We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Whitefish hotels

Grouse Mountain Lodge

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Hotel website
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grouse Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
64%
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (392)
  • Photos (102)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (106)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    130
    76
    51
    19
See reviews for
105
147
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel's exterior is very nice, with a golf course in the back and extensive residential housing up the hill. Food here was good, rooms were fine, with a good bed. Construction next to the hotel is somewhat problematic. We did not have a chance to go "downtown," due to the distance from the hotel. However, the area apparently does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billings, Montana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in the hotel for three nights and not once did the service the room. Not once! We asked that they do it and their solution was to give us a 5 dollar coupon. The pool was ice cold. Carpet was stained like a CSI crime scene. For the cost I have never stayed at such a poorly ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
High River, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here 2 nights. It's not a terrible hotel but it's certainly not worth the $260 per night that we paid for a plain room with 2 queen beds. The A/C was loud and rattled. Honestly I have stayed at Super 8s for $75 a night that were just as good. Total rip off, pass on this one unless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Traveler777888999, Thanks for leaving us some feedback. I'm sorry that you thought the pricing of the hotel was too high. We strive to keep our pricing in sync with our competition in the area. Best regards, Dan Hansen More

yardley pa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The question at Glacier is whether to stay in the park or out. If you have one or two days, try to stay in the park because you really have no time to explore the area. Dining and accommodations in the park are fair at best. More time than that, stay in Whitefish. Yes it is a (easy) 30 min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thought this was "cabinish" but found out it was just the reception area that met our expectation. Our room was just a "regular" room although it was quite large. The carpet was stained terrible, we were down by the vending machine and laundry area so that was loud until around 10 pm. The pool was very heavy chlorine and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Cynthia J, Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay at Grouse Mountain Lodge. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We have a large gallery of photos on our website which we hope portrays an accurate perception of what staying at Grouse Mountain Lodge feels like. We also have plans to completely remodel the hot... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely time at the Grouse Mountain Lodge. The staff was attentive and helpful. The beds were so comfortable that you did not want to get up in the morning. I even bought two of the gel foam pillows from the gift shop. Everything was very clean. We purchased one of the last rooms available and were next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While driving to the area my wife told me she made reservations at the Grouse Mountain Lodge. I quickly checked Trip Advisor and became concerned because of a few of the reviews posted. What we found was a beautiful property, with very helpful staff. My wife went to the dining room after closing time and one of the workers cleaning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
119 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You can't tell it is a 100+ years lodge from its modern and convenient amenities. Our room is spacious with tons of storage spaces and has golf course view, so we had a quiet good night sleep. Our only complaint was that the bath tub was clogged by hair from previous guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge is beautifully landscaped and the workers are very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, quiet, and nice. The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to leave the next morning. We enjoyed the fire pit on the public patio in the evening. We visited with other guests and watched the bats swoop through the sky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's great they have some pet friendly rooms; however, when I phoned to make the reservations, I specifically asked the rep on the phone if leaving our dog in his kennel if we went to dinner or left the room in general would be acceptable as we had just canceled a room because your pet is never allowed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi RoxanneBeaton, Thanks for leaving a little feedback about your recent stay. I'd like to apologize for the confusion you experienced regarding our pet policy. We will be reviewing our pet policy with all of our reservation agents and front desk staff to make sure they are providing the most accurate information possible. Best regards, Dan Hansen More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grouse Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Whitefish with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
145

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Grouse Mountain Lodge and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grouse Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer