We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Route 302, Crawford Notch, Bretton Woods, NH 03574
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
29
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Bennington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ambience:I have stayed here twice, this week and one year ago. The setting is super. The facility is beautiful for a conference center. It seems new. Although it is a "hut" for Appalachian Mountain Club, it is carpeted throughout, is very clean and has a good staff. Meals: The food is very good, but pricey for lunch. Example: Salad bar,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of friends and I have stayed at the Lodge several times. Some in the group are A-OK with sleeping outdoors under the stars, others prefer luxury accommodations. This is a perfect compromise that pleases everyone and the 6 person bunk room allows a goofy group of old friends to escape and reconnect with one another The location couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, CT
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
50 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been back every year since opening, most just the two of us, but sometimes with family, other people's children, and with friends. There are small guest improvements and environmental improvements every year. It's time for some more improvements. More organic food Whole grain baking More recycling Better accommodation of guests with dietary restrictions More electric vehicle charging connectors Benches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

semi private room, share the bath/shower with others on the floor, works perfect. Queen room with flannel sheets perfect for a freezing winters night. Good WiFi. Great staff. Nice atmosphere, not the Mt Washington hotel but it also costs significantly less and doesn't have all the hubris. Draw back, dinner at 6 pm is really very early, food quality: I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

In general the food and location of this place is ok, but when you stay in the bunk house you are a third class citizen. Heat at 62F..we thought it was because of the temperature outside, but they just did not turn it up from the energy saving mode during the week...a cold night until I complained for the second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AMC L, Manager at Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay at the Highland Center. I appreciate your positive comments about our food and location. However, it is unfortunate to hear that you didn’t have a good experience staying in our Shapleigh Bunkhouse. Our website, www.outdoors.org, accurately lists the Shapleigh Bunkhouse as sleeping 16 people (not 8 or 12) and, the building... More 

Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The staff, volunteer guides, AMC guides, the library, bookstore, posters and photos on so many walls made the very environment informative. The place is informal, with programming while we were there Dec.30-Jan. 1 for children, guided hikes, informative movie, and probably more that I didn't take advantage of. Plenty of guidance regarding equipment and trails and activities. I would think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend snowshoeing here. The food and snowshoe/ equipment rentals were included in the price of the rooms. Our room had cozy flannel llbean sheets and pleasant, rustic decor. The food at dinner and breakfast was awesome. As vegetarian I had many choices, which was great! Lunch was not included, but available for purchase.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I was lucky enough to be at the Highland Center the weekend after Thanksgiving -- where most of New England was showered in rain on Saturday, the Highland Center had basically all snow, though accumulations were only about an inch (on top of a base of few inches. Perfect for hiking Mt Willard and the lake trail and cross country... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This review is for the Thanksgiving weekend trip as well as the Highland Center. First I'll start off with the Thanksgiving Weekend trip. I made the reservations back in September for my family to come to Highland Center for Thanksgiving. A week beforehand I was searching around for an itinerary for the weekend and saw that the Thanksgiving meal was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Beautiful surroundings, comfortable rooms, good food, wifi in every room, friendly staff. What can I say, no complaints. Well...maybe one. When we asked if there was any way of exploring the surrounding towns without a car (we had got a Concorde Coach there) we were told we would need to get a taxi. We found out later that the steam... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question