We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ferry Landing Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
1169 Purangi Rd, Ferry Landing, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ferry Landing
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ferry Landing Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    137
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

My wife and I had decided to spend some quality time together on a short break up in the Coromandel. Our stay at Ferry Landing Lodge was the surprise find of the trip. You could not ask for a more peaceful, relaxing and informative stay if you tried. Our hosts Pam and Rob are the perfect example of the good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking time out to send feedback. We are glad that we were able to contribute to happy memories of the Coromandel. It is always a pleasure to meet and share our lovely location with enthusiastic travellers. Meeting folks like you make hosting a bed and breakfast extra special. Best wishes. More 

Leeds, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Thanks Pam and Rob for being such genial hosts. It is 8 years since our last visit but you were just as welcoming and informative as before. We enjoyed your conversation, along with the other guests, and your local knowledge made sure we made the most of our stay on the Coromandel. Our stay was at the beginning of our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and best wishes. It was truly a privilege to host you both again, 8 years after the last time. Having guests like yourselves, has been such a pleasure and also provided us with so many happy memories. Travellers on their 2nd & 3rd trips to NZ (from the UK) who chose to... More 

Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Ferry Landing Lodge is a tranquil spot for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. We stayed two nights in the Harbour View Suite - a very comfortable room and a great place to watch the ferry criss-crossing between peaceful Ferry Landing and the attractive town of Whitianga. Pam and Rob are excellent hosts who took very good care of us; we also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which we appreciate so much. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful area we live in. We hope the rest of your NZ travels went according to plan and wish you a safe trip back home. More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

We spent our last three nights, not counting a night in the busy city of Auckland, of a five week NZ adventure with Pam and Rob. Wonderful hosts, extensive information which was tailored to our needs and we also enjoyed the stimulating conversations. The music session was also appreciated! So sorry that in the years to come Ferry Landing will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for that lovely feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Rob was happy to provide his guitar so you could play! He knows that 'itch' well and after 5 months in UK last year, that was what he missed most about home!!!! You musicians are easy to please as long as there is an... More 

arlington virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

My husband, 18-year-old daughter and I stayed in the two-bedroom Bougainvillea room. The place was clean and comfortable, but we especially enjoyed being outside in the hammock taking in the gorgeous views or hiking around the grounds. Rob took us on one of his walks and shared his extensive knowledge of the area's history and plant life. Pam made a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your lovely feedback. So glad you were able to enjoy the guava lemon jam whilst still in NZ. It was our pleasure to meet you all and show you the delights of the beautiful Coromandel region. Hope you had a safe trip back home and have wonderful memories to share with family and friends. Best wishes. More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We were delighted to have found Ferry Landing as our base for our stay on Coromedel. A superb setting with great views and handy for Whitianga. Pam and Rob were friendly interesting and enthusiastic and provided a wealth of information. We particularly enjoyed Rob's walk, sharing his knowledge of the area with us and his tips for our onward journey.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you all and be able to share, for a short time at least, this lovely area & interesting history. So glad you enjoyed the 'tour'. Rob's amazing memory for facts and his passion for the place he grew up in, as a small boy, never diminishes. Sharing that joy plus helping tourists 'see' as... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We found our stay here poor value for money, ungenerous and a slightly odd experience. Breakfast of a little cereal and toast with no further choices was not adequate. We were given no peace at breakfast and felt talked at. The bedroom was out of date and like a dark and dingy cave. The accommodation was not up to description... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Jenny, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We were very surprised to read your comments as your disappointment was certainly not visible. Its a shame you didn't say something at the time as we could have addressed the issues you raise which are addressed below. 1) Poor Value; we provide excellent value. 150+ reviews & 5 stars are... More 

Poissy, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

very quiet, alongside the water, charming welcome from the owners, great breakfast, large appartment for 5 (sunflower), very convenient to go quickly for dinner in whitianga, available kayak and close to the beaches - we highly recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, kind words and for recommending us. It was lovely to meet you all and a pleasure to share our little corner of Coromandel with you. Best wishes for 2015 and your trip around New Zealand. More 

Makassar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

A fab trip to the Coromandel where Ferry Landing Lodge was the perfect base and Pam and Rob fantastic hosts. They were excellent looking after the littlest member of our crew (18 months) and we loved the breakfast spread and informative walk with Rob, as well as all the tips and maps to the local area. Great hosts and place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely words. We really enjoyed meeting you all and your little Henry 'captured' the hearts of all of us! Such a delightful little boy who is amazing for his age. Glad to provide the informative walk, tips and maps and glad the 'healthy' breakfast was enjoyed. Thank you for 'highly recommending' us. Happy New Year... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We were warmly welcomed by Pam and Rob who made us feel very much at home. We stayed in Sunflower Cottage, being part of the main house, which was very spacious for our family of four adults. Pam and Rob are very genial hosts around the breakfast table with a wealth of knowledge and suggestions for places to visit. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. Its always been such a pleasure to meet travellers enjoying the beautiful Coromandel countryside so its been easy to share our little 'corner of paradise' with mainly overseas guests. New Zealanders have always known of the 'specialness' of the Coromandel Peninsula and in the last 13 years we have seen it grow as a tourist... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferry Landing
0.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#8 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#2 of 21 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities