We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 West Yellowstone hotels

White Buffalo Hotel

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Buffalo Hotel to your Saves list
White Buffalo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (140)
  • Photos (58)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    22
    21
    54
See reviews for
50
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was with a tour group that stayed here one nite. I am a single female that travels with tours because I am hestant to travel alone. My room was out by the pool which wasn't a problem, but my door did not have the extra security bar on the door and the trim around the door was split as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst place I have ever stayed. No heat, no air conditioning, no telephone, no hot water, The walls are paper thin, and there is no security lock on the door. Paid $200 for a bed and a toilet. I could have saved myself a bundle and slept in my car. Even if this is the last room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

When this reviewer suggested that "If its the last room in town, sleep in your car." I guess it may have been, but this guest obviously did not take her own advise. My staff reported that this guest saw the room, then decided to look elsewhere, and came back later and took it. This is one of our "economy" rooms... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Paper thin walls , you can hear everything going on outside your room . Candy wrappers underneath bed . I would have left , but I was with a tour group and didn't want to get separated from the tour . Not a place I would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wuhan, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay in 225 room the day before yesterday evening(Thursday).I left my Charger and battery of camera in the morning of Friday. My tour guide and i gone back to hotel in the afternoon.But we were told there was not charger and battery of camera in 225 room by the girl at front desk.I hope i can get my charger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pool not advertised as 4 feet deep, tiny, nothing to swim in, and not at all appropriate for small children. No internet access all evening. A wad of hair plugging the tub drain. Ancient television with poor reception. Old room, old wiring, no available plugs for recharging devices. No security on door leading to back parkng lot. Wide open. Outrageous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for only 1 night and couldn't wait to get out at the earliest time the next morning at 7:00 am after breakfast. All 3 rooms we had were small relative to the price we paid: No Air Conditioning (not told by reception), just 2 fans and a Heater, No phone, No alarm clock, shower head didn't work (be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Jim for taking the time. Every review does help us learn. What I learned this time was, that once again, we shouldn't be so quick to try and help out. In this case this room was rented last minute by a small tour group. The rest of our property was full. The price of the room was about $100... More

North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

July 2014 - Just got home from my first trip to Yellowstone and our stay there was great! My husband and I brought our 17 month old daughter along. Our room was clean as well as the rest of the interior and exterior of the hotel. Beds smelled fresh and the white beadspreads were spotless. Free breakfast was delicious with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was friendly and very accommodating. The room was clean and very big. The location was perfect. We were there during the 4th of July weekend and had a great view of the fireworks from the park across the street. We were also walking distance to the Playmill theater which was a highlight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pella, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I think the hotel strength lies in its location, next to the West Yellowstone park. Everything was fine but do not expect either something exceptional. I also really appreciated the location or the hotel which is quite central.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate input and feedback. Good honest reviews are helpful to us in continuing to improve our guest experience. More

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

When we checked in they informed us that breakfast was for two, we would have to pay an extra $8.95 since she was over 12. Got into the room and there was no hot water. Called the front desk and they said they would check into it...2-1/2 hours later, still no hot water. Turned on the TV, it didn't work.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel rates are based on "double occupancy". That means that the rate is for 2 people in one room. We have opted to not up-charge for additional people like many other hotels. If like those other hotels, we charged an additional $25 for guests over 2 in the room, then the breakfast could have been covered. The breakfast buffet... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Buffalo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in West Yellowstone with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of White Buffalo Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Buffalo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer