We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Tropicana

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
165 E Tropicana Ave., Las Vegas, NV 89109
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Tropicana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #173 of 269 Hotels in Las Vegas
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015
Shirley O Columbus
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    37
    84
    127
    85
    70
See reviews for
99
81
55
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (403)
  • Mar-May only
    (177)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Tropicana
See the most recent reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

I called on my check-in day to inform them that I'd be checking in late and to ask them if it would be alright. I was told it was fine and my room was paid in full and secured. Standard protocol right? WRONG!!! Once I arrived I was told that my room was in fact canceled and I had them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory. I can assure you that I will look into the issue with your reservation and apologize that you were not informed of the security deposit required for all guests. Thank you again for your feedback. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Room was not very clean. There were hair in the bad and the bathroom wasn't really clean too. Homeless walking around the hotel, but I went out walk with no problems. If you wants to spent little money, this hotel is a option.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel and I apologize that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. For future reference please contact the front desk if you are not completely satisfied with your accommodations. Thank you for your business. More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

This was by far the WORST hotel experience I've ever had! We came in on April 10, 2015 and I'm so glad we only planned to stay the one night. The stay started horrible when the lady at the front desk was rude and unfriendly when my sister and I went to check in. The demanded $100 deposit that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that you were not informed when you made your reservation about the security deposit. The security deposit is totally refunded upon check out. I apologize that your accommodations were anything less than satisfactory. For future reference please contact the front desk and they will be more than happy to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Hawthorne, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

When I arrived on the evening of 4/10/15, I found hair all over the bed sheets. In addition, the hair dryer did not work. I stayed in Room #1250.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I sincerely apologize that your experienced an issue with your room upon arrival. For future reference please call the front desk if you are not completely satisfied with your room. Thank you again and we hope you come back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay