We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Sedalia

3402 West Broadway Blvd, US-50 and Winchester Drive, Sedalia, MO 65301 (Formerly Hotel State Fair)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Sedalia
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    3
    6
    4
    18
See reviews for
10
6
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The very worst. No window in room, no hot water. What looked like feces on the ceiling. Something yellow running down the wall. Box spring had what looked like blood down the side of it. Refused to give us a refund. Paid about $100.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Sedalia, responded to this review

Lora, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rate policies and the inconveniences you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. Our staff aims to provide... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is rude and charged us double the rate we were told it would be. They did not notify us about a rate change until AFTER we had left for work and stayed one night! And then held our belongings as ransom until we paid the extra fee! The room was NOT as advertised. There was no hot water,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Sedalia hotels

Fort Scott
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Retread motel that was adequate for a one night stay. Of course, pleased that we were able to have our dog with us on the trip at no extra motel cost. Plenty of restaurants nearby and not far from downtown or the state fairgrounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

A few days ago we stayed at this motel or one night because all other hotels were already booked for an event in town. We were here on business and did not anticipate a sell out everywhere. Not only was the service and stay horrible for $105 on a Thursday night, but after checkout we saw an extra $25 charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Sedalia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality... More 

Macon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

My husband and I just spent 6 nights at Motel 6 in Sedalia. My husband had stayed there many times when he had traveled to the State Fair each August, so thought it would be an alright place to stay. They had sold this past year to Motel 6. We spent 6 nights with no hot water (not even warm)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Sedalia, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

Don't waste your time with this hotel! My wife checked in and left. We returned a few hours later to find our room crawling with ants! They changed our room and only offered to lower the price $10. After I found ants in our luggage, I demanded a full refund and left FAST!!!! The douche at the front didn't even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wingate, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We were there for six nights. Two of the days we had no hot water!! We asked multiple times to talk to the manager and was told the manager was not there and the staff is "not allowed to call her". I asked for the manager to call me on my cell and did not receive a call. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Sedalia, responded to this review

Dear Becky, Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the water temperature during your stay, however Motel 6 is indeed earth-friendly contentious utilizing 80 percent recycled material flooring, low-flow... More 

Columbia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

If you are here for the state fair perfect. They have no breakfast, the beds are terrible, it use to be the Hotel state Fair and now a motel 6. there was mud all over the place. small parking lot. The money the chage is not worth it. across the street is an econolodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bob2020, Manager at Motel 6 Sedalia, responded to this review

Thanks More 

Nevada, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

they have finished remodeling and it is really a very cozy place now with reasonable rates. You really cant find a better place to stay in sedalia. The staff are friendly and efficient and its location to shopping is fantastic. It is quiet and clean. If you come to sedalia stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob2020, Manager at Motel 6 Sedalia, responded to this review

Thanks More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The personel at this hotel staff are the friendliest and most helpful staff that I had ever met in any hotel that I have stayed at. I have stayed in five star hotels that could not compare to this hotel. Karon is one of the best and friendliest, and helpful person I have ever had contacts with in any hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob2020, Manager at Motel 6 Sedalia, responded to this review

Thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedalia
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN State Fair Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sedalia Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia
16.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Knob Noster
15.5 mi away
Laci's Country Inn
Laci's Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Knob Noster
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay