We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Desert Inn

Hotel website
3015 Idaho Street, Elko, NV 89801
Special Offer
Special Deal - Get $50!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Desert Inn
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
High Desert Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    7
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
12
15
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in at around 9 P.M. At 10 P.M. I called down to the desk and asked for two pillows and an ice bucket. Was told that she would get to it as soon as possible. At 10:50 P.M. I called back and was told she would bring it up in 9 minutes. Finally at 11:30 I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you received such poor customer service. I will be speaking to the supervisor about your review. Our pool is not a community pool. We do offer paying memberships for people to use our fitness center and the pool and spa. Members must sign in and check out a card to use the pool and fitness... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure that the person who reviewed the hotel actually stayed here. The room was clean, updated, quiet. We had a room that faced the mountains. The bathroom was beautiful, loved the wall treatments, double sinks. The 'fridge was a little noisy, but I'm a very light sleeper, so I unplugged it and plugged it back in before we left.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

Elise, thank you for your wonderful review! So glad to hear that you found your room to be satisfactory to your needs. Thank you for letting us know that Griff took care of you at the Front Desk. We look forward to your return visit! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We stayed here as an overnight for a long drive. I was extremely disappointed by our room. It was dirty, old, noisy and looked nothing like the website. The microwave and air con were noisy, and we couldn't even open our window as it looked out on to the inns generator. We tried to go to the pool, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavidZornes_CEO, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that your room was not one of the premium rooms shown on the website. We do not advertise all room types on the website, but we do have different rates for different room choices guests make, dependent upon the desired rate. We apologize that your accommodations were not up to standard. I have spoken to the department managers... More 

Travelers are raving about these Elko hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Clean rooms and a very nice pool. The. common areas are in need of upgrading but overall this is a good place to spend the night. Good customer service and priced well. Will stay again if ever in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David Z, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

While I'm definitely happy to hear you'd stay with us again, I certainly wish we'd wowed you a bit more. I look forward to the chance at showing you the five-star experience I know we can provide! Safe travels, David R. Zornes, C.E.O. Nav Elko Properties More 

Reno
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

The room was OK, but not as nice as on the hotel website picture gallery. The bathroom sink was missing laminate and the wallpaper was dated. The air conditioner caused my head to get stuffed up. The window was filthy and the screen was torn. The hot tub was not working and the pool was always busy since they allow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David Z, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear we didn't quite meet your expectations, Patricia. Know that we'd always be happy to accommodate you and ensure you're as comfortable as possible, so if we're lucky enough to get the chance of hosting you again, please don't hesitate to discuss these sort of things with our managers. I'd appreciate nothing more than a second chance... More 

Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We were greeted very courteously by the employee at the front desk, as well as the night manager, and given a nice, upstairs, non smoking queen room, not too close to the elevators. The room was pleasant and looked to have been recently remodeled, the bathroom looked brand new. We were told there were many rooms in this hotel that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David Z, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a really pleasant stay with us, Susan, and I couldn't be happier about that! Anytime you're back in our neck of the woods, I hope we'll be lucky enough to host you again. Much appreciated, David R. Zornes, C.E.O. Nav Elko Properties More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We checked in late, about 11:30. Our first room had a smoke detector with a low battery, so it was chirping. I had to go down and get another room. Our second room had paint stains on the bathroom floor, so it looked dirty. The tub was stained and drained extremely slow. Good location, no breakfast. Room came with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David Z, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you left feeling this way, Suzanne. The one thing I want for all of our guests is to feel comfortable, so it's disappointing to know that wasn't the case for you this time. I know we're better than this, and if you're ever traveling back to Elko, I'd love nothing more than the chance to show... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Pros: *elevator or stairs *Easy walk or drive to stores, restaurants, casinos *friendly front desk staff *comfortable chair *fridge and microwave *plenty of parking *near freeway but not too much noise Cons: *stains on hallway carpet *old elevator but only used when I needed to with luggage, used the stairs more *bed was OK but not very comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
David Z, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad to see that overall the pros of your stay with us outweighed the cons, Sara, but I know we can certainly do better for you! I'd love nothing more than another chance at knocking it out of the park for you. Here's hoping we'll be seeing you back in Elko again soon! Take care, David R. Zornes, C.E.O.... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

The room was so quiet that I thought I was the only person in the place but there were a large cars in the parking lot when I got up that were not there when I went to bed. The room was large and clean. The bed was great. The staff were able to help me find my way around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David Z, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

I'm so thrilled to know you had such a great stay with us, Ronald! There's really nothing better than hearing how comfortable you were during your stay with us. Whenever you're traveling back to our area, you know we'll always have a room for you! Safe travels, David R. Zornes, C.E.O. Nav Elko Properties More 

Fair Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The hotel was clean, neat and the bed was very comfortable! It was very affordable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David Z, Owner at High Desert Inn, responded to this review

All these kind words really mean a lot, Jean! I'm thrilled to know you loved your stay enough that you'd definitely return, and we're certainly proud of earning your recommendation. Anytime you're traveling back to Nevada, you know we'll always have a room for you! Much appreciated, David R. Zornes, C.E.O. Nav Elko Properties More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
1.8 mi away
Thunderbird Motel
Thunderbird Motel
#10 of 28 in Elko
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Elko Inn
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Elko
Comfort Inn Elko
#3 of 28 in Elko
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay