We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Buffalo Hotel

236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
White Buffalo Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    33
    30
    27
    57
See reviews for
64
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was overpriced for the quality. Wifi barely worked and a/c was marginal. Room might have looked good in 1950. Other than the uncomfortable bed it was ok! Stay anywhere else. Trip advisor wants me to add more but there really isn't too much more to add. The breakfast was also marginal. Location was adequate but that was all that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived into town to find all accomodation priced at over $200 per night. Got a room here for $150! Room was newly decorated with large bathroom, clean and had everything we needed. Didn't use the pool but the courtyard area it was in looked very nice. Jacuzzi was empty at time of visit. WiFi didn't work however it appeared to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed there one night only. Prices at nearly 300$US very hefty. Sure its all about demand and supply, but i got a much better room and service at the Best Western in the same town the next day and this a third less than at the White Buffalo. Internet was not working and when complained the answer was sorry we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I was surprised to read that this guest stated the room rate at $300 per night. That is not our pricing. Our rates are much lower than that and typically as much as 40% lower than our competitors. I don't know if there was some confusion or if a mistake was made at our front desk. I assure you that... More 

Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to W.Yellowstone without reservations, but we found a room at White Buffalo. Although the room rate was less than many other places in W. Yellowstone, it was still overpriced. The room was adequate, but the air conditioning was not. The breakfast buffet was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business. You were correct in that you were lucky to find walk-in rooms available at this time of year. I also appreciate your reference to the fact that our price was below market. Our prices are as much as $100 per night less than many in town. I'm delighted that you enjoyed... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a very ordinary motel room but priced at resort pricing. The room itself was large but hotel seems to cater to tour buses so if you want front desk service you may wait behind two bus loads of people in the lobby. Small outdoor pool but adjacent hot tub not working Yes to breakfast included but the advertised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I thank this guest for taking the time to post their review of the property. I have addressed my apologies for the pool breakdown. It has been repaired. We do however have a leak from the hot tub and we are still awaiting repair parts and personnel to rectify that situation. The movie night is always available, but the staff... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here on July 28th while visiting Yellowstone. Everything seemed ok (pretty spendy for quality, but it's a tourist town), until attempting to sleep. We couldn't sleep because the guests directly above us decided to practice their acrobatic routine ALL NIGHT LONG!! We called the front office around 1 a.m. to have them deal with it...too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the time to speak your mind. We sincerely apologize for any unfriendly or unprofessional behavior of our staff. Although there is no excuse for rude behavior, I think it only fair to recognize that the very nature of a town that is virtually shut down for 5 months of the year, almost all businesses must hire and train... More 

Travelers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stopped here on a road trip. Of course we got to Yellowstone late in the day and all of the hotels were booked solid except for here and one other hotel. When we called, the nice girl that answered the phone reserved our room for us. We thought the price was ridiculous, but being a newbie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. West Yellowstone is a high demand area and packed during the traditional tourist season. It is important to reserve in advance whenever possible. I appreciate the references to upgrading the property. We are doing all we can, as rapidly as we can. Yes we are remodeling rooms used in the past... More 

Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front desk said the pool and hot tub were being worked on. Looking at them it was obvious they had been not working for a long long time. The hot tub was partially filled and had green stuff growing in it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

The pool and hot tub work from the same boiler , which had in fact broken down. Sometimes it takes longer to get repairs done in West Yellowstone due to our remote location and the need to get service personnel to travel from Bozeman or Idaho Falls. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. The pool has been repaired and is back... More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

My family of five was on the Tours 4 Fun trip. On 7/12/15, day 3 of our tour, we stayed at the White Buffalo. My family was astonished to fine the old box TV with poor reception. My 15 and 16 year olds and myself found the rooms and pool needing to be cleaned. The overall cleanliness and hygiene standards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Just so any readers will know the facts, the pool cleaned daily and mother nature blows some dirt and leaves into the bool daily as well. Yes some of the rooms have older TVs. They are being replaced as they die cease to function. Unfortunately the satellite TV service is not always as great as we'd... More 

Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We needed a place to stay in West Yellowstone and we were very grateful that the White Buffalo had a room available. The hotel is dated but clean. I do wish that the curtains were blackout. The breakfast was great and the fresh cinnamon rolls were very tasty. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am always interested to hear opinions, whether I agree with them or not. In this case I agree that the cinnamon rolls are very tasty. As for "dated", I'd prefer "classic" but recognize that the configuration of the hotel and huge rooms were from a design in the past. Of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 38 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#17 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#18 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#5 of 38 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay