We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
102 South 3rd Street, 3rd & Felix Street, Saint Joseph, MO 64501
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
sailgaiamar Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
37
23
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is nicely remodeled and updated. While reading in bed I was startled by a bug on my neck, which the front desk clerk recognized as a "water bug." They apologized and gave us free breakfast, said the room would be sprayed the next day. We used the conveniently located business center, had a drink in the bar, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is showing its age. Decor is dated and somewhat worn. The "Non Smoking" rooms have cigarette smoke odors wafting in from somewhere. The room maid service was timely but bedding wasn't properly smoothed. The shower curtain rod was loose but the curtain itself worked fine. Food service in the coffee shop was good but again the decor, furnishings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Ozark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice hotel and we have stayed here twice over two weeks while working in St. Joe. The hotel is clean and has been well maintained, with a friendly staff. There is a need for some updates for technology to work properly. We ran is to some issues with the local TV stations not working in our upper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chuck D, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Glad that most of your stay was pleasant. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the sporadic TV reception. I believe that you may have left a comment or notification with the front desk person and we learned that the cable splitter in your guest room was on the verge of going bad... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly staff and beautiful lobby. Very classic. Rooms are comfortable but when going to the pool discovered it had garbage laying around it (not alot but enough to destroy the desire to swim there). It was convenient (relatively speaking) to the Pony Express museum and Jesse James House which we enjoy visiting. Would likely consider another location the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chuck D, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased that you liked our lobby area, but I am distraught that my public area attendant was not prompt enough in performing her duties of ensuring the pool area is immaculate at all times. It will be discussed with her and the value and importance of... More 

Greenville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were welcomed by an efficient, friendly staff lady. I was concerned about location, as we travel with our Jack Russell. But we were fine! The parking made me nervous as there was no camera protection and our car was loaded with things from my recently departed Mom's house. However, it was fine! Evidently the police station is right down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear fisher3960, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with excellent service you received from the staff, comfortable rooms and location of the hotel. I am sorry that there's an unpleasant smelt of smoke... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Positives: Plenty of free parking. The nicest staff ever. Right downtown. Negatives: Afraid to leave my car in the free parking. Not a great neighborhood. Carpet was awesome and fresh in the 90's. Holes in the carpet. The door across the hall looked like the SWAT team had been there (I posted a pic). We had to switch rooms because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear Helix88, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the parking area, carpet and hallway condition. We will address these concerns. I assure you that the feedback of our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Saint Joseph hotels

Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

The location is great for anything going on downtown. But, there are a LOT of issues. Not saying I wouldn't stay there again, probably will given the choices in Small Joe. But do NOT expect more than a 2.5 to 3 star experience. Here's the list... It's easy to get to and from... if you pay close attention. Streets change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear Maavalous1, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the mattress, housekeeping and the bar. We will address these concerns. I assure you that the feedback of... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We were here for a quick one night stay and discovered many problems during that time period. Although location is one of the best parts of this hotel, it was very confusing to reach and especially hard to park. Speaking of parking, this hotel needs to get some sort of private parking lot. There was a circus at the arena... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear Drew H, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our location commendable and lobby nice. However, we are very sorry you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay due to the smell of smoke during your stay. Please know that this is not reflective of the high standards we... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

The staff is the nicest you can imagine. They seem understaffed which is ashame. They really need to have a company come in and clean every inch of the place and pull the mold out from around the showers instead of caulk over it. Everyone seems to be over extended but working hard to get Everything done. The carpet in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Joseph - Riverfront / Hist. Dis, responded to this review

Dear neatcmom, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We always strive to provide great service and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests and we appreciate your positive comments on our staff. Despite of this, it is regrettable that the hotel's facilities and your dining experience fell below your expectations. Your feedback will be... More 

Chapman
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I loved this hotel! The room was clean and spacious, the bed comfy and the overall atmosphere felt like I was pampering myself by choosing this hotel. The front desk staff was very nice and accommodating. The lobby was very attractive, and I wish I had had time to eat in their restaurant. I will always stay there when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay