We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Route 302, Crawford Notch, Bretton Woods, NH 03574
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    47
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
29
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Hollis, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

This was my third time staying at the center, twice in the bunkhouse and once in lodge. It's a great place to unwind and rest between hiking days. The dinners are affordable if you book them with the stay and everything is more affordable if you are an AMC member. It's a shared experience a lot of people are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I came up for a hiking weekend and this was the perfect base camp. My favorite things about it: 1. The location. I didn't get in my car the whole weekend, tons of hikes right outside the door. 2. The staff. Everyone was helpful and gracious and kind. 3. The LLBean Gear Room. I needed snow shoes in May and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

This is a great, family friendly, outdoor friendly lodge that serves a great base camp for an outdoor experience. There are many great hikes into the fabulous white mountains outside your door step. It is staffed by an enthusiastic, young minded, outdoorsy crew. The lodge offers free LLbean gear to borrow, an extensive selection from snow shoes to rain gear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bennington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Ambience:I have stayed here twice, this week and one year ago. The setting is super. The facility is beautiful for a conference center. It seems new. Although it is a "hut" for Appalachian Mountain Club, it is carpeted throughout, is very clean and has a good staff. Meals: The food is very good, but pricey for lunch. Example: Salad bar,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

A group of friends and I have stayed at the Lodge several times. Some in the group are A-OK with sleeping outdoors under the stars, others prefer luxury accommodations. This is a perfect compromise that pleases everyone and the 6 person bunk room allows a goofy group of old friends to escape and reconnect with one another The location couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, CT
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
50 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We've been back every year since opening, most just the two of us, but sometimes with family, other people's children, and with friends. There are small guest improvements and environmental improvements every year. It's time for some more improvements. More organic food Whole grain baking More recycling Better accommodation of guests with dietary restrictions More electric vehicle charging connectors Benches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AMC L, Manager at Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear that you have stayed annually at the Highland Center since it opened in 2003. I am delighted that you both have enjoyed the lodge with a variety of friends and family over the years. I am also very grateful that you took the time to provide such thoughtful feedback, all of which I have shared... More 

Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

semi private room, share the bath/shower with others on the floor, works perfect. Queen room with flannel sheets perfect for a freezing winters night. Good WiFi. Great staff. Nice atmosphere, not the Mt Washington hotel but it also costs significantly less and doesn't have all the hubris. Draw back, dinner at 6 pm is really very early, food quality: I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

In general the food and location of this place is ok, but when you stay in the bunk house you are a third class citizen. Heat at 62F..we thought it was because of the temperature outside, but they just did not turn it up from the energy saving mode during the week...a cold night until I complained for the second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AMC L, Manager at Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay at the Highland Center. I appreciate your positive comments about our food and location. However, it is unfortunate to hear that you didn’t have a good experience staying in our Shapleigh Bunkhouse. Our website, www.outdoors.org, accurately lists the Shapleigh Bunkhouse as sleeping 16 people (not 8 or 12) and, the building... More 

Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The staff, volunteer guides, AMC guides, the library, bookstore, posters and photos on so many walls made the very environment informative. The place is informal, with programming while we were there Dec.30-Jan. 1 for children, guided hikes, informative movie, and probably more that I didn't take advantage of. Plenty of guidance regarding equipment and trails and activities. I would think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend snowshoeing here. The food and snowshoe/ equipment rentals were included in the price of the rooms. Our room had cozy flannel llbean sheets and pleasant, rustic decor. The food at dinner and breakfast was awesome. As vegetarian I had many choices, which was great! Lunch was not included, but available for purchase.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay