We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Franconia hotels

Hillwinds Lodge

33 Dow Avenue, Franconia, NH 03580
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hillwinds Lodge to your Saves list
Hillwinds Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Lorraine W Prescott
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (75)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prescott
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A very nice little place. The desk person was friendly and welcoming. We had a pool side room and sat out at a picnic table to enjoy a glass of wine. The only complaint I would have is the late start (8 am) to breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hillwinds Lodge was a great, simple place to stay at. We stayed to do some hiking, biking, sightseeing, etc. This lodge is just located off I-93 and a few minutes away from the Franconia Notch area and about half an hour from the Crawford Notch area. We spend our time at Franconia Notch and this place was the perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salem, NH
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel might be a bit older and not a national chain but the owners have kept it neat and clean, just how I like a hotel. The grounds were nicely manicured and there were flower boxes all around. My husband and I planned a weekend getaway and this was our stop for night #1. We were given room #50... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillwinds_Owner, Owner at Hillwinds Lodge, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank ThatsAGiven for the wonderful review. There is just one discrepancy in the review that I would like to address. ThatsAGiven wrote "If you get a top floor there is really no place to sit right outside your room unless you come down the stairs." In fact, there are several sets of Adirondack chairs on... More

Hampstead, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great family owned hotel. The owners are kind and helpful, rooms are clean, grounds are pleasant and inviting. We were in town for a wedding at Toad Hill Farm just minutes from the hotel. Nice pool area with b'bqu grills available. We enjoyed a walk downtown during the 4th of July festivities, watched the parade from the deck or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I booked our room at the Hillwinds Lodge as it was the only pet friendly hotel that I could find in the Franconia area. I tried to book at a pet friendly hotel in St. Johnsbury, VT but they required a two night stay and that did not work for us. Reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, it sounded as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillwinds_Owner, Owner at Hillwinds Lodge, responded to this review

I usually do not respond to reviews, negative or positive, as I feel that a guest is entitled to his or her opinion and I should not be contradicting a guest because of her/his opinions. However, in this case I felt that one aspect of this review should be addressed. In his review, William G said he "....encountered a creepy... More

East Windsor, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We are a repeat visitors to the lodge and it looks like they did some renovations, at least on the room we stayed in.It was downstairs pool side.The owner is always very nice and helpful. Never tried the breakfast because we go to Polly's pancake house which is a must. Rates are good specially if you use the Room Saver... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great price and clean place. Some of the furniture looks old but TV is pretty big and new. Very spacious. The owner is very friendly and works hard to keep the place great. Only minutes away from Littleton with better restaurant selections. Minutes away from Cannon Mountain and Franconia State Park. My only gripe is the wifi is weak but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First, you cannot beat the price. The place is tired, very tired, but the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom decent, cable and excellent wifi. The hostess was I very accommodating about early check-in so I could drop my bags and headmoutmformthe day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We recently stayed here while we skied at Cannon. It was very close to the slopes so that was a great advantage. We enjoyed the breakfast that was offered as a good way to start the day. Our room was basic but clean and cozy. The surrounding area looks like it would be fun to explore when it wasn't freezing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West of Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The rate was great, the bed was really great, it was perfectly clean the location was solid, so who cares if the room looked dumpy? Stay here and you'll have plenty left to spend at Polly's, Garnet Hill, Cannon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hillwinds Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hillwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Lodge

Address: 33 Dow Avenue, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hillwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Franconia
Hillwinds Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional New England family-owned and operated motel featuring clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly lodging in the White Mountain region of New Hampshire. Located on the banks of the tranquil Gale River, Hillwinds is located near all major seasonal attractions and is only three miles from Cannon Mountain and the Franconia Notch State Park, home of the Flume Gorge and great hilking opportunities. Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, in-room coffee and fridge, free wi-fi, and guest computer and lending library. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer