We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Whitefish hotels

Grouse Mountain Lodge

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Hotel website
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grouse Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
64%
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Bj M Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    136
    80
    52
    20
See reviews for
108
151
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (406)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (97)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
There are newer reviews for Grouse Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very nice stay in this hotel and our room overlooked the golf course and was very quiet and comfortable. The hotel was close to W. Glacier national park and going to the sun road. The area had several very good restaurants which were reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeganCole100, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Bj M, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this month! We hope you had a wonderful time in Glacier National Park driving the beautiful Going to the Sun Road and hope you will stay with us again if you make a return trip to Whitefish! Best Regards, Megan C. More

Maui
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very cozy and cute with an old time lodge feel. They had a convenient shuttle to town and back so we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving. Staff very friendly. Being old building I probably wouldn't want to stay near kids it could get load.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liberty Lake, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were very nice but the amount of noise from the hallways other rooms were awful .... Everything echoed ..... Slamming doors all night long ..... The hotel itself was chilly ......only one of the outside hot tubs had working jets .... Disappointed in many ways .... Although the food and wine were amazing and the service at Logan's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larkspur, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seems like the management is disinterested in making this hotel truly great. It has a wonderful setting with dining and pool overlooking the golf course and a large fireplace in the lobby with nice stone work. It is a hotel where you ideally would just want to hang out, enjoy the facilities and eat dinner in. However the hotel feels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carrie_clb_111, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your recent stay. I can assure you that we are very interested in making this hotel truly great. It's through feedback like yours that we can make that happen. I've shared your bathtub issue with the housekeeping manager so she can assure that the problem doesn't happen... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel's exterior is very nice, with a golf course in the back and extensive residential housing up the hill. Food here was good, rooms were fine, with a good bed. Construction next to the hotel is somewhat problematic. We did not have a chance to go "downtown," due to the distance from the hotel. However, the area apparently does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billings, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in the hotel for three nights and not once did the service the room. Not once! We asked that they do it and their solution was to give us a 5 dollar coupon. The pool was ice cold. Carpet was stained like a CSI crime scene. For the cost I have never stayed at such a poorly ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jj H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback from your recent stay. Our Assistant General Manager has been in contact with you in an effort to address and understand the situation and we have addressed the communication breakdown between the front desk and housekeeping department regarding your special requests. We hope that you will... More

High River, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 nights. It's not a terrible hotel but it's certainly not worth the $260 per night that we paid for a plain room with 2 queen beds. The A/C was loud and rattled. Honestly I have stayed at Super 8s for $75 a night that were just as good. Total rip off, pass on this one unless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Traveler777888999, Thanks for leaving us some feedback. I'm sorry that you thought the pricing of the hotel was too high. We strive to keep our pricing in sync with our competition in the area. Best regards, Dan Hansen More

yardley pa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The question at Glacier is whether to stay in the park or out. If you have one or two days, try to stay in the park because you really have no time to explore the area. Dining and accommodations in the park are fair at best. More time than that, stay in Whitefish. Yes it is a (easy) 30 min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We thought this was "cabinish" but found out it was just the reception area that met our expectation. Our room was just a "regular" room although it was quite large. The carpet was stained terrible, we were down by the vending machine and laundry area so that was loud until around 10 pm. The pool was very heavy chlorine and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Cynthia J, Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay at Grouse Mountain Lodge. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We have a large gallery of photos on our website which we hope portrays an accurate perception of what staying at Grouse Mountain Lodge feels like. We also have plans to completely remodel the hot... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Grouse Mountain Lodge. The staff was attentive and helpful. The beds were so comfortable that you did not want to get up in the morning. I even bought two of the gel foam pillows from the gift shop. Everything was very clean. We purchased one of the last rooms available and were next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Grouse Mountain Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Grouse Mountain Lodge