We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 West Yellowstone hotels

White Buffalo Hotel

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Buffalo Hotel to your Saves list
White Buffalo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (139)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    22
    19
    52
See reviews for
48
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for only 1 night and couldn't wait to get out at the earliest time the next morning at 7:00 am after breakfast. All 3 rooms we had were small relative to the price we paid: No Air Conditioning (not told by reception), just 2 fans and a Heater, No phone, No alarm clock, shower head didn't work (be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

July 2014 - Just got home from my first trip to Yellowstone and our stay there was great! My husband and I brought our 17 month old daughter along. Our room was clean as well as the rest of the interior and exterior of the hotel. Beds smelled fresh and the white beadspreads were spotless. Free breakfast was delicious with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was friendly and very accommodating. The room was clean and very big. The location was perfect. We were there during the 4th of July weekend and had a great view of the fireworks from the park across the street. We were also walking distance to the Playmill theater which was a highlight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pella, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I think the hotel strength lies in its location, next to the West Yellowstone park. Everything was fine but do not expect either something exceptional. I also really appreciated the location or the hotel which is quite central.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate input and feedback. Good honest reviews are helpful to us in continuing to improve our guest experience. More

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

When we checked in they informed us that breakfast was for two, we would have to pay an extra $8.95 since she was over 12. Got into the room and there was no hot water. Called the front desk and they said they would check into it...2-1/2 hours later, still no hot water. Turned on the TV, it didn't work.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel rates are based on "double occupancy". That means that the rate is for 2 people in one room. We have opted to not up-charge for additional people like many other hotels. If like those other hotels, we charged an additional $25 for guests over 2 in the room, then the breakfast could have been covered. The breakfast buffet... More

Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just outside of Yellowstone west gate. Very convenient to access the park. It has restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance in the town centre. Room was spacious and clean. No complaints NOTE: Shower faucet was tricky to know which way to turn to get hot water. It is just to the left or counterclockwise for hot water,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you stay was pleasant and hope your visit to Yellowstone National Park was memorable. We sincerely hope to see you again in the future. More

Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The White Buffalo Hotel. We had no problems with our room, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we will stay at this hotel again when in the area. Restaurants, shops, the IMAX, museum were within walking distance of this Hotel. In addition, Yellowstone park entrance was very near.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Its really great to hear from folks who enjoyed their stay with us. That after all is why we are here. As new owners, we will continue to remodel, improve and update the property as we are able. In case anyone is curious, this last year we updated and enclosed our guest-only family theater, remodeled our dining room, updated the... More

Kelowna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You do not want to stay at this hotel you pay a fortune the room had hair in the bed, mold in the bathroom, wifi did not work it got over loaded so they say and the list goes on to much to mention. Worst hotel ever. you are better sleeping in your car

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

We are replacing all of the bathroom floors in the entire hotel with new tile. This guest happened to stay in a room that did have the old lino floors from the previous owners. It had been wet in the past and had deteriorated and was darkly water stained. We set our un-remodeled rooms aside and only make them available... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It was the worst motel that I have ever experienced. Besides its convenient location to the Park, I could not recall anything good about this place. The maintenance guy even challenged me that "Do you know what time is it? Why don't you change room? Why don't you...?" After three hours of waiting on "reboiling" hot-water and phone calls, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

On the night in question there was a power outage in town. We have a safety switch that shuts off gas to the boiler to prevent excess pressure build up and possible explosion. Our maintenance crew checks this situation every morning when they get in to reset the boiler. In this case we did not catch it in time to... More

Nanuet, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It is a great place to stay. People are nice and the place is historical and peaceful. The location is wonderful, two blocks away from a busy street where a lot of places to shop and eat. The shortcome is that WIFI only works in the lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts about the hotel. I was delighted to see that you were very happy with the stay, with the exception of the WiFi issue. This element is a real challenge for us. We have a number of repeaters throughout the property but still seem to have difficulties. Some people seem... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Buffalo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
84

See which rooms travelers prefer