We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Add Your Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    256
    76
    11
    7
See reviews for
286
239
34
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (893)
  • Mar-May only
    (220)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (303)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (221)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
See the most recent reviews
United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found the staff to be very professional, pleasant and helpful. The next door restaurant was handy and I found the location to be very central to the St Louis Ball Park, Village, there were many choices to dine from as well. The location was also close to the Arch, and other attractions including the Ice Hockey, Basketball venue along... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expected more class in our room for $200/night. No hot water and no pressure in shower. Fridge was not plugged in when we arrived. Windows were dirty taking away from the view of the Arch. Furniture was beat up and scratched. Bed was OK. Probably will not stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear Anthony G, I am sorry that you had a "less than perfect" experience at our downtown Hampton. We read your review to the staff and dissected your comments; we wanted to see where we failed. We have never had problems with hot water, but we did just add a new washing machine that pulls from a different heater. We... More 

No where, Midwest
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow....I was really surprised by the quality of the Hampton. We arrived early and even before I could ask if there was a place to stash the luggage they found me two of the rooms I had requested and were kind enough to call when the third one was ready. They arranged to find me rooms close together, near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear Midwest, Thank you so much for bringing your family to stay with us. You left us an amazing review, and for that, we thank you. We do appreciate all feedback and learn something from all comments. It certainly sounds like our property and staff exceeded your expectations. We feel that our breakfast is our top amenity and we three... More 

Keokuk, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great. Right down town. The service was so so. There weren't any towels at the pool and the halls in the hotel were cold not to mention we just left a trail of water behind us. We needed new linens during our stay. The staff was fairly prompt to bring new but they didn't take the soiled... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear Andria G, It was nice to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our amazing location in downtown St. Louis. I apologize that our property did not meet your expectations. We do replenish pool towels on a routine basis. Please, when you return, let the Front Desk know if the pool area is out... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited St Louis for a one night stay on our way across america. Nicely located Hotel and great view of the arch and Mississippi, Was greated on arrival (I think the gentleman's name was Andrew) very pleasant and offered us a free upgrade on the fifteenth floor with a stunning view of the arch, Very comfortable big room nice ammenities,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear lumpar, So wonderful to hear from one of our many international travelers. Thank you for staying with us and leaving your comments in TripAdvisor. All feedback is greatly appreciated. It sounds like we have a new "loyal member" of our Hampton family. Hurry back. We will have a smile, a nice clean room, and a great breakfast waiting for... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You usually can't go wrong with this brand and this property is no exception. A friendly staff, nice breakfast and a convenient location are included in your rate. I did notice that the tub/shower combo had trouble flipping all the way into shower mode as the faucet part was still putting out a light stream of water(room 1601). Other than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear sprhodes, Thank you for being loyal to the Hampton Brand! We appreciate you choosing our property; there are many choices in downtown St. Louis. I emailed our Operations Manager to inform him of your mention of the shower in 1601. We can handle it from here and I assure you that it will be fixed upon your return visit.... More 

Mt Zion IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great, friendly staff. Went out of way to help. Room had cobwebs hanging in corner that was seen right as we entered. Room otherwise clean, but cobweb gave appearance of bring dirty. Breakfast much appreciated but I would pay higher price for better selections and better organized layout of service area. Sensed conjested and did not flow well. Staff very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear T C, We appreciate you staying with us and being one of our repeat guests. It is people, like you, that keep us rockin! I am happy that our staff met/exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your feedback on guest room condition. We do deep clean our rooms on a constant rotation. I apologize that you saw the cobweb.... More 

Mt Zion IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall experience good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Check in fast and value pretty good. Room is showing age, and needs re-freshening. Needed a better deep clean and had a few large cob webs at ceiling height. Couch in terrible shape and look very unclean. Quiet overall and kids had fun in pool, even though heater not working right. Breakfast... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear T C, Thank you for trusting us to serve you, and your family, when in the St. Louis area. We appreciate any and all feedback. Thank you for your recommendation. I just wanted to clarify the parking charge comments, Drury Plaza does charge but Drury Convention does not. We have one of the lowest fees, in downtown, and happen... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I along with our two young children stayed here on the last night of our vacation. I begged my husband to skip it because we had stayed at 3 other places over the duration of our trip and I was quite frankly disgusted by all three of these other hotels. I get quite a bit of anxiety... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, It was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you for the kind review. I am so happy that you found us and that you enjoyed your stay. The Arch is definitely something to see! We have a wonderful housekeeping staff and they were delighted when we read your comments... More 

Spring, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel and the staff were excellent. There is not a lot of options at night for dining after the hotel restaurant stops serving food. Room was nice and clean. Conveniently located next to big venues for football / gambling. 10 mins or less from downtown

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie L, Thank you for staying with us when traveling into the area on business. I know you are probably very busy; thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our Front Desk is here to serve and has a bevy of information. Just let them know, the next time you are staying with us, that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

570 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (60)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (66)
Viewed
King Room (61)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
Single Queen Room (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question