We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
521 Scott Street West, Highway 89 & 2nd Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Riverside Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    34
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
69
53
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very nice accommodations in a great location. Our cottage (#6) had a full kitchen and comfortable beds. Riverside Cottages is only about 5 minutes away from the Yellowstone entrance, a real benefit for those who want to get an early start in the morning. A large hot tub and porch area right on the river provided opportunities for relaxation. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the deck, hot tub and location to Yellowstone entrance. We hope you will come back and see us. More 

Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent four nights - one in a "cottage" and three in a riverside room. The cottage was, "cozy." The riverside room was terrific with a spectacular view of both the river and the park entrance. Both rooms were immaculate and well appointed. But here's a vignette: Early one evening there was a fairly severe thunderstorm. Most people were stuck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We sometimes have the most amazing double rainbows after a little rain shower. That site never gets old and we try to notify as many people as possible and we are so glad you got to see the rainbow. Thank you for staying with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your balcony suite overlooking the Yellowstone River. We... More 

Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made the Riverside Cottages our home for four days, while going to Yellowstone each day. Nice and clean - the owners were very nice. Parking was nice to have so close to the cottage. The cottage is very small inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. If you are traveling this way in the future we hope you will consider staying with us again. More 

Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Pronghorn room for three adults. I was happy with the stay, but the room was bit small for my family. I requested for the larger room if available, but that seems didn't happen. I would love to give five stars, but my mom had complaints about the room and the smell (other than the burning smell from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry you were crowded in your room during your stay. We did check the heater to make sure it was functioning properly and determined it had not been turned on for several months. We are glad you enjoyed the hot tub and BBQ on the deck overlooking the Yellowstone River. If you... More 

Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Wolf Den. It was spotlessly clean and had everything our family needed. The kitchen was well-equipped and the beds were comfortable. The pull-out sofa was the best I've ever slept on! Laura personally welcomed us and checked in to make sure everything was perfect. Sitting on the deck overlooking the Yellowstone River felt like a vacation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back to see us again. Every season has its own specialty to offer. More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family of 5 stayed in Bison Cottage for two nights. It couldn't have been cleaner and the beds were very comfortable and Laura very helpful. A small improvement would be slightly more kitchen utensils as we like to self- cater but not enough of a problem to reduce the rating from excellent. Great location for visiting Yellowstone highlights. Hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly check our kitchen utensils and provide a better selection. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and see us. More 

Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in June at the Bison Cottage, and were VERY pleased. The Owners could not have been kinder to us. On the day we traveled to Gardiner, we were going to be traveling about 500 miles and had left early enough to make it by 6:00 pm, but a wrong turn caused us to be driving thru Yellowstone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We so enjoyed your family staying with us, and nobody wants to be hungry after a long day in the Park and driving those roads in the dark. That is when peanut butter and jelly never tasted so good. Thank you for the very nice comments. We are pleased that you rested well and enjoyed the deck overlooking the Yellowstone... More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at Riverside Cottages while in Yellowstone Park. We were in the Trout Efficiency. It was a very clean room with pretty fish/mountain decor. Laura and Eddie Cox where very welcoming and helpful on recommending places to eat. Laura gave us a welcome tour when we arrived. The view of the Yellowstone River, the town of Gardiner, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your very nice comments. We have a lovely town and are pleased to recommend some of our favorite restaurants and sites in town. We also enjoy hearing about our guest's journey through Yellowstone and the exciting experiences they encounter. We hope you will come back to see us. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you Eddie & Laura for your kind hospitality. Room 14 was delightful. We were so disappointed to have only booked one night, we did not wish to leave. My advise to others - if you are on a 14 day road trip, plan to take a rest here because, it was the best accommodation & lovely spot to just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your turn visit when you may stay longer. I do believe in certain necessities in life - a full size coffee pot and a decent hair dryer! Thanks again! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Beautiful room, beautiful location! We stayed in the trout room, super cute decor, clean, comfortable! It rained during our stay so we did not get to use that awesome hot tub overlooking the river, this property is amazing! Wish we could have stayed longer, but will definitely have to return. Laura and Eddie are awesome hosts! I would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We look forward to your return. Thank you for staying with us. There is so much to see in Yellowstone that we look forward to your longer stay on your next trip. Maybe it won't rain next time and you may enjoy the hot tub. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#3 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Village Inn
Yellowstone Village Inn
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities