We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
102 South 3rd Street, 3rd & Felix Street, Saint Joseph, MO 64501
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
heritage2013 Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    21
    15
    9
See reviews for
36
22
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff and beautiful lobby. Very classic. Rooms are comfortable but when going to the pool discovered it had garbage laying around it (not alot but enough to destroy the desire to swim there). It was convenient (relatively speaking) to the Pony Express museum and Jesse James House which we enjoy visiting. Would likely consider another location the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were welcomed by an efficient, friendly staff lady. I was concerned about location, as we travel with our Jack Russell. But we were fine! The parking made me nervous as there was no camera protection and our car was loaded with things from my recently departed Mom's house. However, it was fine! Evidently the police station is right down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives: Plenty of free parking. The nicest staff ever. Right downtown. Negatives: Afraid to leave my car in the free parking. Not a great neighborhood. Carpet was awesome and fresh in the 90's. Holes in the carpet. The door across the hall looked like the SWAT team had been there (I posted a pic). We had to switch rooms because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is great for anything going on downtown. But, there are a LOT of issues. Not saying I wouldn't stay there again, probably will given the choices in Small Joe. But do NOT expect more than a 2.5 to 3 star experience. Here's the list... It's easy to get to and from... if you pay close attention. Streets change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear Maavalous1, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the mattress, housekeeping and the bar. We will address these concerns. I assure you that the feedback of... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We were here for a quick one night stay and discovered many problems during that time period. Although location is one of the best parts of this hotel, it was very confusing to reach and especially hard to park. Speaking of parking, this hotel needs to get some sort of private parking lot. There was a circus at the arena... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear Drew H, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our location commendable and lobby nice. However, we are very sorry you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay due to the smell of smoke during your stay. Please know that this is not reflective of the high standards we... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

The staff is the nicest you can imagine. They seem understaffed which is ashame. They really need to have a company come in and clean every inch of the place and pull the mold out from around the showers instead of caulk over it. Everyone seems to be over extended but working hard to get Everything done. The carpet in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear neatcmom, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We always strive to provide great service and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests and we appreciate your positive comments on our staff. Despite of this, it is regrettable that the hotel's facilities and your dining experience fell below your expectations. Your feedback will be... More 

Chapman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I loved this hotel! The room was clean and spacious, the bed comfy and the overall atmosphere felt like I was pampering myself by choosing this hotel. The front desk staff was very nice and accommodating. The lobby was very attractive, and I wish I had had time to eat in their restaurant. I will always stay there when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eldon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Fine place to stay nice restaurant and lounge really cool tropical indoor pool setting Comfy beds ,clean, really super pillows. Set in the downtown area across the street from a civic events center. Very dead area on the weekend The parking lot issues others have mentioned, there is a parking lot behind the hotel with a nice large rear reception

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mokena, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We went to visit family for thanksgiving and brought our 6 year old granddaughter and she had a great time in the pool area daily.Was great that i could have my family drop by for a visit at the pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful if you ask however the cleaning people were terrible our room was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chuck D, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your constructive critique. I am some what embarrassed by the lack of attention by the housekeeping staff. We do reduce our staff during holiday periods to enable as many of our employees as possible to be with their families. I am disappointed in them by not checking with you personally regarding the cleaning of your... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Very conveniently located. The rooms are a bit dated; but very clean and comfortable. The only real issue we had was the restaurant. Apparently there has been a change of ownership, and there are a few kinks they still need to work out. They are currently without a liquor license, so if you would like a drink with your meal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chuck D, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We recently took repossession of the Food & Beverage facilities of the hotel. We did still have a number of kinks to work out as comes with opening any new business. We are currently operating with a limited menu, but we due have a new concept that is being presented for approval in the next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question