We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 West Yellowstone hotels

Stage Coach Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stage Coach Inn to your Saves list
Stage Coach Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #23 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ErnsestFromBaltimore Baltimore, Maryland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (298)
  • Photos (57)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    96
    51
    43
    36
See reviews for
71
133
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for three days at the peak of tourist season. The good news is the room was decent, the beds were comfortable, and the location was great. The bad news is the pool was closed, the wifi didn't work at all, the breakfast had exactly zero items available for low carb diets, and we only managed to coax... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room was spacious and clean.the hotel is in walking distance to all of " downtown " W. Yellowstone". But: They have is non-working room keys when we arrived (there was someone else in the room!). After they sorted that out we got a different room.when we got back the next day that key did not work either (they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maui
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Stage Coach Inn during a two day visit to Yellowstone National Park. The room we were given was old and the air conditioner did not cool the room. Also the wi-fi didn't work in the room. We complained as we paid the price of a room in a major European city for the room and left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay, we appreciate your comments about the Hotel and that the problem you had with the Air Conditioner was resolved. Our Deluxe rooms were added in 1990 and although we are not large enough for most bus tours, our rooms with two beds are on the Deluxe... More

Cotati, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were shocked when we got here. Motel 6 is better. The employees are burnt out and unhelpful. I couldn't even get wifi in the lobby and other guests said the same. I came here because I thought I was getting a super high quality place the way it was advertised on Expedia. The towels were thread bare and didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations for this stay and that you "had to stop a child from doing firecrackers in the front". More

Ozark, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lobby was very clean and well taking care of with rustic, old west style furniture. The front desk staff was very friendly at check in and during the whole stay. They were also very helpful, being recommending a good place to eat or providing stamps and mailing postcards. The room we had was clean, well furnished and was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Knowledgeable and Friendly Front Desk Staff, the Cleanliness of the Guestroom, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

seattle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel because we stayed here years ago when visiting the park. It has been remodeled since our last visit--gone was a restaurant and bar (we knew that in advance). The continental breakfast area now occupies part of the old restaurant. It would be nice to see a restaurant/bar on premises again, but there are many places in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location, the Lobby and the Décor, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, the Guestroom and Amenities, and especially the Knowledge and Friendliness of the Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spacious, comfortable, rustic lobby--as long as you don't mind all the stuffed animals mounted on the walls. Room was cozy, though crowded for 4 people (2 queen beds and a roll-away bed at an additional charge of $10/night). Décor seemed a bit tired and dated, in an (appropriate for the locale) Old West theme. Pool not yet opened (ever), awaiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Lobby, the Room, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. I was also pleased to read about the responsiveness of the Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We paid a lot of money for this hotel and certainly would not stay here again...I am not at all picky but amenities that were promoted were unavailable. The motel advertises high speed internet, but we were only able to gain access in the front lobby and the speed was terrible. The pool was unavailable and the hot tub were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We are still awaiting the State of Montana approval to open our newly constructed Swimming Pool, which is still listed as under construction, so I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved everything about this place! The outside of the hotel isn't anything special but I loved the inside of this hotel. The lobby is awesome and accompanies the whole Wild West theme. Very rustic and interesting, I enjoyed it. The continental breakfast in the morning was well stocked and delicious. The service was great, all the employees we're very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel Lobby, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and especially the friendly staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our favorite place to stay while visiting Yellowstone National Park, and when Old Faithful Inn is unavailable. Our visitors from India enjoyed the stay while visiting the park, Reservations had to be made ahead of time - four months. Facilities good. Continental breakfast was good, but would suggest some hot items and keep thinking about vegetarian visitors. Continental breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and the Yellowstone National Park attractions nearby. We also appreciate your comments about the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stage Coach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes, and has acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer