We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historian Inn

1427 Hwy 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historian Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Historian Inn
Add Your Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
18
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

This is a small, in town hotel that is well done. The lobby is cozy and charming with a small café directly off the lobby. The room was nicely done, clean and comfortable. The service was accommodating and friendly. Great place to stay if you are not looking for big, trendy and flashy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fremont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We planned a lovely Thanksgiving weekend stay with family living in Gardnerville, NV. But our stay at Historian Inn was soured by our credit card number being stolen and getting charged for five nights instead of two. After booking our two night stay directly with the hotel, I agreed to pay the first night up front as a deposit. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CleHospitality, General Manager at Historian Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for the confusion with your credit card charges and the impact it had on your stay. Your card was not stolen, but unfortunately was accidentally overcharged and then refunded. You were in fact only charged for the two nights in the Superior hotel room and tax, in which you stayed. The charges and adjustments were reviewed with you... More 

Bishop, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Had a great experience! I had to make a last minute reservation with late check-in and a dog. The staff was very friendly. We had a nice quiet, clean room. I was particularly impressed that it was a non-smoking facility in Nevada, not always easy to find. In spite of staying in one of the "dog rooms" there were no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia City, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

We purchased a groupon for this hotel and were not disappointed. Our package included a basic breakfast, free appetizer at a local restaurant, a pack and go lunch and two steel water bottles. The onsite gift shop sells local products from jewelry and skin care products to fine art and culinary treats. The rooms are nicely redecorated and comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Historian from 9/12 - 9/14 and had a great experience. We were in town for two days to scout the area because we are relocating. The hotel amenities are very nice and comfortable, but the best part for us was the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. Crystal helped us check in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caliente
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We had been to Reno and wanted to stop in Gardnerville at JT's for dinner and visit our son. We wanted a room close to the restaurant and the Historian Inn is right across the street. The room was spacious, had a fridge and a microwave. It was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. The decor was pleasing. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yucca Valley, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My wife and I just stayed night one of three here. The wifi is fast, the room is big, there's a fridge and microwave in the room too. The bed is very comfy too. They do put a $100 hold on your credit card for incidentals in case you decide to keep the bathrobes or eat any of the snacks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Riverside, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here the last weekend in July 2014. We had no issues with the motel. The rooms were quiet and clean, and we felt the price was affordable. We really enjoyed the room decor and the beds were quite comfortable. The only thing we missed was a pool. This motel has no pool. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place is the worst value I have ever experienced. My room was on the second floor facing a major thoroughfare. The exhaust pipes from the tractor trailers were at the same height as my room. They would idle all night long and not only could you hear them, and whatever music selection they were listening to, as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CleHospitality, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. As you can see from our many positive reviews and high area rating; most guests do enjoy our hotel. If I understand correctly, it seems that your biggest issue was the location of the room that you booked. We have 4 Standard Hotel Rooms which are on the second floor... More 

San Francisco
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel even with its faults is better than the Holiday Inn Express (more expensive/pre-fab bkfst) or Carson Valley Inn (very smokey and noisy). I have stayed in both. Here are the positives and negatives. Positives: 1. Good location if you want to explore historic areas, antiques, casinos. 2. Pet frirendly - fabulous dog park with picnic tables and beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question