We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Laurel hotels

Locomotive Inn

310 South First Avenue, Laurel, MT 59044 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Locomotive Inn to your Saves list
Locomotive Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
60%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Laurel
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014
Mandy A Advance, Missouri, United States
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Advance, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We usually stop at Billings to but this is our New destination spot. They had a great breakfast, Huge gym to workout next door with fruit smoothies, tons of food sources in walking distance. The service was friendly catered to any needs we had. This will be one of our places to stay regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Missoula, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this clean and well maintained motel. The staff was intelligent, helpful and efficient.The breakfast was more than adequate. The pool and hot tub well maintained. We will stop again rather than go on to Billings on our way east!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda M, Manager at Locomotive Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work very hard to ensure that our staff is all knowledgeable and able to assist guests to the best of their ability. Thank you so much for staying with us and we can’t wait until your next stay. Blessings for a very happy and healthy 2014! ~Amanda More

Helena, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was without a doubt the worst experience I have ever had. The motel itself is OK, their breakfast is tolerable, their hot tub is lukewarm, but their staff is beyond your worst nightmare. The desk clerk verbally abused me, called me a liar, yelled at me and swore at me. When I asked to talk to the manager, he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda M, Manager at Locomotive Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, First off, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I would like to assure you that your situation is being handled with the upmost seriousness. Our business thrives on our customer service and I can’t apologize enough for the behavior that you experienced while you were at our facility. I have taken all of... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel that I would have never stayed at but having no other choice, I stayed there. I will only stay here from this point on. This hotel is FABULOUS!! In fact I am almost afraid to write this review because the next time I want to stay there, they will be booked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda M, Manager at Locomotive Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to have excellent customer service and our housekeeping department works around the clock keeping things in tip top shape. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope to have you back soon. More

Yucca Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Checked in to this hotel July 7th for a quick trip to visit friends in Laurel. Checked in went to dinner came back to the hotel around 7 pm could not even stay had to leave I was getting a horrible headache from the smell in the room. So I went to the front desk to tell them I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda M, Manager at Locomotive Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I assure you that your comments have been taken to heart and I am happy to report to you that we are currently under new management. The 1st order of business was the elimination of the smoking rooms. I am pleased to tell you as of November 1, 2013 our facility is... More

Youngsville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was looking for a motel close to the Beartooth highway which I planned to drive the next day.After seeing how high the prices were in Billings,I found this place on TRIPADVISOR,so decided to stop and take a look.I wasn't impressed when I arrived,as the area was a little rough looking,with a bar next door,and a very large "not responsible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We pulled in at about 5:30 on a Thursday, and they only had a few rooms left. Evidently the railroad books quite a few rooms for their workers, so I would rcommend making a reservation. Our room was reasonably priced for the area, very clean, and surprisingly quiet. Excellent staff, and a good breakfast. I especially appreciated real whole grain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naperville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located near freeway entrance, good complimentary breakfast, quiet, moderately priced and comfortable beds and pillows. Indoor pool too, but didn't try it out. Good Mexican restaurant on same block. Would stay again if passing through and AVOID Billings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed two nights at this motel and were very pleased. Prices in the area are not especially cheap, but this one was reasonably priced. The room was impeccably clean, the bed comfortable, and the continental breakfast very substantial and good. Staff was friendly. My roommate really enjoyed the indoor pool, though it was fairly small. I really appreciated the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
North Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

Stayed here to escape the 100 degree heat, which we did not suceed in doing. The hotel was hot and overpriced. The pool was tiny. The room was ok, but not very soundproof. The shower was cold and when we complained they suggested we wait thirty minutes. To begin with, I was mostly disatisfied with the management and staff. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Locomotive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locomotive Inn

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Laurel
Laurel Howard Johnson
Address: 310 South First Avenue, Laurel, MT 59044 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Montana > Laurel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff at the Locomotive Inn is proud to serve our customers and share our beautiful facility. Hospitality is first on our list, and includes the personal attention that builds relationships and return visits. For all our visitors, we offer spacious, exceptionally clean queen & king rooms, all with plush Serta mattresses, recliners, and in-room coffee.Business travelers especially will appreciate the free high speed wireless internet, free local phone calls, voice mail, wake up calls, and AM/FM alarm clocks. In addition, we offer fax/copier service for a nominal charge as well as mail service/stamps/incoming & outgoing mail. We have a guest computer for your use in the lobby, and we have truck parking in our lot!Relax after a long day in our indoor hot tub, or enjoy a swim in the indoor pool. Want to work out in a full-service exercise facility? Every customer of the Locomotive Inn receives a free pass to the Locomotion Fitness Center adjacent to the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Locomotive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locomotive Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.