We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Star Hotel and Casino

Hotel website
Highway 93 & Poker St., Box 775, Jackpot, NV 89825
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Star Hotel and Casino
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
West Star Hotel and Casino
West Star Hotel and Casino
West Star Hotel and Casino
Add Your Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    6
    2
    12
See reviews for
2
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

For an average rate of $49-$69 a night, I am surprised that anyone is surprised that, the carpet and walls are filthy and the hotel is tired. The breakfast is meager but it not advertised as a full continental breakfast. The staff was kind. We made last minute plans to go to Jackpot and this was the last place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Our guest comments are very important as we work to offer clean and comfortable accommodations. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you will let us serve you again More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Horrible..very dirty..hair in bath tub and carpets looked like pet accidents all over..toilet seat looked like it came from a run downed gas station...both my husband and I were sick in the morning and felt better as soon as we left..I will never stay here again...EVER!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I will forward your comments to the hotel manager for his attention. I am so sorry that your room was not as expected. More 

Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We tried to get a room somewhere else , but there were no other rooms available. The first room they gave us had a person in the room sleeping. when we told the front desk they gave us some apartment upstairs. This room had a broken lamp shade that my Husband tried to fix and it was just a creepy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experienced problems with the room you were assigned. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to you and your husband. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Astoria, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

After spending the day in the desert nearby we decided to stay in Jackpot. I called on the way to make reservations at Cactus Pete's. Cactus and Horseshu were booked so the gentleman said we could book a room at West River. Got into town around 9 pm tired and dirty. The carpeting from the lobby to our room looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experienced problems during your recent visit with us. We do appreciate your feedback so we can address the items mentioned and make improvements. We do appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon. More 

Ontario, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

my road dawg and my future wife to be one day. were going to idaho to visit family. i thought i was going to be able to drive all the way through from san bernardino, california. well we decided to get some rest so we (i) wouldnt be grumpy. when we arrived. we got in around 7 give or take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. As always it is a pleasure to know that we have made our guests stay pleasurable, memorable, and comfortable. We pride ourselves on providing outstanding customer service from check in to check out. I will pass your comments on to our staff, and we look forward to seeing you and again in the... More 

Hemet, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

November 13, 2014 I went on a road trip with my fiance and our road dog Thumper. Left California early morning and planned on driving all the way to Idaho. Thirteen hours later we had stopped at the first hotel in town, it was at a good price but not pet friendly. Two gentlemen were cooking soup outside their car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed the convenience and accommodations of your most recent visit with us. Your satisfaction is our top priority and your feedback is more than welcome as an encouraging reinforcement to the policies that we've implemented to improve upon each guests experience. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I gave a card to get the room and advised I would be paying with cash. They still charged my card! And wouldn't give me a receipt. We got sick from the food at the casino. The rooms were disgusting! And they have spliced the cable so much the tv didn't come in clear. My family and I were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experienced problems during your recent visit with us. Your experience is not typical of our hotel and services, however, we do appreciate your feedback so we can address the items mentioned and make improvements. The restaurant/bar is totally separate from the hotel and we have no control over the food served there. We do... More 

Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Booked here for 3 nights, by myself, as timing meant I had 3 days to fill while waiting for my wife to meet up with me. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Room was OK, but floor was in bad need of cleaning. The bed was OK, and everything else was very clean. Towels were clean, but torn and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we will certainly address the issues you mentioned and make corrections. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to move from one room to another. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon. More 

Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The bartenders that work the overnight shift are the rudest bartenders in town. If you want good service,go between 4pm and 11pm when Angelica is working. She will serve you anything that you want. The other two are the laziest bartenders that you will ever see.they will not leave the bar for anything.They will make you go up to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

The bar is separate from the hotel and the hotel has no control of the actions of the bar and/or it's employees. However, we are very sorry that you were not treated as a valued customer. We are the Westar Hotel appreciate your business and hope this incident will not keep you from staying with us again. More 

Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

very nice clean rooms, lobby was super clean very friendly staff specially manager Paul, big flat screen tv great wifi nothing to complaint about anything can't beat the price, i dont care what others say we had very good stay at west star will be back Paul Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that we met your expectations. Our staff is dedicated to offering great accommodations and customer services. Thank you for choosing our hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question