We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Tamarack Lodge

Hotel website
9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    47
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
54
86
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights & used the cabin as a base for exploring the national park Pros: - spacious cabin w full kitchen facilities. We just used it for breakfast. - heating - modern clean bathroom - friendly check in w walks recommended. We appreciated their tips for routes to take. They even let you borrow bear spray.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davisburg, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked one night at the Tamarack and was not disappointed. The Tamarack has just the right amount of rustic and homey-ness. As a woman traveling alone in the off-season, it was nice to stay in a lodge room upstairs. My room was very clean and the bed comfortable. I love the historic bed and breakfast feel to the place.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our stay at the Tamarack Lodge online shortly before our trip. I was slightly nervous about that because sometimes pictures look significantly better online. The opposite is true here. When we walked in I was surprised at how nice and clean the cabin was; the pictures don't do it justice. We stayed in the Glacier cabin- it has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom cabins in March. 2 adults & 3 kids age 13,11 & 8. The Glacier cabin was a very pleasant surprise. Very nice condition, full kitchen, refrigerator, full stove, microwave, nice counter tops and lots of cooking utensils. Front porch with bbq grill. Large plasma tv on the wall and nice, sparkling clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moran, Wyoming
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Spent three nights in one of their newer cabins with two bedrooms and a pull out futon. It was perfect with family. The cabin was clean, beds were good although the bedrooms are a little tight but then we were weren't in the area to spend all day in the cabin! It's close to Glacier NP and had a well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We were in one of the front rooms and it was on the main road to Glacier National park and hence noisy. The room was dirty and very cramped. The food at the restaurant was the worst we ate during a 4 week trip through the USA. We do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We generally receive very good reviews and have been praised for our cleanliness and for the food our partners, Oso's Smokehouse, have provided this season. Its very difficult for me to provide specific responses to the general issues commented on in this review however. Therefore, if... More 

Bellevue, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our Glacier trip because we couldn't get reservations in the park. But, I'm glad we did- we had a lodge room that was very nice. Super clean, comfortable, a coffee pot in the room and I went down stairs in the morning and bought a delicious latte in the lobby. Check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Latham, NY
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We were visiting Glacier National Park and the close proximity to the West entrance is why we stayed here for 2 nights. We spent much of our time in the park so to be fair, we didn't get to use the cabin to our full advantage. The cabin we stayed in was Bison, It has two queen bedrooms in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We returned to the Tamarack Lodge because it was just what we needed. Accommodations in the unit cabins are small but refrigerator, microwave, TV, WiFi and a fan make it a very comfortable place to stay. It is also reasonably priced for the area. The ribs at the BBQ restaurant are quite good and very convenient after a long day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grandville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed in one of the lodge rooms and they are quite small but all we really needed. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a small refrigerator, microwave I really didn`t expect. The staff at the front desk were really friendly and helpful when we were looking for a softer pillow and again when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay