We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Gardnerville hotels

Historian Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1427 Hwy 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Save Saved
You added Historian Inn to your Saves list
Historian Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
85%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Jeff B
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Historian from 9/12 - 9/14 and had a great experience. We were in town for two days to scout the area because we are relocating. The hotel amenities are very nice and comfortable, but the best part for us was the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. Crystal helped us check in and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caliente
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had been to Reno and wanted to stop in Gardnerville at JT's for dinner and visit our son. We wanted a room close to the restaurant and the Historian Inn is right across the street. The room was spacious, had a fridge and a microwave. It was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. The decor was pleasing. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yucca Valley, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I just stayed night one of three here. The wifi is fast, the room is big, there's a fridge and microwave in the room too. The bed is very comfy too. They do put a $100 hold on your credit card for incidentals in case you decide to keep the bathrobes or eat any of the snacks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Riverside, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here the last weekend in July 2014. We had no issues with the motel. The rooms were quiet and clean, and we felt the price was affordable. We really enjoyed the room decor and the beds were quite comfortable. The only thing we missed was a pool. This motel has no pool. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place is the worst value I have ever experienced. My room was on the second floor facing a major thoroughfare. The exhaust pipes from the tractor trailers were at the same height as my room. They would idle all night long and not only could you hear them, and whatever music selection they were listening to, as well as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CleHospitality, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. As you can see from our many positive reviews and high area rating; most guests do enjoy our hotel. If I understand correctly, it seems that your biggest issue was the location of the room that you booked. We have 4 Standard Hotel Rooms which are on the second floor... More

San Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel even with its faults is better than the Holiday Inn Express (more expensive/pre-fab bkfst) or Carson Valley Inn (very smokey and noisy). I have stayed in both. Here are the positives and negatives. Positives: 1. Good location if you want to explore historic areas, antiques, casinos. 2. Pet frirendly - fabulous dog park with picnic tables and beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westminster, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked this hotel and before we arrived upon booking we were up charged for our room rate it took days to get them to realize this mistake this was the first time we have booked here at the Historian we stayed for 3 nights while we did the Candy Dance show in near by Genoa the rooms are really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CleHospitality, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this review

It is important to note that your review was written about a stay nearly a year ago. It is difficult for us to pin point who you are and address your specific issues, but we do apologize if there were any issues in your billing and I am glad they were fixed. Regarding the noise level, and our neighbors, we... More

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We're snowbirds and go back and forth along Highway 395 from near the Mexican border to Washington. And we most always spend out first night going north at the Historian Inn. It is on the main street but the rooms are in the back and it is quiet. The rooms are well appointed with large bath towels, plenty of soap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have used this hotel for a number of business related trips to the area. Would return here on personal travel without question. The well appointed rooms are excellent. The staff outstanding in every respect. Location is great. Once I park the car a great variety of restaurants, shops, and even laundry are within short walking distance. What brings me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parker
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Historian Inn has recently undergone a renovation and has a new owner. We stayed there for four nights in April 2014. Although the rooms are simple, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless and new. There was a microwave and mini fridge and free breakfast in the quaint little area near the lobby. Mostly the owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Historian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Historian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historian Inn

Address: 1427 Hwy 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historian Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Historian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gardnerville with
any amenities