We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
340 East Hwy 20, Valentine, NE 69201 (Formerly Dunes Lodge and Suites)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I were on our way back home from Denver and needed to stop for the night. From the outside, it looks like a standard motel, nothing special. However, the room we were in was recently renovated and was very nice. It seems this hotel in putting effort into updating to a contemporary look, but is not done... More 

Helpful?
Thank numbers_in_1080
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I normally do not stay at Econo brand, although I stay at quite a few Choice hotels, but was told good things about this hotel. I am very glad I listened! The ownership definitely puts in an effort to upgrade and maintain this hotel. It is exterior doors, but well lit and the decking is recent and in great shape.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ca_davies1
Keystone, South Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Heard and read good things rather disappointed. Dirty, toilet started and stopped all night long. Pillows were hard lumpy and may have been "original" this place in need of complete overhaul. I am 4-5 nights per week in hotels and a diamond member of the Choice program do not stay here until you see "completely remodeled"! Wi Fi also failed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Anne C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kevin D., I am very sorry you had a disappointing stay recently at the Econo Lodge. We just completed a renovation on our Ground Floor rooms with new flooring, furniture, and paint. I am sorry we didn't replace your pillow for you. We do supply a softer pillow and a more firm pillow when requested. We also have a... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

We have stayed here twice on short notice and checked in late at night. Desk clerk at check in was very friendly and gave us ice cold bottled water. Breakfast the next morning was very good and the clerk went an extra effort to keep things hot and available. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Denverites
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

Great overnight stop on our road trip to South Dakota. Our room was clean and far enough from the road to be quiet. For $15 we upgraded and had a sitting room which was worth it. We liked that we had a frig in the room. Breakfast was decent and the staff friendly.

Helpful?
Thank julieinhouston2015
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

The cleanliness of the large rooms and the excellent staff are just two reasons why this Econo Lodge has won national awards from its corporate office. The staff left us breakfast an hour past the closing time after I got the time mixed up. Plus, the city of Valentine lived up to its name. The woman at the post office... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Great room and staff. The room was clean, well appointed and all services worked (drains - drained, water flowed, and lights - lit). We were on the second level and there are no elevators but we managed. The breakfast was above average and the checkout was very quick. Price was reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank woodmister
ctyadmcc
Level Contributor
146 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

In most other cities I would have given this property 3 stars, but this is a rural, tourist location and the Econo Lodge is probably the best choice in town. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us out. The room itself was large, with a queen bed in the main room and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ctyadmcc
Anne C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear ctyadmicc, Thank you for taking the time to review the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites in Valentine, NE. We hope that you will be back in the future. Sincerely, A Clark, GM Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Valentine, NE More 

Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Quiet clean king bed room, fluffy towels, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Windows I could open, tile floor. Power near the bed! With USB plug in options. I charged everything I had with me. I think the internet connection was better than my own house. Nice size TV. A large nightstand to put all my things. Couldn't ask for anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank SheRidesABeemer
Anne C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear SheRidesABeemer, Thank you for the nice review you wrote on Trip Advisor. We are somewhat partial to our property, but very nice to read the positive feed back. We do hope that you will be back to see us soon. Sincerely, A Clark, GM Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Valentine, NE More 

Hawley, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Suite was sweet. I was impressed w room quality in small town as I was traveling through going to visit relatives & happened on this place. It was nice to have a comfortable place to rest after traveling all day from Minnesota.

Helpful?
Thank M2364GEsteven
Anne C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear M2364GEsteven, Thank You for staying at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, we are very proud of our suites. All the conveniences of home. We do hope that you will be back in the future. Respectfully, A Clark, GM Econo Lodge Valentine, NE More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valentine hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Valentine
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trade Winds Motel
Trade Winds Motel
#1 of 7 in Valentine
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valentine's Niobrara Lodge
Valentine's Niobrara Lodge
#5 of 7 in Valentine
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Valentine Ne
Super 8 Valentine Ne
#6 of 7 in Valentine
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel Raine
Motel Raine
#3 of 7 in Valentine
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay