We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottonwood Guest Ranch

HC 62, Box 1300, O'Neil Route, Wells, NV 89835
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cottonwood Guest Ranch
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reno
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

This is my second trip to the Ranch and I will definitely go back. Stayed here while deer and elk hunting in area 72 and it sure beats camping. Rooms have private baths and the lodge is decorated in traditional cowboy. Staff is friendly and the owners Vicki and AG are great. All meals are provided but be sure to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al I
Ryton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

This is a belated review as I visited in August 2014 for the Horse Drive. I am due to return for a Ranch Stay this August (2015) and can't wait!!!. Firstly, I cannot in the slightest way relate to the 2 negative reviews posted here on Tripadvisor and, based on my experience and many others who have visited, I feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
Twin Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

A group of us arrived for an overnight stay and chanced upon branding day and a birthday party! Cowboys (and cowgirls) had converged to help with branding at the ranch. True to a working ranch, as we passed by the corrals we were welcomed for the weekend! Upon arrival at the lodge we were greeted by Chef Ettesvold, delicious cookies... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I recently called this place to get information on a stay. The girl I spoke with was very unprofessional and immature. She did not have any information on the land or whereabouts of the place or even the activities. She quoted me an outrageous price and needless to say, I will be spending my money elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank WrldTravl131
Madison_RW, Manager at Cottonwood Guest Ranch, responded to this review

We are tremendously disappointed to hear about your recent interaction with our ranch. We apologize for any confusion whoever you spoke with may have caused you. As a 5th generation family operation we pride ourselves on being stewards of the land as well as authentic in all of our activities. While you may not be staying with us we would... More 

Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have been coming here for year's and love this ranch holiday...I love riding the horse drives and pack trips. If you like western riding and working cattle and horses, this is the place for you....tons of great food, great comfortable beds and wonderful staff....I have also been here for a ranch stay with my family and we all found... More 

Helpful?
Thank lori c
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I both have physical challenges requiring flexibility and committment from the wranglers in selecting and getting us to stay on our horse. Our grown son who had not ridden before took to it like a "you know" and our teen daughter experienced her 16th birthday party during our trip. Due to my infirmity I figured I'd spend... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchell T
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Cottonwood is unprofessional, unorganized and unsafe. There is a lack of communication, lots of waiting... waiting...waiting..., and excessive drinking (even by the wranglers on rides). With only 8 guests you would think they would know your names - nope, not even after five days. Food is mediocre. This should be a working ranch only since guests are just an afterthought.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank UnhappyRider
CottonwoodGuestRanch, Manager at Cottonwood Guest Ranch, responded to this review

We are sorry, Peggy and Bean, that our ranch was not a good fit for you. We don't claim to be perfect & know that we cannot be everything for everyone all of the time, but we believe that our track record of successfully welcoming & caring for thousands of guests from all over the world over the past 60... More 

Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My family and I have visited three times and we are heading back again this summer. If you are a horse rider or just enjoy the beautiful wilderness, you will love Cottonwood. My wife spends her days rounding up the cattle and I go birding. The lodge is comfortable, the food delicious, and the people very welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
inverness-shire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from Cottonwood Ranch and had a amazing time. Spent three day's herding cattle and two day's rounding up horse's. From the minute you arrive at the ranch you are treated to 5 star hospitality, all guest's stay in the ranch house which is very clean and comfortable. Meal time's are a real social event, with staff and guest's... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank goldengirl54
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I didn't go to the Cottonwood Ranch for riding or the ranch experience, as would some people. I was there as a part of a company picnic. Upon arriving we were greeted with warm and loving arms, shown to our rooms in the beautiful lodge and left to "hang out" relax, visit or go horseback riding or 4 wheeling. The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank nvblue
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
46.1 mi away
Motel 6 Wells
Motel 6 Wells
#2 of 8 in Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
45.5 mi away
Wells Chinatown Motel
Wells Chinatown Motel
#4 of 8 in Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
46.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities