We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 West Yellowstone hotels

White Buffalo Hotel

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added White Buffalo Hotel to your Saves list
White Buffalo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    22
    19
    50
See reviews for
46
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The White Buffalo Hotel. We had no problems with our room, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we will stay at this hotel again when in the area. Restaurants, shops, the IMAX, museum were within walking distance of this Hotel. In addition, Yellowstone park entrance was very near.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Its really great to hear from folks who enjoyed their stay with us. That after all is why we are here. As new owners, we will continue to remodel, improve and update the property as we are able. In case anyone is curious, this last year we updated and enclosed our guest-only family theater, remodeled our dining room, updated the... More

Kelowna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You do not want to stay at this hotel you pay a fortune the room had hair in the bed, mold in the bathroom, wifi did not work it got over loaded so they say and the list goes on to much to mention. Worst hotel ever. you are better sleeping in your car

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

We are replacing all of the bathroom floors in the entire hotel with new tile. This guest happened to stay in a room that did have the old lino floors from the previous owners. It had been wet in the past and had deteriorated and was darkly water stained. We set our un-remodeled rooms aside and only make them available... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It was the worst motel that I have ever experienced. Besides its convenient location to the Park, I could not recall anything good about this place. The maintenance guy even challenged me that "Do you know what time is it? Why don't you change room? Why don't you...?" After three hours of waiting on "reboiling" hot-water and phone calls, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

On the night in question there was a power outage in town. We have a safety switch that shuts off gas to the boiler to prevent excess pressure build up and possible explosion. Our maintenance crew checks this situation every morning when they get in to reset the boiler. In this case we did not catch it in time to... More

Nanuet, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It is a great place to stay. People are nice and the place is historical and peaceful. The location is wonderful, two blocks away from a busy street where a lot of places to shop and eat. The shortcome is that WIFI only works in the lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts about the hotel. I was delighted to see that you were very happy with the stay, with the exception of the WiFi issue. This element is a real challenge for us. We have a number of repeaters throughout the property but still seem to have difficulties. Some people seem... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I notice that the manager likes to comment on these reviews and sure is defensive! Our room is adequate at best. No wifi in our room. No phone that works in our room. No a/c. The water in the tub/shower is not hot and the sink in the bathroom has no pressure and the stopper doesn't work. The faucets in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. From your description of the room location, I believe that you were staying in one of the 8 rooms that we identify this as our "economy" rooms. I think room number 171. Because of the kitchen availability, this happens to be the room I stay in when I need to stay onsite for any length... More

SeaTac, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We happened onto this place because all the motel/hotels were pretty booked and we didn't have any reservations. They wanted a lot for one night, and my husband negotiated a three night "deal" that made it reasonable for us. Not at all a fancy place, but the room was big, we had our microwave and fridge, got free popcorn every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for the review. We are not the newest, biggest, fanciest or most ornate property in town. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable lodgings with other specialty services like our lending library, kids play room, snack bar and guest-only nightly movies. Most of all we want to have friendly gracious staff members... More

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms are VERY SPACIOUS, clean, and had basic amenities. It's older, so not very many outlets, and the AC didn't work properly. The Wi-Fi was so slow that it was completely non-functional during peak hours. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you need an elevator, there is not one. Be sure to request the first floor. There is free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I love it when someone is honest enough to tell the whole story. Thank you Guest for the review. I think it accurately expresses this guest's opinions marvelously. It also helps us improve the property. So this is a win-win review. I assure you we will check out the AC. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do at peak WiFi... More

Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel was the worst one I have spent a night in the States. Our room was old and dirty, the TV defect, the Wi-Fi slow... Since we stayed there just for one night I could have arranged with that place - but not at the price you pay for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry the guest came all the way from Germany and didn't like their stay. However, I would ask any guest to check the prices in West Yellowstone and then decide whether our pricing structure, that is as much as 40% less than many of our competitors, is not more than competitive. In a community that literally does a year's... More

New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice outdoor heated swimming pool. Good breakfast buffet: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, French toast, toasts and cereals. Terrible internet connection. They charged breakfast for a third person while we paid for a family room. I don’t understand this policy. It was the only hotel that charged extra for breakfast of all hotels we stayed during our road trip from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rich Lake, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is way to expensive for what you receive, the lobby looks great but the rooms are shabby. The free breakfast is a joke as it is for only 2 there were 6 in our group. The pool was very warm but the hot tub was dirty. We will try a different hotel next time as was not worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

The rooms are sold as "double occupancy". That means two people per room. The cost of the breakfast, which most people love, in included in that rate. Since we do not up-charge for additional people in the rooms, we felt that asking guests to cover additional breakfasts for the additional people in the room was fair. Particularly when the breakfast... More

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Buffalo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.