We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Helena

Hotel website
Hotel deals
22 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helena
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Helena
Holiday Inn Helena
Holiday Inn Helena
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
26
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Port Angeles, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This property went through some strange changes over the years with management, but was drastically overhauled to expand a restaurant, bar inside. For business or casual travel, you cannot beat this location. I've stayed here many times and always stay at this property when I visit Helena. Lots of bars, restaurants and shopping within easy strolling distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear CC, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have been through many changes and are going through a remodel at this time as well. We are getting all new sinks and LED mirrors along with case good in our guest room bathrooms. We hope the next time you are in you will get to see... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The beds were super itchy & seemed not super clean. The air conditioning units on the roof were so loud we couldn't sleep at all. We were on the top floor but still it was ridiculously loud. The breakfast was pretty great though! The had a little of everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Mothsquatch, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of our property. We are saddened to hear you did not have the memorable stay you should have. I have brought your issues of the beds to the attention of our head housekeeping department. As for the air conditioning units being loud while you were in our... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

By far the very worst stay in any hotel and an absolute shock from my last visit! Thankful my wife didn't have to experience this being our last stay was so great! I would have thought there would have been something a little different since I last stayed then again it was just me on business this go around but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Americanhero, Thank you for your review of out hotel. We are saddened to hear you had such a bad experience during your stay. You mentioned one of the housekeeping staff had stated she hadn't been here very long and we were working on things so we could pass our next inspection. We did pass our last inspection with a... More 

Austin, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Great hotel, exceeding expectations for price point. My husband stayed here for business and my 1 year old and I joined him for one night of his stay. This review is a compilation of our opinions. Our room was updated and clean with nice linens and granite style counter tops. Two mirrors outside the bathroom made it easy to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear TexasM313, Thank you so much for your great review of our property. We are very happy to hear you and your little one were able to join your husband while he was here on business. As you stated about our rooms being updated and the renovation on 7th floor, we are updating our bathrooms with new vanities, new mirrors... More 

Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

this is my go-to hotel in Helena MT. clean, friendly, great breakfast, good location. there was a hockey thing going on and so they put me on the top floor where it was away from the teams. very thoughtful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Lonnie H, Thank you for your review of our property. We are very happy to hear how much you like our hotel from the staff to the cleanliness and then to the restaurant. Our staff strives to do their best and it sounds like they have done that for you. We are happy you choose our hotel each and... More 

Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Stranded at the airport for the night. Wanted to take a 6am the next morning. Hotel has a free shuttle to the airport. The thing that sold me was they offered to pick up a cab to the airport in the morning if we left before the shuttle driver arrived. Didn't have to take them up on the offer, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Happy K, Thank you for your review of our property and thank you for being a Platinum member . We are happy you chose to stay with us for your quick stay here in Helena. Maybe next time you are here in Helena you will be able to enjoy the downtown area a little more. With the coffee in... More 

Kalispell, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This hotel is located on the pedestrian mall in old town Helena. Loved the location because it is close to State Capital, Cathedral and Carroll College. Within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, etc. Has it's own restaurant/bar and Casino as well. Rooms large and clean and the bedding was fabulous! Two downfalls: No complimentary breakfast or coffee in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear RobinC2009, Thank you for your review of our property of our hotel. We are please that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you were able to find everything you needed in the downtown area. The walking mall is a great place to spend some time with the different shops and restaurants in the area. With us being... More 

Lethbridge Alberta
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here for Labour Day weekend. Very clean , nice rooms. They put us on the seventh floor, great view. This is only the second time to Helena . Lots of old buildings in the downtown area. Our rooms were done first thing in the morning ...Thank You . We slept very well , nice and quiet. Good darkning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Rudi2go, We would like to say thank you for you review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room on the seventh floor. We do know the seventh floor has a great view no matter what side of the building you stay on. We are happy to hear housekeeping took care of your room in... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel was very nice, it was next to the walking mall and not too far from the Baseball Field. Upon check in, Bill was great, he gave us a map and told us where everything was and how close, also gave us a little tour of the hotel which was nice, he was very friendly. Great Hospitality. Now on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear Brianna O, Thank you for you review from your recent visit to our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear Bill took good care of you and gave you good directions to and from the ball fields but are saddened to hear your experience was not as good on... More 

Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is right in the Last Chance Gulch pedestrian mall. Sights and great restaurants are a short walk away and the desk is very helpful with directions and recommendations. Rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable, although the claim that they have balconies is a bit of a stretch. More like ledges with railings. The breakfast was better than expected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review

Dear soloman9993, Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and also the location of the property. Our staff strives to do their best at what they do from giving directions to making recommendations. As for the balconies, they are small but nice to be able to open the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question