We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dude Rancher Lodge

3.0 of 5 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
#30 of 48 hotels in Billings
171 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dude Rancher Lodge
  • Overview
  • Reviews (171)
  • Photos (49)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Dude Rancher Lodge to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    33
    35
    13
See reviews for
37
50
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We definitely felt we had arrived in the west. Seemed clean enough and the decor was a hoot. Some people would find the double room cramped, but it was fine for a single night. There is no continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Methwold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beyond disappointed. Has potential but needs major cleaning and decor freshened. The walls are a dingy white-ish brick yet paper thin, even with ear plugs in we listened to drunk foreigners next door shouting and banging on the doors in hall at 3:00 AM! The carpet is filthy, stains everywhere and even wet in areas! We kept shoes by bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed overnight on our journey back from Ontario to BC. Had read the reviews, seemed okay, but when we got there...not a great part of the city. Two doors, one didn't lock, the other the bolt worked. Beds sagged, carpet was moldy and absolutely filthy. Wanted an extra $1.00 on the rate and it had only been one week... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

In downtown Billings, this is a unique, ranch-style lodge/motel with an industrial flat weave branded carpet on the floor and open beam wooden ceiling on the second floor. Our room was not noticeably worn, although obviously not new. Suzanne, at the front desk, was very courteous and attentive. We especially appreciated that she took into consideration our special needs (chemical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to stay at the Dude Rancher for a short stay, a few hours. It was the cheapest of any of the hotels I could find. It has a weird set-up, as you can't really see the lobby from the road. Myself and another traveler were having a difficult time locating the lobby. Check-in was quick and easy, but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reserved two rooms for family coming to town. The lobby was nice with a western feel. The two rooms were connected and each was really large. That said, the rooms were obviously quite aged and not updated at all. It felt like walking into a run down 1960 movie set. The carpets were stained, the walls dingy, and the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Dude Rancher and apologize that our hotel did not completely meet your needs. We hope you will be encouraged to know that renovations are ongoing and slowly taking place. Since your stay, the hotel has seen some positive changes including new paint and updated... More

Rocky Mountains Usa
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The upper floor had been recently upgraded but maintain the western charm of the facility. It's a great location for downtown Billings, right in the heart of things. The staff was friendly and did a good job accommodating anything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our Western Charm. We are truly looking forward to sharing our new room designs with our guests because we feel you understand our drive to preserve much of our vintage culture that our Western hotel has to offer. Many people love the location of our hotel because we are centrally... More

Billings
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property was not what was reviewed. Doors didn't lock, restaurant was bad, beds were saggy, had to ask to get two new pillows. Right next door to 'public' washroom...would not stay there again and they wanted an extra $1.00 over the booking price because their rates had gone up in a week since our booking!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Dude Rancher Hotel and apologize that our hotel did not completely meet your needs. As the Manager of the hotel, I am sorry to hear you had an awful room. I have alerted all of my housekeepers to check all of the pillows and... More

Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff/reception was mixed - one of the day receptionists came across as rude/abrupt; maybe she was having a bad day, I don't know. The night receptionist more than made up for it with her friendly demeanor and general warmth. Very disappointing though was the room; the carpet was damp with huge mold spots around the bed. Clearly they'd been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

As the Manager of the hotel, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. I pride my hotel as having excellent customer service and sorry that you did not receive this. Having a bad day is not ever an excuse. I will address and re-train & address and do what is needed to correct the situation immediately with... More

Pasco, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst. night. ever. I cried. It was dirty and it smelled of stale cigarettes, even though this hotel is non-smoking. None of the drinking glasses were clean and there was a dirty coffee cup in the refrigerator. It was hot because the AC wasn't working properly, so we finally "unscrewed" the window closing brackets so we could get some airflow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate every guest who shares his or her perception of our hotel. When the criticisms are constructive, we are able to embrace them and to grow from them. As the Manager of the Hotel, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I am sorry your experience did not live up to our standards for cleanliness. We regret we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dude Rancher Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Location: United States > Montana > Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Billings with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Dude Rancher Lodge and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
26 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer