We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 124 Saint Louis hotels

Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101 (Downtown)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
St Louis Museum Package
Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
68%
Ranked #56 of 124 hotels in Saint Louis
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
MeetUsInWashMO Washington, Missouri
  • Overview
  • Reviews (852)
  • Photos (96)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (165)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    334
    166
    70
    39
See reviews for
124
156
41
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (852)
  • Mar-May only
    (214)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (323)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (188)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
Washington, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Renaissance Grand was the perfect place for my bride and I to prepare for our wedding. We spent the day in separate suites and it was the perfect location to do so. They offered numerous perks to couples celebrating their wedding with them. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was amazing. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights for business. The hotel is near (walking distance) many attractions such as the Arch and Busch Stadium. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, as was my room. The gym and pool are TINY. The hotel food is decent, but again, there are many restaurants nearby. Worth a try if you get a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I checked in and was not recognized as being a Marriott elite member (Platinum). I was given a room in the older part of the building, but since I had read reviews, eventually I was moved from floor 10 to floor 17. The carpet had many stains and was very work. The hotel is going through some renovations and hopefully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
overland park, KS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading many of the reviews I expected an older hotel in critical need of an upgrade. What I found was something very different. The lesson here is that all floors and all rooms are typically not the same in many hotels. Two guests, on two different floors can have very different experiences. I was on the 18th floor and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for a couple days. Hotel is pretty old, old carpet, wallpaper peeling off the walls, old tube type TV that only showed part of the screen, bathroom smaller than most inexpensive Marriott motels. Am a Marriott premier member and wasn't told of any of my benefits here, I had to go ask each time I ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Executive O, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim: Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed in your guest room . However, I am pleased to inform you that we are in the final stages of planning for our upcoming hotel renovation. All of our guestrooms will be renovated and will be updated with brand new amenities.... More

Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If I could I would give this hotel 3 1/2 stars. The good: friendly staff, excellent location and very good concierge lounge. The bad: as others have noted, the rooms are very outdated. No flat screen tv? Come on! It looks like these rooms were decorated in about 1989. Management has responded that they are planning a renovation but this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
V S, Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your wonderful comments about the friendliness of our staff and the concierge lounge!!! We agree, our room renovation is long overdue and look forward to the completion and unveiling of our new guestrooms! If your travels bring you back to the St. Louis area, we hope that you provide us another opportunity to serve you again!!! Sincerely,... More

Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My 2 sisters and I stayed here for a convention. The best thing about the hotel was that the convention center is just across the street. The worst thing about the hotel was the layout. We had many friends staying there, and some of their rooms were a meandering half mile walk from the elevator. Our room was tiny. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
V S, Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay at the Renaissance St. Louis Grand. I am pleased that our housekeeper, Lynn, provided you with great service. However, I am disappointed that you were inconvenienced by your room location and encountered other service failures. If your schedule permits, I would like to speak with you further to gain additional... More

Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is in need of an overhaul. The decor and rooms are grossly outdated. While the location of this hotel is ideal for both business and personal travelers, it is desperately in need of a face lift. The only other issue we had was with the service staff. One evening our room was never made up and we needed towels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Executive O, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed in your guest room . However, I am pleased to inform you that we are in the final stages of planning for our upcoming hotel renovation. All of our guestrooms will be renovated and will be updated with brand new amenities.... More

Halstead, Kansas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this location because it was convenient to attend a Rams game, and a Cardinals game. The staff was very friendly, from the valet parking to the concierge desk. The rooms were nice, with lots of room. We were assigned a handicapped room with a hand held shower, which is my only complaint. (we didn't ask for the handicapped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here this past weekend for a wedding. I can't say much about other accommodations in St. Louis as this was only my second time there. However, I would recommend that you avoid this hotel. This "Grand" Renaissance seems like it has not been touched since the 80s, with the exception of the lobby and the bathrooms. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Executive O, Front Office Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review. You were correct to assume that your bedding, and the services we provided, during this joyous occassion should have been above standards for you and your family. Please accept our sincere apologies for the negative experience you encoutered while in our Home. I welcome the opportuniy to speak wih you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel

Address: 800 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Marriott, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Louis Grand And Suites
Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel Saint Louis
Renaissance Saint Louis
Saint Louis Renaissance

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Saint Louis with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
918

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance St. Louis Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer