We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
550 East 105th St, Kansas City, MO 64131
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Stayed here a little over a week to come into town for the International House of Prayer. Was a little skeptical to stay from some reviews online but was happy I did. The rooms have recently been remodeled so they are very nice and comfortable. The rooms come with a kitchen which was very helpful to save money feeding my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sfreeman9674
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

I had to be there for three months. I had ants in my room, and had to wait several weeks for an exterminator who did a lousy job. I ended up having ants again in I week. since I had to wait one month for this service. I just bought my own bug spray. which stinks since I do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank exteacher2015
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

There are not any amenities in this hotel. There is not any charm, character, coziness, etc. a security guard stands at the front door and patrols around the building. We were told we would have to come back after 3 pm to check in and there was no offer to hold our bags until we returned. We only chose this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bnosnews
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are reviewing the importance of strong communication and customer service skills as well as reviewing our billing procedures. I really appreciate you... More 

Albemarle, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

we stared on 3rd floor carpet in hall was very dirty smelled like piss the room was full of ants air went out if we could we would of gone next door due to heat i guess a lot doors were open i got free show i did not want i think hookers take there tricks there. i usley stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The room conditions you described are truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with my maintenance department about the unit and the carpets. We work closely with our outside vendor and... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We chose this hotel because the location was perfect for our needs. This was the first time I have ever stayed at an extended stay type property where you had to ask the front desk for a coffee pot , dishes, pots & pans etc. Also very odd was there was an ironing board in the room but no iron,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TexTraveler21
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described regarding the door latch, trash can, and odor is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. To prevent this from happening again, I am meeting with my team to go over the importance of maintenance policies as well... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We arrived around 2 and we're told we could not check in even if our rooms were done. When we came back at three, one of our rooms were apparently not ready. Then around 4, two men robbed the front desk! I was only aware of the situation when I heard people screaming to call the police. My brother called... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana J
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I sincerely apologize for the situation you experienced during your stay. Please know that guest safety is our first priority, and I will be taking actions to ensure you experience is not repeated. Regarding check-in, I will be retraining our staff to ensure rooms are cleaned and inspected on time to... More 

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. The room was filthy when we checked in- the whole place smelled, dirty toilet, dirty shower, Band-Aid wrappers in drawers, and the place had clearly not been vacuumed since the previous guests had left. When we showed up to the hotel at 2:00pm, we were very rudely told that we couldn't check... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Blake B
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I will be meeting with our staff to review proper customer service etiquette as well as housekeeping policies to ensure that experiences such as yours... More 

Westbrook, Maine
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Arrived at 2:00 and went to check in - am told curtly that check-in is at 3:00. I say no problem - we will wait in those chairs over there. An employee - I believe maybe an asst manager walks by me twice and stops to check if I have been helped. I tell her my tale of woe and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arlene L
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

Hi Arlene, I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that you were unhappy with your room. We do our best to accommodate all our guest needs; unfortunately we failed that mission. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with the staff about the issues... More 

Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
434 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

This was my first stay at an Extended Stay hotel. This location is very convenient to a lot of areas including Overland Park, Grandview & Leawood but this particular neighborhood is run down. This facility has interior room entrances and is three story with an elevator. The entry/check-in area looks decent but the rooms and hallways are worn. My particular... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary G
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that our hotel’s appearance was not up to standard. In response to your feedback, I am pleased to let you know that we will be receiving renovations in the upcoming months to address these mentioned issues. I really appreciate you bringing... More 

Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Well, I did not do enough research on what to expect at this type of facility. No free hot breakfast; just grab and go dry snacks, bananas, and grain-based bars. The lobby had not restroom if you were coming down from your room and needed a last minute pit stop. We had a mini-kitchen, but no pots, coffee pot or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverly B
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - South, responded to this review

Hi Beverly, I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory. I discussed your comments with the team, and I do apologize that both the dishes and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City South
Courtyard Kansas City South
#51 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
7.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#19 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
4.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Overland Park
Drury Inn & Suites Overland Park
#1 of 40 in Overland Park
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
4.4 mi away
435 Overland Park Place
435 Overland Park Place
#26 of 40 in Overland Park
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay