We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whippoorwill Lake Family Camping

570 County Route 520, Marble Hill, MO 63764
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marble Hill
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Whippoorwill Lake Family Camping
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Cabin on the lake .....July 1st 2015 We made our first mistake by not checking online reviews. Our first impression: Two exterior sides are covered only with black tar paper. There is only one wall A/C unit, which does not blow cold air across the cabin to the down stairs sleeping area or remotely close to the two double mattress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dwp1976, Manager at Whippoorwill Lake Family Camping, responded to this review

Our Lake Cottage is not complete on the remodel project because we have guests throughout the summer and it is difficult work around guests. However the main basics like nice beds, new fridge, new microwave and new Large AC are there. Most of our guests understand to make the best of their stay by focusing on the fun outside of... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We had a bad experience. The staff was extremely rude, over priced - we were charged per person & per car. Our site was on a slant which made it very hard to set up a tent, a grill, sleep & even just to walk without stumbling. The list of rules were outrageous. It was very obvious they catered to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dwp1976, Manager at Whippoorwill Lake Family Camping, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as we would like for it to be. Our Prices are per Tent which includes 2 adults and your Children or Grandchildren age 16 and under. Extra Guests are extra fees charged per night. Our Tent spots are chosen by guests so while looking for a tent spot we suggest finding the... More 

St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We just finished an extended stay at Whippoorwill and were disappointed from start to finish. Within minutes of arriving at the "family oriented" campground we were met with inexplicable rudeness from the camp staff. We tried giving them the benefit of the doubt since they'd just wrapped up 4th of July weekend, which is likely a stressful time. But they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dwp1976, Manager at Whippoorwill Lake Family Camping, responded to this review

Sorry for your not so perfect stay. I also apologize if our office staff was not friendly as needed to be. We have made some changes and we now have new office help. Our rules are for the benefit of most, and the 5 dollars deposit is a registration deposit that all guests have, and they get the funds back... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at this campground over Memorial Day Weekend and it was the worst campground we had ever stayed at. We were put in the H section which is down below lake. The grass was uncut and tall. The sites were so unlevel after getting the camper level he had to build steps to reach the first step into our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dwp1976, Manager at Whippoorwill Lake Family Camping, responded to this review

Sorry for your not so perfect stay our our campground. Normally we keep the grass short every week during the summer, especially on a major holiday. Hard to imagine that we have missed an area, unless our mower at that time broke and that could have been possible, sorry for that. Ticks are an issue especially around trees, but the... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The website and the flyers do not mention that the entire campground has very rough dirt roads with some pretty big potholes. Nor do they mention that you WILL need 4 wheel drive to pull your camper up the hills thru the grounds. Thought that was important info that would have caused us to pick a different place to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
dwp1976, Manager at Whippoorwill Lake Family Camping, responded to this review

Sorry for not so perfect stay. Wish we had pavement for our roads, but we are in the country and gravel is what we have. After heavy rains our roads get washed out and we buy gravel to fill them as much as we can. We do our best to keep the grass cut every week throughout the summer, but... More 

Festus, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great local lake. Small and personable. Plenty of parking areas for campers on both sides of the lake. More secluded on the far side of the lake across from the beach. Year around residents are very friendly and helpful. Golf carts and paddle boats for rent. Staff nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Advance, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family and I absolutely loved the 5 days/4 nights we stayed at Whippoorwill Lake. The folks who run the place are friendly and helpful. The facilities are kept clean and appealing. If you are looking for frills, luxury, or to be catered to, you should stay in a high dollar hotel or a fancy resort where a vastly inferior... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This place is gorgeous! We have a large group go each year in October. Some of us stay in cabins, some in RVs, some in tents... All of us are taken care of and the accomodations are super clean. Each year, the owner takes us on a tractor hay ride through the woods. All of the kids dress up in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was by far the worst campground we have ever been to in semo. We went there as a last resort due to all the flooding this year. The owner is foreign, and will charge you for everything. If you have a dog its $5 per day, if you have any guests its $5 per 24 hours even if is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities