We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Helena

Hotel website
Hotel deals
22 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helena
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Helena
Holiday Inn Helena
Holiday Inn Helena
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    43
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
27
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Lucca's Italian Restaurant where we planned to eat for our anniversary. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from what some consider to be the best restaurant in Montana. To our surprise, we loved the hotel. The room was so comfortable and appeared to be newly and quite tastefully remodeled. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is great. Lots of stuff to walk to, but seriously bad overall impression. I'm still struggling with internet service (thank goodness I have my hotspot with me) and it took over 5 minutes for the front desk to answer my call from my room to ask for a fork. I haven't stayed at an IHG property in a while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John L, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear flowerd2004, We understand and apologize about the inconvenience you experienced due to our construction. We value and appreciate all comments from our guests.We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all our guests. We have addressed all of these issues with our maintenance department as well as our internet provider. We hope you... More 

Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

The outside is typical boring downtown hotel but the inside was nicely done. Great breakfast, lovely wine bar (totally unexpected) and sportsbar/restaurant. The service was slow but friendly. Food was delicious but mostly high quality bar food (other than breakfast). They were doing renovations on the 5th floor and parking lot - annoying for us but I'm sure will make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John L, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay.We take great pride and strive to be the best in hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you to Helena. More 

Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I stayed here two weeks ago, while attending a friend's retirement. At any time, someone was available and ready to render assistance and information, at the front desk. There is a restaurant and bar on site, which looked appealing, although my schedule was filled during my stay. A wide pedestrian area allows access to numerous shops, bars, and eateries, located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John L, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We are very happy to hear how much you like our hotel from the staff to our location. Our staff strives to do their best and it sounds like they have done that for you. We are happy you chose to stay with us and we look forward to providing you with... More 

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This is the best hotel in Helena because of the location downtown in Last Chance Gulch. Nearby shopping, dining, brewery, nightlife is all steps away. The design of the hotel is odd to say the least, I still don't know how to get to the pool. I walked through a labyrinth each time I left the elevator while I feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear DocW543, We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in. We do value your feedback. The view from our south side is just as pretty as it is from the north, so you can't go wrong either way. Looking... More 

Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This property went through some strange changes over the years with management, but was drastically overhauled to expand a restaurant, bar inside. For business or casual travel, you cannot beat this location. I've stayed here many times and always stay at this property when I visit Helena. Lots of bars, restaurants and shopping within easy strolling distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear CC, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have been through many changes and are going through a remodel at this time as well. We are getting all new sinks and LED mirrors along with case good in our guest room bathrooms. We hope the next time you are in you will get to see... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The beds were super itchy & seemed not super clean. The air conditioning units on the roof were so loud we couldn't sleep at all. We were on the top floor but still it was ridiculously loud. The breakfast was pretty great though! The had a little of everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Mothsquatch, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of our property. We are saddened to hear you did not have the memorable stay you should have. I have brought your issues of the beds to the attention of our head housekeeping department. As for the air conditioning units being loud while you were in our... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

By far the very worst stay in any hotel and an absolute shock from my last visit! Thankful my wife didn't have to experience this being our last stay was so great! I would have thought there would have been something a little different since I last stayed then again it was just me on business this go around but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Americanhero, Thank you for your review of out hotel. We are saddened to hear you had such a bad experience during your stay. You mentioned one of the housekeeping staff had stated she hadn't been here very long and we were working on things so we could pass our next inspection. We did pass our last inspection with a... More 

Austin, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Great hotel, exceeding expectations for price point. My husband stayed here for business and my 1 year old and I joined him for one night of his stay. This review is a compilation of our opinions. Our room was updated and clean with nice linens and granite style counter tops. Two mirrors outside the bathroom made it easy to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear TexasM313, Thank you so much for your great review of our property. We are very happy to hear you and your little one were able to join your husband while he was here on business. As you stated about our rooms being updated and the renovation on 7th floor, we are updating our bathrooms with new vanities, new mirrors... More 

Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

this is my go-to hotel in Helena MT. clean, friendly, great breakfast, good location. there was a hockey thing going on and so they put me on the top floor where it was away from the teams. very thoughtful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Lonnie H, Thank you for your review of our property. We are very happy to hear how much you like our hotel from the staff to the cleanliness and then to the restaurant. Our staff strives to do their best and it sounds like they have done that for you. We are happy you choose our hotel each and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay