We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Gardiner hotels

Riverside Cottages

521 Scott Street West, Highway 89 & 2nd Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Hotel amenities
Riverside Cottages
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    19
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Sue and I are re re re re repeat guests at Riverside Cottages in Gardiner, MT. Eddy and Laura are awesome hosts and make everyone who stays there feel like family. Easy to find and just one minute to the Roosevelt Arch and the North Entrance to Yellowstone. The cabins are themed...one "Elk" one "Bear" etc and all the cabins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We can think of no better compliment than a guest who wants to return (as you say, a re re repeat guest). Can't wait for you to see the expanded deck and the new rooms. I will post some pictures when we get some interior walls up. We will see you in May for your next visit. More

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

These are very nice little cottages and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the Bear cottage and have to say that the theming is pretty cute whilst not being too overwhelming. We chose the Bear cottage because it fit our needs with just 2 beds. It also had a kitchen, TV, and everything else that you would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are currently building two units that have private balconies overlooking the Yellowstone River. These rooms will have a sitting area, two queen beds (one below and one in a loft above) and cooking facilities. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future if you are traveling this way. More

Austin TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a week in an efficiency at Riverside while we explored Yellowstone. We were very happy with our stay. The room was always clean, the true queen bed very comfortable & great service from the owners, Laura & Eddy. It was conveniently within walking distance to a grocery store & several restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We can think of no better compliment than a guest who wants to come back to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More

Hawesville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Fox in July 2013. It was perfect for Me and my 21 year old son. Its right beside Montana Whitewater for rafting and ziplining. The hot tub felt great after kayaking in the Yellowstone River. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and a grocery and 2 minutes from the North Gate to Yellowstone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We also enjoy being close to restaurants and activities nearby. Our neighbors are great and our hot tub provides a relaxing evening overlooking the Yellowstone River. We look forward to seeing you again if you are traveling this way. More

West Jordan, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently booked a 14 night stay here because they had the best prices by far. I had to place a 50% deposit in advance. Due to the government shutdown and the closing of Yellowstone I had to cancel my trip. I was not able to cancel with a weeks advance notice in order to get my deposit back. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We are sadden by all the people who had planned their vacations to visit Yellowstone and are denied access due to this government shutdown. We just didn't feel it was right to keep a deposit for a situation beyond your control. We look forward to your stay when you can travel this way in the future. More

Evanston, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friendly owners set the tone for our stay at the Riverside Cottages. The cottages are old but well maintained and show that the owners take pride in their property. Location is on the main street, but traffic in this small town of 800 is light, so vehicle noise is minor. We had the Deer Cottage which had a queen bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

September is a lovely time to visit Yellowstone with the elk and bison in rut and putting on quite a show for our guests. We try to make the cottages as functional as possible in the space provided. We are about to begin construction to expand our deck and add two rooms with a sitting area and a private balcony... More

BTM
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were traveling with friends on a last minute trip to Yellowstone and lucked into getting accomodations for the night. We resided in the "Fox" cottage (1 double, 1 single bunk). Clean, compact, updated with the conveniences you expect. The Fox is on the river side of the complex not the street side. It was quiet, although there isn't much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

What a fun last minute trip to visit Yellowstone. We are glad you chose to stay with us and felt comfortable and rested in your Fox Efficiency. While we have thought of adding a continental breakfast, we don't have a large enough area to host a breakfast but we will keep your thoughts in mind. We hope you will visit... More

FREMONT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location: Perfect for us....5 miles from the north entrance to Yellowstone Cottages on a hill overlooking the river.....short walk from cottage to edge to look over at the river. Cottages on the main street of Gardiner, walking distance to grocery and restaurants (Some traffic could be heard, but not anything disturbing for us.) River below and mountain above....hot tub there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the comfy beds and were able to relax after a long day in Yellowstone. We enjoy walking to the grocery store and restaurants and notice a lot of our guest enjoy being able to walk to places close by. Our staff is very dedicated and works hard to... More

Sedona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I were on a Western vacation and encountered a horrific situation @ Riverside Cottages. We were aggressively confronted by the owners and my wife wrote a long and detailed review stating the FACTS of the encounter. The owners did NOT respond to our review but instead chose to respond to another travelers 'Terrible' review by fabricating a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

"You state that the owners did NOT respond to our review." True, at the time of your review I simply didn't have the option to reply. When I did start responding to reviews I did not feel it appropriate to go back 22 months (Your stay was July 2011 not October 2012.) to rehash an unpleasant situation for you or... More

Vernon, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like most others, we stayed at this property during our visit to Yellowstone. We stayed in one of the cabins. I was expecting something a little more private and perhaps a little roomier however I had no complaints about the comfort, quiet and convenience of the unit that we stayed in. It is very conveniently located near the Yellowstone Park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Sorry you were expecting a more roomy cottage, but we are glad you were comfortable and able to walk to many shops and restaurants. More

Been to Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Address: 521 Scott Street West, Highway 89 & 2nd Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverside Cottages to your Saves list