We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stanton Creek Lodge

Hotel website
HC 36 Box 2C, Essex, MT 59916
Stanton Creek Lodge
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
nonobut Pace, France
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our 9 night stay in an RV site back in february. Unfortunately on our way up our truck broke and we are still sitting in New Mexico waiting on repairs, the delay means we won't make it to the park this year. When we called we did find out gerry no longer owns the place and the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

As new owners, we kept the cancellation policy of the previous owner. This cancellation policy, which says you may cancel up to 30 days in advance, is common throughout the entire area in and surrounding Glacier National Park. The tourist season is very short (90 days), and many bookings are done months (or even a year) in advance. A week's... More 

Pace, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay there for 2 night, visiting Glacier National Park. It's located at around 40 min from West Glacier. Our Chalet had 2 king size beds, small bathroom, fridge, microwave and table. It's located along highway and railway. Trains with goods make noise until late but not during the night. Owner is very friendly. Good Hotel! Hotel gives normally free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

THANK YOU for staying! Our apologies for the weather causing a 3 1/2 hour power outage, which interrupted all of our power, including wifi. We enjoyed visiting with everyone who joined us in the lodge for drinks via lantern light! Thanks for being understanding! More 

Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

4 of us Stayed in one of these hot, cramped, crowded, out of the way, right on the highway, "parking lot sale style set-up", sheds and found them packed in too close for comfort. Some of these characters that get out to become one with the wild I'd just as soon made the leap and slept under a rock in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry for your experience. As new owners, we would love the opportunity to serve you in the future. We have expanded hours of the restaurant and bar, are open 7 days a week, and open year-round. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future! More 

Travelers are raving about these Essex hotels

Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

It was the middle of summer when we stayed at this property. The caretaker and the owner were extremely friendly and hospitable. We got a cabin with two twin beds in it. The cabin was nice and clean. The neighbors were great. The disappointment that I had was the internet was bad. I had to drive seven miles down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your experience. As new owners, we have purchased the fastest internet available to us, have expanded the hours of the restaurant and bar, purchased bug zappers to cover the acreage, and spray for weeds and bugs. We would love the opportunity to serve you in the future, and improve your experience! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

Clean comfortable cabins in a nice area. Gerry really knows the area well and gave us lots of ideas on what to do. Would stay again. Clean fluffy towels and a hot shower were welcome at the end of a busy day sight seeing. Nice to sit and have a cold beer and something to eat as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sweetgrass, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stanton Creek Lodge is conveniently located between East Glacier and West Glacier, with fairly reasonably access to Glacier National Park, outfitters (rafting, kayaking, fishing, etc), shopping, restaurants and cafes. The rooms are clean and come equipped with a microwave and mini-fridge, but there are some things to be aware of before booking your stay at Stanton. First of all, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review! More 

Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

These cabins are located in a great spot between East and West Glacier. We had the deluxe cabin that included a nice bathroom with shower. Chairs and tables outside along with a firepit to add to the ambiance.. Right on the highway so there is traffic noise during the day...but quiet at night. Then there are the TRAINS which are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Livingston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed there in a 5th wheel. We spoke to the owner when looking for a spot to camp and he was a very good salesman (we hadn't seen any pictures of the park). He advised us that it was a gem and the park,even though, a train ran across the street, was very quiet and peaceful. Wrong it sounded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mitch H, Manager at Stanton Creek Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your previous experience. As new owners, we look to improve the property and expand deeper into the woods. In comparison to our local competitors, the train is the furthest from our property. It is on the opposite side of the highway, and behind trees. However, we are aware it can still be heard. Thankfully... More 

Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had 2 cabins booked for the last week in July. On or our party was unable to go due to a accident. They had a no cancel policy. We paid for the rooms upfront. Thank you so much for allowing us to cancel the one room since our friend is unable to travel. We are so looking forward to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oak Harbor,OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This little cabin was neat as a pin. The two queen beds and small bathroom don't leave room for much more. Bring your own hair dryer, shampoo etc because this isn't the Hilton. The owner did provide a jar of instant coffee, mugs, sugar and creamer to make ourselves coffee in the morning since the restaurant on the grounds doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
7.9 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
11.7 mi away
Glacier Haven Inn
Glacier Haven Inn
#1 of 5 in Essex
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
15.4 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#7 of 10 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
15.6 mi away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay