We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pitfirrane Hotel

Main Street, Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NJ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Pitfirrane Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Crossford B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014
Luciola L Fortaleza, CE
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    20
    20
    10
See reviews for
8
33
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
There are newer reviews for Pitfirrane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

All the staff were really, really nice with us! An example: as I left the room in a hurry, I left my favourite jacket there, and they called me after some hours telling this. They even sent it to me thourgh mail without charge anything. Good location and fair prices!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luciola L, Thank you very much indeed for the kind compliment you left for us following your recent stay at the Pitfirrane Hotel. We really appreciate hearing from our valued guests on their experiences, and were thrilled to read your review. Our staff work very hard at delivering a high standard of customer service, and always try to go... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
71 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

we have stayed here before and it was ok, the rate this time was good, £60 for 2 for B & B. we were on the second floor facing the car park. When we got in the room ,the smell was overpowering. i think it was some kind of freshener and was horrible. the room was ok but there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BOBHAM5114, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay with us. As a family business we appreciate hearing from our guests on their experiences and take all comments on board. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for the noise made by other guests at the hotel... More 

West Linton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Booked for an one night stay - reception staff were pleasant to deal with at check in. Room was clean, beds comfortable. Bath room had been renovated - Breakfast staff def on the ball, super breakfast - - only down side...No Earl Grey tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J5ELK, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything met with your satisfaction. As a family business we take on board all customer comments and love to hear from our valued customers. We hope that should you... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night Aug 23rd-Stayed on 1st floor in a draughty room from broken window-only 1 bedside cabinet.Flat horrible synthetic pillows & bedding. When complained next morning was told it's cuz they are being refurbished. This is a (Stock answer) when ppl complain-We paid £75 for this room same price as refurbished ones.The room we had was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mel P, Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us. As a family business we take guest satisfaction very seriously and appreciate hearing from our guests on their experiences. As you are aware a great deal of work is taking place in the hotel to refurbish our accommodation to a very high standard and the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night to attend a wedding at a neighbouring hotel . Great location on the Main Street .. Bedroom basic and dated but the lovely food and good service made up for this. Would stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura R, Thank you very much for leaving feedback for us following your recent stay. As a family business we appreciate hearing about our guests experiences and understand the importance of customer satisfaction, so take all comments on board. As you may be aware the hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment of our accommodation, and we have been... More 

Valletta, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was quite uncertain when I booked this hotel as I read quite a few negative reviews. However, once we arrived, we realized that this hotel was quite good for a one night's stay. Rooms were fairly sized, quiet, clean and recently refurbished. Ample parking. Breakfast was typically Scottish but a little too oily. All in all, I would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravellerM, Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We enjoy hearing from our guests on their experiences and use the feedback we receive to constantly strive provide the best possible service to our guests. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything met with... More 

Belper, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at this Hotel. We had difficulty getting in anywhere as there's so much going on in Scotland at the moment so when a room was available although we were told there was only executive rooms at £75 a night, which I ended up taking as being in a desperate need, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesleye11, Thank you very much for leaving us feedback following your stay with us recently. It is with great pleasure we learnt that you enjoyed your stay with us and are thrilled to receive your very kind comments on our staff members who served you in our bar and restaurant. As a family business we really understand the importance... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night last week. I was visiting friends who got married in Rosyth. The location is about 5/10 minutes from Rosyth and Dunfermline in Crossford and is on the Main Street in the village. The receptionist at the desk was friendly and check in and check out was really quick. I can only comment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PrincessKerie, Thank you very much for your recent review which you left on Trip Advisor for us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that things met with your approval. We have carried out substantial upgrades on the hotel over the last year... More 

Bathagte
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The rooms were tiny and disgusting with stains all over the walls the window ledge was full of dust and flies. The bathroom tiles were dirty close to the floor the grout between the floor tiles were disgusting. I am so glad that I was only there for a few hours due to being at a wedding. Breakfast was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martinj4183, Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. It is with disappointment we learn that things did not meet with your approval. Our only wish is that you had brought to our attention the issues you make mention to in your review, whilst you were still at the hotel, so that we might... More 

Travelers are raving about these Crossford hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Myself and two friends stayed at this hotel in June (we were attending the BSB Knockhill round) and were very disappointed with the state of the accomodation,the cleanliness and the very very old room furniture was a disgrace. I booked the place 8 months before the BSB on the strength of the illustrations on their website however what they do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emma A, Manager at Pitfirrane Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter F, Thank you very much for your recent feedback following your stay with us. As a family business we appreciate hearing about our customers experiences, and take customer satisfaction very seriously. We use the comments we receive from our guests to constantly strive to improve on our service. It is with disappointment that we learn that you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question