return again and again. See you soon! More 

McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's on the main East-West road of Gorham. Micro/fridge, clean, and nice bathroom. Comfortable bed. Couple of chairs outside of each room at one story motel. Good deal for the money. Nice and average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We appreciate you staying with us, and hope you have a fantastic vacation! More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Moriah house. It is a great place for families. There were 10 of us and we had plenty of room and everything we needed was in the house. Very clean, great staff and quiet neighborhood. Would love to stay there again. In center of town and close to food, gas and shopping. Many things to do nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay! Mt Moriah Cottage is great for families and groups. Thank you for taking the time to write a review to help fellow travelers, and we hope to see you here again soon! More 

Bangor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night for a weekend in the White Mountains. Our room was very pretty. It had been redecorated recently. The motel is very conveniently located on Main Street. We got 10 % off coupons for dinner and breakfast at nearby restaurants. The grounds are beautiful! There are lovely flower beds all around, carefully tended. We stayed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

We all here at the Top Notch Inn appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the restaurants here in our little town:) Thank you. More 

Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We usually stay at chains and I was very impressed. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and the property takes pride in their property. It was clean and well maintained. We usually stay at Marriott and Hilton properties and the beds were up to the same standard as the chains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are flattered to be compared to Marriott and Hilton properties, but pride our selves in being a comfortable and clean mom and pop motel ;) come back and stay with us again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#2 of 13 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
24.6 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
17.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay