We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 West Yellowstone hotels

Stage Coach Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stage Coach Inn to your Saves list
Stage Coach Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #23 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Nevet1 Seattle, Washington
  • Reviews (291)
  • Photos (57)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    94
    48
    42
    35
See reviews for
65
132
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spacious, comfortable, rustic lobby--as long as you don't mind all the stuffed animals mounted on the walls. Room was cozy, though crowded for 4 people (2 queen beds and a roll-away bed at an additional charge of $10/night). Décor seemed a bit tired and dated, in an (appropriate for the locale) Old West theme. Pool not yet opened (ever), awaiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We paid a lot of money for this hotel and certainly would not stay here again...I am not at all picky but amenities that were promoted were unavailable. The motel advertises high speed internet, but we were only able to gain access in the front lobby and the speed was terrible. The pool was unavailable and the hot tub were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I loved everything about this place! The outside of the hotel isn't anything special but I loved the inside of this hotel. The lobby is awesome and accompanies the whole Wild West theme. Very rustic and interesting, I enjoyed it. The continental breakfast in the morning was well stocked and delicious. The service was great, all the employees we're very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our favorite place to stay while visiting Yellowstone National Park, and when Old Faithful Inn is unavailable. Our visitors from India enjoyed the stay while visiting the park, Reservations had to be made ahead of time - four months. Facilities good. Continental breakfast was good, but would suggest some hot items and keep thinking about vegetarian visitors. Continental breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and the Yellowstone National Park attractions nearby. We also appreciate your comments about the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Disgusting place to stay, small room, old bed, noisy air conditioner, just bad. Stayed 1 night and was happy to leave. Overpriced filthy little room with a grungy little bathroom. Never, never, never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn. I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations, however I was quite surprised that you would return to our Hotel again following your previous review of our Hotel on September 3, 2014, so I question the credibility of your posting. Regardless, thank you for choosing the Stage... More

CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't understand some of the reviews as we were there at the same time. The breakfast was large for a continental breakfast. We were running late one day and the staff was very kind in keeping it open a little late for us. We were on the second floor and the Wi-Fi, while slow at times, really worked fine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments some of the reviews that have been posted and about the Expanded Continental Breakfast and the Guestroom. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here 3 nights in a Deluxe King room. The room was perfectly comfortable and equipped with a microwave & mini-fridge. The staff were friendly and offered recommendations for dining. We never would have known of the Serenity Bistro if it hadn't been mentioned at the desk and that was our favorite meal! This is an older hotel, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and the friendly and knowledgeable Front Desk Staff. It was also refreshing to read your comments about the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. More

San Ramon, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a disappointment. This hotel is the crappiest hotel we have ever been in. Extremely expensive for the out dated filthy hotel, With small dirty room and bathroom. For the money they are charging, you would expect at least a comfortable bed and pillows. I booked this hotel on line with booking .com. I really do not get it, how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. Since this account was created for this review, I cannot help but think that your posting was motivated by other factors from your stay, but regardless of that, I apologize that your experience did not live up to your expectations. More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We paid $245 for a room which was advertised as having wi-fi and an indoor pool. Upon checking in we discovered the pool wasn't open. The free wi-fi didn't work on the 2nd floor. We were not told this upon check in. When we inquired all we got were excuses, not even an apology. We went to the front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that you were so disappointed in our Hotel. While our new Pool is complete, we are awaiting the Final Approval from the State of Montana before we can open - and we still have listed it under construction. In response to your informing... More

Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to inform all who come to this site, to try with all your might to find other accommodations. We did not have specific plans for our vacation and ended up in town with no where else to go. All other hotels were booked and now we know why. Although the night manager tried, our room was not tolerable considering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review from your recent stay. As I stated in the previous response, I am sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel but, writing multiple reviews does not add credibility to your posting. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stage Coach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes, and has acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
84

See which rooms travelers prefer