We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillwinds Lodge

33 Dow Avenue, Franconia, NH 03580
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hillwinds Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hillwinds Lodge
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
There are newer reviews for Hillwinds Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Salem, NH
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel might be a bit older and not a national chain but the owners have kept it neat and clean, just how I like a hotel. The grounds were nicely manicured and there were flower boxes all around. My husband and I planned a weekend getaway and this was our stop for night #1. We were given room #50... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillwinds_Owner, Owner at Hillwinds Lodge, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank ThatsAGiven for the wonderful review. There is just one discrepancy in the review that I would like to address. ThatsAGiven wrote "If you get a top floor there is really no place to sit right outside your room unless you come down the stairs." In fact, there are several sets of Adirondack chairs on... More

Hampstead, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A great family owned hotel. The owners are kind and helpful, rooms are clean, grounds are pleasant and inviting. We were in town for a wedding at Toad Hill Farm just minutes from the hotel. Nice pool area with b'bqu grills available. We enjoyed a walk downtown during the 4th of July festivities, watched the parade from the deck or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I booked our room at the Hillwinds Lodge as it was the only pet friendly hotel that I could find in the Franconia area. I tried to book at a pet friendly hotel in St. Johnsbury, VT but they required a two night stay and that did not work for us. Reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, it sounded as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hillwinds_Owner, Owner at Hillwinds Lodge, responded to this review

I usually do not respond to reviews, negative or positive, as I feel that a guest is entitled to his or her opinion and I should not be contradicting a guest because of her/his opinions. However, in this case I felt that one aspect of this review should be addressed. In his review, William G said he "....encountered a creepy... More

East Windsor, New Jersey
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We are a repeat visitors to the lodge and it looks like they did some renovations, at least on the room we stayed in.It was downstairs pool side.The owner is always very nice and helpful. Never tried the breakfast because we go to Polly's pancake house which is a must. Rates are good specially if you use the Room Saver... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
34 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great price and clean place. Some of the furniture looks old but TV is pretty big and new. Very spacious. The owner is very friendly and works hard to keep the place great. Only minutes away from Littleton with better restaurant selections. Minutes away from Cannon Mountain and Franconia State Park. My only gripe is the wifi is weak but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First, you cannot beat the price. The place is tired, very tired, but the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom decent, cable and excellent wifi. The hostess was I very accommodating about early check-in so I could drop my bags and headmoutmformthe day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We recently stayed here while we skied at Cannon. It was very close to the slopes so that was a great advantage. We enjoyed the breakfast that was offered as a good way to start the day. Our room was basic but clean and cozy. The surrounding area looks like it would be fun to explore when it wasn't freezing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West of Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The rate was great, the bed was really great, it was perfectly clean the location was solid, so who cares if the room looked dumpy? Stay here and you'll have plenty left to spend at Polly's, Garnet Hill, Cannon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed here twice this month because I liked it so much. It got really cold both times but the rooms stayed warm and cozy. The beds are comfortable, the linens were nice--the quilt was a real quilt. The shower was good. The fridge and microwave worked well and everything was really clean. I have bad allergies--no problems at all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We found this lodge via trip advisor and decided to stay one night. It was fall so the courtyard pool and volleyball was not part of our trip. In the summer it seemed like the court yard would be a nice place to hang out. The room was clean although older with a very small bath area. It worked fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hillwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Lodge

Address: 33 Dow Avenue, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hillwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Franconia
Hillwinds Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (70)
Hotel & grounds (15)
View from room (8)
Dining (2)
Room/suite (7)
Pool/beach area (4)
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (26)
Hotel & grounds (6)
Pool/beach area (3)
Room/suite (1)
View from room (1)
Dining (2)
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay