We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Gate Cabins

109 US HWY 212, Silver Gate, MT 59081
Silver Gate Cabins
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    32
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very rustic, simple, bare bones cabins nestled in the woods very close to the Beartooth Highway. Housekeeping is good. The cabin was quite clean, the beds comfortable, lots of quality linens. Sadly, we had no hot water in our cabin the night we stayed although friends in a neighboring cabin did not have that problem. We woke up to two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely cabins in a beautiful setting, we stayed in The Annex which was adequate for our needs and consisted of a bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen with a sofa bed which turned out to be a twin rather than a double :s and a main bedroom with a queen size bed and bunk bed. There was also a barbeque and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. We started at cabin #8, a share with a friend, and it was fine. But when he left to head back home, we moved to cabin #1 and it was fantastic! Charming and comfy--two full beds, a full kitchen, a nice full bathroom and a wood stove. They even provide little lanterns. Nice that these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hoopscoach24
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a cabin at the recommendation of a family member & we were not disappointed! Although the signage for the cabins is minimal & require a second look to see, we found the main office/general store after turning around once & then were greeted by our host with an offer to look thru his scope at the goats way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Pine Edge 6 which has great views of the mountains. It's very cozy (code word for small!) but comfortable nonetheless. You're probably not spending all day here as you'll be exploring Yellowstone, so it's size didn't bother us. We liked that they provided battery powered lights in case the power goes out which it did for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

Even though we canceled in the amount of time allowable our paid in full trip is not being refunded. Henry stated he returned the transaction to my card my bank says otherwise!!! Currently we are out a substantial amount of money and he is acting shady about the situation. I strongly suggest anyone be Leary of giving them your financial... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
howmanymoremiles, Owner at Silver Gate Cabins, responded to this review

First let me say that we are here to serve. Second let me say we are not perfect. Billyvmom called me and asked me to refund her money which I attempted. Billyvmom failed to tell me that her credit card # had changed. Billyvmom calls me after I processed the refund and rightly ask where her money is and informs... More 

Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We've been coming up here summers and winters for about ten years. This winter we stayed in the School House Cabin 4 times!! Normally this is a once a year stay for us in January. The cabins are very cute!! But, what's the made the difference to bring us back four times? The staff here in past years was at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Verndale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

Didn't make it first night to silver gate and tried for 3 days to get ahold of the place and let them know but no one answered until after we stayed. I mean really! Talked with staff that was there but they are "not" in charge and can not make management dissuasions! The manager never attempted to contact me while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Water Valley, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

What a wonderful three night experience!! Not only were we awed by Yellowstone National Park, but we enjoyed SNOW in September. We are from Mississippi and do not see snow very often. The cabin was charming, cozy and comfortable. Vicky and Henry were so friendly and great hosts for our trip. They supplied us with up-to-date information in order for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We stayed in Whispering Pines 2 for 3 nights in August 2014. I cannot in good conscience recommend this place. We knew going into this that the cabin was small. That is not the issue. First, as you walk into the cabin you go into the kitchen, which has linoleum flooring. There is a rug for wiping your feet, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities