We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Tamarack Lodge

9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Add Your Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
52
85
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Moran, Wyoming
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Spent three nights in one of their newer cabins with two bedrooms and a pull out futon. It was perfect with family. The cabin was clean, beds were good although the bedrooms are a little tight but then we were weren't in the area to spend all day in the cabin! It's close to Glacier NP and had a well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We were in one of the front rooms and it was on the main road to Glacier National park and hence noisy. The room was dirty and very cramped. The food at the restaurant was the worst we ate during a 4 week trip through the USA. We do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We generally receive very good reviews and have been praised for our cleanliness and for the food our partners, Oso's Smokehouse, have provided this season. Its very difficult for me to provide specific responses to the general issues commented on in this review however. Therefore, if... More 

Bellevue, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our Glacier trip because we couldn't get reservations in the park. But, I'm glad we did- we had a lodge room that was very nice. Super clean, comfortable, a coffee pot in the room and I went down stairs in the morning and bought a delicious latte in the lobby. Check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Latham, NY
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We were visiting Glacier National Park and the close proximity to the West entrance is why we stayed here for 2 nights. We spent much of our time in the park so to be fair, we didn't get to use the cabin to our full advantage. The cabin we stayed in was Bison, It has two queen bedrooms in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We returned to the Tamarack Lodge because it was just what we needed. Accommodations in the unit cabins are small but refrigerator, microwave, TV, WiFi and a fan make it a very comfortable place to stay. It is also reasonably priced for the area. The ribs at the BBQ restaurant are quite good and very convenient after a long day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grandville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed in one of the lodge rooms and they are quite small but all we really needed. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a small refrigerator, microwave I really didn`t expect. The staff at the front desk were really friendly and helpful when we were looking for a softer pillow and again when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed a week around Glacier National Park and picked the Tamarack for our last two nights. After seeing how close it was to the highway when we arrived, I was definitely wary of staying here, but they did not disappoint! We stayed in the Kinta lofted cabin, which is removed from the road and was very quiet with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wimberley, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Historic Tamarack Lodge in July for a family reunion. We selected Tamarack due to its proximity to Glacier National Park, pricing and dining/cooking amenities. Historic Tamarack just ticked off all boxes for our families needs. As for getting there, we all had different travel paths. You can definitely fly right in to Kalispel, but it can be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Naples, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was bearable, but disappointing in several ways. Talked to the owner to make the reservation and although I thought I asked all the right questions (having been iin the hospitality industry), I obviously forgot a few things that I thought were givens. There was no A/C and there were noisy fans "Everywhere" - In the halls, on the stairs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Whilst we do aim to exceed our guests'expectations in all areas, it is unfortunate that we were not fully able to satisfy this guest on this occasion. In order to address the points raised in her review I am happy to clarify this situation for future guests who may have concerns over the comments made. Firstly, our lodge is over... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Historic Tamarack Lodge for one night during our trip through Montana. Despite being located on the highway, this is an incredibly welcoming and well-run place. The front row of cabins face the road and can be noisy, but the cabins further in the woods are definitely more private and quieter. The Beaver Pond walk was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question