We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
921 West Winnemucca Blvd., Winnemucca, NV 89445
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a half way house between full scale hotel and motel, but it's done very well. There's a pool and hot tub and a business centre. But not a restaurant or bar (you have to walk to nearby retail park to get these). Room was spacious, clean and well appointed. It was , as advertised, quiet. Front desk staff seemed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TiredTrotter
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK, I sound like Goldie Locks...but this place is just right for me! I travel a lot. This place is super clean, comfortable, friendly, quiet, accommodating---and not too much. Lots of small extras and without a lot of fanfare. They do a good job. Stay there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marmorata
Lydie L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

It's ok to sound like Goldie Locks. I loved your review. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction. More 

Kelowna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first stay here in five years - in 2010 we found it OK, but things have not gotten better. Our room smelt heavily of cigarette smoke, there was no fan in the bathroom and the coffee maker didn't work. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing: there was no fruit and all the tables (the place was not busy) were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kashic
Lydie L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn. When the hotel was built, exhaust fans were not put in the bathrooms and unfortunately for some of our guests that is an issue. I am surprised that you did not find any fruit for our... More 

Napa Valley, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Winnemucca is an unlikely vacation destination, but a likely stopping point for travelers heading west or east on I-80. This Best Western is attractive and comfortable, from its lobby to the clean and spacious rooms. The rooms are well equipped with fridge, microwave, flat-screen TV and table and chairs. Wifi, of course, but extras like nice bath amenities and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vinfan
Lydie L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. It is always gratifying to know that our performance and quality of service is appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the quality of our coffee. We try to strike a balance between a weaker coffee... More 

Hyde Park, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was using the room to sleep only, I was leaving before the breakfast would be served and didn't use any of the amenities not even the coffee maker. They refused to discount the room and told me I could go down the road for a cheaper room. I have been a BW member for many years, this shocked me.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Henry F
Lydie L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Fahrner: Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor. On behalf of the entire Best Western Staff, I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced while at the Best Western PLus Gold Country Inn. The rate you were charged is our standard discount AAA rate. I am sorry that the clerk did not make it clear... More 

New Mexico
Level Contributor
283 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

The room was large and so was the bed -- both comfortable. Liked the two sinks approach -- one inside and one outside the toilet. Internet was free and speeds ok. Breakfast area was large and pleasant with a gas fireplace to add ambiance to the snow outside.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTravelholic
Lydie L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Brian: Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review the Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn in Winnemucca. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you the next time... More 

Ontario, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Nice, large room with adequate mobile device/computer plug ins. The decor was average, but having 2 separated sinks was a plus. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, extra table and easy chair was convenient for spreading out. This hotel had the best and quietest heating system of the 4 Best Westerns I stayed at this week. The only slightly irritating... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank beachfanjan
Lydie L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your cooperation fin taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor following your visit to the Best Western Plus Gold Country Inn in Winnemucca, Nevada. Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated. I... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

Our room was spotless and smelled fresh and clean. The room was very modern and unbelievable attention to detail such as Bath &Body amenities. Exceptionally quiet we never heard a sound . Curved shower curtain and large, thick towels were a welcome and appreciated surprise. Friendly, helpful staff, the maintenance man saw my husband struggling and helped him. Fantastic breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerkjunkie
Lydie L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary review. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Get away from the cigarette smoke in the Casinos. This hotel is advertised as convenient, quiet and comfortable and it is all three. Great cozy lobby area where you can enjoy a cup of coffee or tea and sit by the fire. Wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else in town.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank T3451KImikec
Lydie L, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Adviser. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in... More 

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

I feel like I've missed something with all these great reviews. Admittedly, we were here after the holiday week, so maybe they were "struggling", but the staff was aloof (bordering unfriendly) at check-in, completely ignored us at breakfast (looked like she was surfing the net) while we all stood around waiting for a seat. There was debris (string, dirt clumps... More 

Helpful?
Thank ddh0514
Lydie L, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable friendly service to each at a reasonable price. Consequently, it is disappointing to learn that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnemucca hotels
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winnemucca
Candlewood Suites Winnemucca
#1 of 18 in Winnemucca
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#2 of 18 in Winnemucca
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Winnemucca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Motel Winnemucca
Holiday Motel Winnemucca
#4 of 18 in Winnemucca
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winnemucca Inn
Winnemucca Inn
#5 of 18 in Winnemucca
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Winnemucca
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay