We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Phillips

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phillips
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Phillips
Add Photo Write a Review

624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    279
    192
    83
    37
    33
See reviews for
72
213
24
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (624)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (183)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (151)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Phillips
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in the midst of a downpour. The bellmen greeted us immediately,and helped us unload and get out of the rain. The front desk staff greeted us warmly and made us feel welcome. I was instantly fascinated with the art deco decor & snapped a few pictures as the bellman shared some of the hotel's history. Each room I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and our historic property. Please return to stay with us again, and feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do for you. More 

New Orleans
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Though it is marketed as a 4-star hotel, this is not a 4-star hotel. I'd say it is closer to a 3-star. We had difficulty with the reception desk getting the number of beds we needed and had to speak with a manager after a long day on the road. The accommodations were clean, but the walls are very thin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that you encountered these issues. We have taken pride to maintain the historical integrity of our building, while updating and enhancing its features to enhance our guests' stay. Your experience has been shared with the appropriate departments, and please do not hesitate to contact me... More 

Warsaw, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is the highlight of this historic hotel. Specifically the girls at the front desk were wonderful. They were helpful, polite, and went out of their way to make our 6 year old daughter feel welcome. It was truly appreciated. The rooms were small, but fairly clean and well equipped. I am very picky about rooms and we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greendale, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 7 nights while in town for business at Hotel Phillips. AAA discount brought cost in line with other hotels. Room, staff, daily cleaning, and all around hotel experience was EXCELLENT!! I will definitely use Hotel Phillips for my next trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review, and please come back and stay with us again! More 

Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on the 17th floor in a corner room When we arrived to our room it was no bigger than the bed. We were promised a queen sized bed and it had to have been a full. We weren't that bummed about the size of the room (we were going out anyway) but since it was advertised as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time out to share your stay and concerns with us. It is very important that we read and address your feedback, to prevent these issues in the future. Your room concerns have been addressed with the appropriate departments, and they are being tended to. Please contact me directly if there is anything else I... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our group met here for a 3 day business meeting. The guest rooms and meeting rooms were great and all staff provided VERY good service. My room on the 8th floor with 2 double beds was nice and large, appearing to have been 2 smaller rooms expanded into 1. The lobby is beautiful and checkin on a Monday evening was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am happy to hear that you and your colleagues were pleased with the services you received during your meetings. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience further! More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

A very nice stay here, at a hotel with history, charm and character. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was clean and well equipped. The bed was comfortable. They have some sort of wine and nibbles at 5pm (although I didn't partake so cannot comment on quality) and the Mezzanine is a lovely place to quietly relax.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our Wine and Cheese reception is a great way to relax and mingle during your stay! I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service as well, I certainly hope you enjoyed the city. Please... More 

Numurkah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

The hotel room was filthy with mould on the roof, and dust everywhere in the room. The level of cleanliness was horrible. However, the service was fantastic. When you check into the hotel it appears very clean, just make sure to inspect the room before taking the key.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We have forwarded your concerns to the appropriate departments, and they are being addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your stay further. More 

Clarendon Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I went to Kansas City for the first time and had no idea where to go or what to do. The location of this hotel was in the middle of all the action and their staff had plenty of suggestions of how to spend my free time. The restaurant in the hotel had amazing food and drinks as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very proud of our restaurant and bar, and glad you enjoyed it as well. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the many things Kansas City has to offer! We hope you return to stay with us again, as I am sure... More 

Level Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The Phillips is an old hotel and it has a lot of charm. However, some of it is just old. My room was very small and looked very tired. There were pieces of the wall covering in the bathroom that were missing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. I would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer G, Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our property. The views from our top floors are some of the best in town! Your housekeeping notes have been addressed, and thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

265 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#23 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#49 of 110 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay