We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Gardiner accommodations

Above the Rest Lodge

8 Above the Rest Lane, Gardiner, MT 59030
Hotel amenities
Above the Rest Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onset, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My daughter, son-in-law, and I stayed in Steph's cabin for 2 nights, 9/29-30/13. The cabin is roomy for 3 people and furnished with all the necessities. The views were fantastic. We could see Mammoth Hot Springs from the windows. Owners were friendly and non-obtrusive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed in Steph's Cabin. The home is very well maintained and comfortable, away from town but only a short 5 minute drive back in. The views are stunning, the owners who live next door are very friendly but also allow you complete privacy. Bed was comfortable however the bedroom is upstairs which you access via a spiral staircase, something... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow, ID
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in August so that I could hike in the area. Excellent location just 2.5 miles outside of town, on a bluff overlooking the Yellowstone River and Yellowstone national park. Quiet and out of the way 2 bedroom cabin, fully furnished except no washer/dryer. The owner/operator was nice. I only interacted with him when making reservation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Based on other reviews we were somewhat nervous about staying here. We arrived at night but didn't have a problem finding it. The road is a little rough but we managed just fine with our car. We stayed in the cabin with another family. The cabin was clean. We brought our own towels and bedding which was a good call.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Longmeadow,MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Overall, we had a great experience in Shirly Bells Cabin. It had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large kitchen/livingroom area. Plenty of room for the 6 of us.The view from the large deck was beautiful. The kitchen was well appointed. The most notable deficiencies were the drains in the bathtubs (very slow....) the quality of the bath towels (ripped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We had reservations about staying at Steph's Cabin even before we arrived, however, we wanted somewhere with a kitchen so that we could cook our own food and there just weren't that many options around Yellowstone. What a mistake. While we had many complaints - the towels in the bathroom were ripped and torn, not all of the lights worked,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chicago
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

The view from the cabin was the most amazing thing you could ask for. The cabin was great (the nest) but the bathroom could have used a better cleaning. The only other complaint we could have is that the septic tank broke and was fixed the morning before we got there so it had a horrible smell the entire time.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clovis, NM
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed in the Mansion to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary as well as 50 years that they have been in America. The location was just awesome with amazing views of Yellowstone and the surrounding mountains. We could see the steam at Mammoth as well as the mighty Yellowstone river downhill from our cabin. Elk were grazing in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DonandCoral, Owner at Above the Rest Lodge, responded to this review

We have replaced mattresses and sofa sleeper since this review. There have been some comments about the towels; we line dry all the linens whenever possible so they will smell nice. Sometimes they are not as soft as if they were in a dryer. We do not claim to be the HIlton, but pride ourselves in offering a clean, and... More

Lake Worth, FL
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

I can't say enough about the lodge. We stayed in the Nest for one week. The view looking out the back porch is breathtaking. The location was perfect for our trip. It's close enough to Gardiner, MT for picking up supplies and gas (about 2 miles), yet far enough away to get away from others. It's about three miles from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

The website for this place does not do it justice. I stayed with my family (7 of us) in Shirley's Bells and this cabin was beautiful. The view from the porch is amazing! You can definitively see Mammouth and the opening gate to Yellowstone. I read some reviews were people were complaining about the hard water smell - they must... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Above the Rest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Rest Lodge

Address: 8 Above the Rest Lane, Gardiner, MT 59030
Location: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty lodging in Gardiner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above the Rest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Above the Rest Lodge to your Saves list