We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 West Yellowstone hotels

Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Yellowstone West Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #14 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Craig B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (138)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel was very nice and very close to both restaurants, and the entrance to Yellowstone Park. Was able to do laundry which was great, and it had a very nice large indoor pool. Would recommend this place to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Page, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was a small room and very high priced. The staff gave decent service and the facility was clean, but we give it a poor overall value. They were booked full so I assume they can charge what they want and get away with it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lompoc CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a room at the West Gate Hotel for two nights in early July. There were six of us so we got the room with the two queen beds in one room and the little side room with another queen bed. We had no complaints. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was far from 'terrible', I don't know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We took a chance on this as is was further down the block and away from things. We need a room for 3 adults & 3 children. We had a really nice room with 2 Q beds and then another Q in a separate room. The rate was really good compared to others we stopped at. My complaints like others... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our three queen suite is a great value for large families. Sometimes the internet slows when all of our guests get back from the Park and try to access their emails and social pages with pictures of their visit to the park. The front desk staff can direct you... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was overpriced. Terrible breakfast. Better if they did not offer it. We had to eat out the second morning.The beds were hard like sleeping on the floor. It was not comfortable after a day in the park. There must be better choices in west yellowstone for the same price. Definitely not returning. Also promised free wifi but worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but your comments are appreciated. We have one of the best free breakfasts in town with not only the standard items such as yogart, fruit, juice, danish, coffee, toast, milk, cereal but also hot items like eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and waffles. We pride ourselves on being a good value because... More

Carterville, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our rooms last December for four days in June for ourselves, our daughter, son-in-law and two grandkids. When I called in February with some questions, the hotel was closed, but the staff was kind enough to return my call promptly. The hotel was clean and very convenient, and the staff was friendly and answered all our questions. My... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. So many of our guests tell us they checked TripAdvisor before making their reservation so your comments will help others choose us for their Yellowstone vacation. Come back soon! Janet Gideon General Manager More

Casper, Wyoming
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel is not very impressive from the outside, lobby or hallways but all were very clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was descently sized and clean. We did not have the complimentary breakfast as the hours were from 6-9 and I prefer not to move that early... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, please visit us again real soon. Janet Gideon General Manager More

Beijing, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the this hotel for one night, there was a very noisy soda water sales machine right out of our door. We asked the staff to switch it off, or change room for us, but they just don't care our request. We have a really noisy night, could not fall asleep all night. Terrible felling about the staff's attitude.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We try very hard to accommodate all guest and we are sorry that we were full and not able to move your room. We could not unplug the pop machine because then other guest would not have been able to purchase water and pop and when we plugged it back in all the pop would... More

Logan, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had two children in wheelchairs and the clerk let us eat our supper in the breakfast area. It was late and we were all hungry. It was very thoughtful of her. The breakfast waitress also was very helpful in getting breakfast for the children in wheelchairs. Thank-you for your kindness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we're glad we were able to help in anyway to make your stay more comfortable. Janet Gideon General Manager More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good location to Yellowstone West entrance. Nice big rooms . The only problem was a very slow internet connection, it took more than 15 minutes to get connected and Then the connection was very slow. Breakfast room was a bit crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Sorry you found the internet to be slow. During peak hours with many of our guests checking emails at the same time it can slow the system. We also offer a business center with with two computers available to our guests. We're glad you found everything else as a "good experience". Janet Gideon General... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, can arrange Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

See which rooms travelers prefer