We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Elko hotels

Thunderbird Motel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Hotel amenities
Thunderbird Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
76%
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Elko
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
BarbaraJoyceBills Sayville, New York
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
28
44
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Sayville, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A bit run down in spots, but they make a very strong, concerted effort to keep it well maintained; overall very clean and nice, quaint, with old fashioned, vintage-style wall-paper. Pet friendly, quiet, comfey bed and pillows, microwave, frig/freezer; in most cases, drive up to the exterior access room., which is great for coast to coast travelers like us. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we chose this motel because it was pet friendly. Our room had 2 small queen size beds with a tiny bathroom. The bed linens and towels were a good quality. The shower needs to be replaced. The room cleaner did a very poor job especially on the rugs which was in disrepair. We did note that the motel is redoing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

When I originally looked at this hotel online, it said it was 'pet friendly' so I made the reservation. When I arrived, there was a big sign that said "No pets". Clearly, there is a disconnect between the hotel site and the website! Room was fine, rather loud at night. Small but clean and comfortable with friendly service at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Thunderbird Motel for your stay in Elko. We highly appreciate your comments and your concerns about the sign "No Pets". I am sure that there is some mistake as Thunderbird Motel is 'Pets Friendly' and we charge $15.00 per pet. All the rooms at TBM are of decent size with comfortable beds, two chairs & a... More

los angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We chose this place because it was recommended as being a quiet place to stay. Check-in was old fashioned 'easy' with friendly service. Bed was comfortable and there are 2 chairs and a table to sit at so the room is a decent size. I had to ask for a pillowcase for the extra pillow and the internet was down.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for choosing Thunderbird Motel for your stay in Elko. We highly appreciate your comments and your concerns about the unavailability of WiFi. At TBM, we make every effort to make all of our guests satisfied and hope to exceed their expectations As for WiFi, we have taken a serious note about it and will definitely call the... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in August. The decor of the hotel is tired, but the rooms are big and beds comfortable. The wifi works best near the door of the room, it fades as you go farther in. The service was good as is the location in the centre of town. Elko itself is a pretty town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Hello Nick, Thank you for choosing Thunderbird Motel for your stay in Elko. We highly appreciate your comments and your concerns about the hotel décor and WiFi. At TBM, we make every effort to make all of our guests satisfied and hope to exceed their expectations As for WiFi, we have taken a serious note about it and will definitely... More

Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Overall, we were very satisfied with our short stay at the Thunderbird. Having read reviews ahead of time, we knew what to expect. We found this to be a good value for the price we paid, especially compared to the other places in Elko. The parking lot seemed pretty full, but we were able to find a parking spot without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Thunderbird Motel for your stay in Elko. We highly appreciate your comments and satisfaction shown about your short stay. At TBM, we make every effort to make all of our guests satisfied and hope to exceed their expectations As for parking, I think when they built the motel they never considered having so many guests at... More

Santa Rosa CA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The room was clean, but try as they may the moldy curtains sort of took away from the rest of the room. Pool used to have a railing on the steps. The holes are still there. Pool is refreshing and clean though. Attitude of the front desk person softened after awhile. Despite having a confirmation # in hand from making... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Santa Rosa Thank you for choosing Thunderbird Motel for your stay in Elko. We highly regard your review comments and are extremely sorry about the inconvenience caused to you due to no reservation confirmation record. We have recently deployed a new Front Desk Software to improve our services that will definitely ensure prompt booking confirmation. We have also taken... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at the Thunderbird Motel in Elko, NV over the past weekend. I checked out at 8:45 a.m. on Sunday. There was a working TV in the room when we arrived....and it was still there when we checked out. On Tuesday evening, I received a message from a hotel clerk stating I STOLE a TV from the room I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alan D, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole Thank you for choosing Thunderbird Motel for staying with your family. We highly regard your comments and are extremely sorry about the encountered TV incident which made you very upset. We had taken up an investigation of this matter very seriously at a high management level and the matter was also reported to the local police. The Police... More

Elko
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I would rate a 5 , but this one guy..... he needs to check his attitude. Doesn't speak when spoken to , he has this vibe when you enter a room ,you can sense it. If he doesn't want to work there, find another job.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Eugene
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Where to start, I have been staying at the Thunderbird for a couple of months while working in the Elko area. At first the rates were good for the working man, and than all of a sudden the rates started changing every week. Now to top it all off I have had some prescription medication bottles start getting a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 345 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Elko

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay