We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 West Yellowstone hotels

Moose Creek Inn

119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Moose Creek Inn to your Saves list
Moose Creek Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
74%
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
aggiemom0409
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
89
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we arrived at the Moose Creek Inn, I asked if they had a 1st floor room since my back went out. He said no and gave me a key to a second floor room. He failed to tell me it was in another building after I lugged one bag up. He offered to take it to the other building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brennamaurer, Manager at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Regarding your request for a ground floor room at the time of check in, it is extremely difficult for a small property with limited rooms which is booked to capacity to make any last minute room changes. Unfortunately, the property was booked to capacity for the night of your... More

washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although a great location very near to the west entrance to Yellowstone, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The charming rustic cabin look online made me believe it would be wonderful. However the room was so small it was difficult to walk around the bed. Likewise, the bathroom was very small with only a pedestal sink... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brennamaurer, Manager at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do agree that our single queen and single king rooms are small and the bathrooms in those rooms are small as well. Because of the size of the single queen and single king rooms, we... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The only drawback to this inn is the pillows, which are very hard. It is close to restaurants and the park entrance, so good value for a quick one night stay. No breakfast, but they did have coffee in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great, the bed was comfy, the room is absolutely tiny, and the shower measures 26x28.5 inches. Really. I'm 5'9", wear a size 12, and could barely manage. Not only was it small but the shower head would not move and it hit the rack hanging from it (for soap, shampoo, etc.) so it constantly sprayed me in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice simple place close to the entrance to the Park. Room was adequate for one night. The bed appeared to be new and comfortable. Simple appointments but everything was there, internet, dark shades, pillows, outlets for all my electronic devices and good TV. Bathroom was clean and updated. The staff was very helpful and their recommendations for restaurants proved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night during the busy season and was pretty happy with the outcome. The check-in was quick, the room was clean and comfortable - everything you'd expect from a small inn by a national park. My only complaint was the noise from the adjacent rooms - you could hear everything. Aside from that, great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tuxedo Park, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here a couple nights in August. Staff was very nice, room was very clean. Bed was comfortable. Stayed in unit on 2nd floor right at the top of the stairs. Small refrigerator in room. Nice rustic décor and furniture. Not a lot of room for clothes, no dressers. The only drawback was the shower. Very, very small, tough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long day in Yellowstone Park the Cabins at this Motel was the perfect place to relax. two rooms a kitchen worked out well for our family. a good size building. The building is an older building but it was a log style cabin so any imperfections just added to the rustic experience. I would stay here again !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this place comfortable and welcoming, and most importantly for us, only a short drive of a few minutes from the entrance to Yellowstone itself. It's a good stopover for exploring Yellowstone with plenty of places to eat nearby in West Yellowstone. It's also slightly cheaper than staying inside the park. We had 2 queens with a good size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived Moose Creek In in late May. Easy to find and closed to restaurants. 2 floors with 12 rooms in total. Out king room is small but very clean and cozy. The decors is of course style of American West but not old. The number of parking spaces is limited but curb-parking is quite safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Moose Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in West Yellowstone with
any amenities