We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grouse Mountain Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel website
2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Share an Experience

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    143
    86
    57
    22
See reviews for
116
163
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (437)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (194)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We generally make a point of staying at least once a year and again we were not disappointed. The room and was excellent and the bed was a pleasure to sleep in. The housekeeping staff as well as the front desk and bar staff were great to deal with. We spent some time in the hot tub and really enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is such a classic property, and the recent renovations have served it well. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with nice architectural detail (our room faced the golf course). The front desk staff members were extremely helpful with all our questions, unfailingly friendly, as though they were just hoping we would ask for their assistance. I work in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Versailles, France
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are dated, floorboards were rocky just where you put your feet when you step out of bed in the morning, I almost fell. The bed wasn't too comfy, with a rather run down mattress.The lobby is nice and the staff were helpful but unfortunately this does not make up for what I thought was a rather steep price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeganCole100, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Frenchie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this bit of feedback about your stay with us last September. We regret to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We are always happy to move rooms when possible if you would have wanted to be further from the road. Situations like this can always be best... More 

Fernie, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights for our sons hockey finals. Excellent price for the room. Coffee pot and fridge as well as a microwave are provided, nice when you are travelling with children. Hotel common areas are very comfortable with several wood fireplaces burning all day. Building has some wear and tear issues but overall is very nice. Restaurant food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Grouse Mountain Lodge is good value for your money. The location is only a mile outside of Whitefish and you can either walk or take their free shuttle into town. The shuttle is very responsive so you don't have to worry about being stuck in town waiting. The rooms are a little dark and dated but they are comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stayed at Grouse Mt Lodge approx 17 times and every visit was fine. The rooms are big, The beds very comfortable. One drawback is the heating system can be noisey. The staff is extremely accommodating. I love the natural stone fire places with real wood burning in the lobby and dining room. They picked me up from airport,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeganCole100, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LJL325, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this comment! We truly appreciate it. Our staff is thrilled to have you each time you stay and we look forward to hosting you again soon! All the best, Megan C. More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed here during the long family day weekend with another couple. Loved the "cabin" feeling of the hotel with the huge brick fireplaces, outdoor fire pit and all of the woodsy decorations! From the moment we walked in till the time we left everyone was super friendly and attentive. We arrived at noon as were unsure of the border wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeganCole100, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear IGA_12, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write out this bit of feedback for us! We are glad that you had good experiences with our staff & services. We look forward to hosting you again soon! All the best! Megan C. More 

Fernie, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed here for 3 days while riding Whitefish Mountain and visiting Glacier National Park. Room was nice and comfy. Bed was awesome. Service was horrible. Had 2 vouchers for the bar/restaurant that i saved to use on the last night, but there was a blackout for an hour or so and the kitchen closed. No offer of a discount on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeganCole100, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 57ride, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this comment. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our front desk associates are always happy to help with any guest complaints and of course would have been more than willing to apply your vouchers to your total room cost due to the... More 

Clancy, Montana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Checked in to find that my room wasn't ready. Well enough, it happens. Got my new room, decent enough. Just plain horrible service throughout though. Had a room disturbance issue next door and the front desk refused to deal with it in a manner suitable for a hotel of this price range. The ruckus continued until 11:50 pm despite repeated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MeganCole100, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mick K, We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. When we received your first call we did send security up but they did not hear anything. We did not disturb the guest in question at that point because it was 9:30 and quiet time for the hotel is not until 10:00. We... More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I have stayed here a few times while riding my motorbike through Montana. This hotel is top rate!!! The rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and the location of the hotel is amazing; it is set on a golf course. The restaurant is really good, the food is fantastic. A great hotel for a couples... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question