We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kandahar Lodge

Hotel website
3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kandahar Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    54
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
49
64
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great rooms that accommodate. Might be advertised to hold more people than they do but that depends on why you're there; winter skiing with a crew or summer getaway with family. Obviously great restaurant on site and plenty to do for the outdoor seekers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Kandahar for 3 nights while the main destination of our trip was to enjoy and visit Glacier National Park. At first I was very upset to learn that we were not that close to the park entrance. However after going in and out of the park that first day and seeing the other accommodations I was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although we had read some positive reviews, after driving half an hour out of Whitefish we were very disappointed with this hotel. There are no elevators to get to your rooms and the walls are very thin. We were awoken multiple times during the night to the sounds of people stomping up the stairs and talking in the hallway. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay at Kandahar Lodge. The Lodge was built in 1981/1983 and an elevator wasn't even considered for a ski lodge back then. We try to inform all of our guests that we do not have one. In the Guest Directory in the room, it says this: Quiet Time * Out of... More 

Bend, Oregon
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It all relates to my reservation and check out, which is one of the most important, since that is when you pay your money for the service provided... Made a reservation a month in advance, they didn't tell me, but they charged my card. Checked in, and they had a higher charge for the room, and the desk clerk (clueless)... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim L, Manager at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you misunderstood our staff on more than one occasion. You called us because the hotel where your meeting was taking place was sold out. You initially spoke with our front office manager who reserved a room for both you and your friend. He told you that he would charge your credit card for the initial... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a pretty dated place from lobby to room. However, I have to admit I slept like a baby in that bed and bedding. Its a cozy place and I bumped up a star because the Manager went to extra lengths on multiple occasions to ensure I was going to be happy: told me about potential noisy kids due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kensington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Has a nice lounge and fireplace. Bed was 32" off the floor so I had a difficult time getting on and off. Heating system didn't work properly. Room always too hot, even with heat completely off. Huge hot tub was immaculate. Staff was helpful and van to and from the mountain was terrific. Skiing back to the lodge was difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ivyland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

A wonderful gem in Whitefish! The beds were luxurious, we slept great! A huge hot tub, had it mostly to myself. Treat yourself to a decadent meal at Kandahar Cafe. The yak carpaccio is not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My wife and I struggle with Christmas gifts anymore. We are a mature couple, so we don't have a lot of stuff on our wish list. I have been asking for experiences instead, and always at the top of my list is a week skiing. We decided to try Whitefish Montana and began looking for a rental or resort within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

The Kandahar Lodge is in a great location at Whitefish Mountain Resort. The big fireplace has a crackling fire going all day long and the lobby/living room area is nice for sitting and reading, or enjoying hot chocolate after skiing. The beds were comfortable, and we got our legs in shape for skiing climbing the stairs to our second floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this review

You are right. Your experience was not acceptable. We have shared your comment with our staff and have initiated some additional guest service training efforts. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Kandahar Lodge is a little expensive, but totally worth it. The location is very nice, and the rooms are lovely and cozy. The ski slope is right behind the lodge, so you can walk to the lift; it would be a great place to stay in the winter, but we were there in the summer. We rode the ski lift... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
17.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 7 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
17.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 7 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hibernation House
Hibernation House
#8 of 15 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 15 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
14.9 mi away
Glacier Under Canvas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay