We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
2975 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown\/Union Hill
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a good hotel in a good location. But most of the suites are accessible only by stairs. If you don't like the idea of lugging your suitcases up or down stairs, you might want to consider another hotel, or ask for an accessible room.

Helpful?
Thank Cello12345
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! As you mention, our hotel is villa style. Many guests like this convenient set up from a parking and privacy standpoint but yes there are stairs. We are happy to assist with luggage. Glad you liked the hotel and location and hope you will visit again soon! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel while a Marriott property, it does not live up to the standards I have come to expect from the franchise. The construction quality is average at best and noise suppression is non-existent. It sounded as if a herd of elephants lived above me and I have been in two different rooms in this facility. The units are stacked... More 

Helpful?
Thank FedVetAPHIS
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you experienced problems during your recent visit. If you would like to contact me I would welcome the opportunity to discuss and apologize verbally. (816) 561-3000. For future reference we are glad to provide luggage assistance. Also, we do provide a shuttle service within a 4 mile radius of... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I meet here with two of my friends twice a year. We go shopping and enjoy all that Kansas City has to offer. The rooms are clean and nicely laid out. We love the kitchen area. After a long day out and about, we like to come "home" to a crock pot dinner. There is breakfast offered. The kitchen even... More 

Helpful?
Thank KoalaGal
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your experience! We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and hope that you will come back next year. Our evening Residence Inn Mix is very popular and allows a great gathering place to enjoy complimentary food and beverage among friends and maybe even meet some new ones! Our... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great layout. Boulevard Brewing close by. Choose from JC's, Gates, or Arthur Bryant's for great BBQ. Convenient to Power and Light District. One person working at check-in seemed overwhelmed. Morning staff was much better. Breakfast was ready early.

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious suite and our breakfast. Come back and see us again soon! Yours in hospitality More 

Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff. Easy check in. Nice clean room. Would stay again. The hotel is 5 to 10 minutes from downtown. Parking is in the hotel and free. Hotel is also near Halmark and Union Station. Our room had a fully stocked kitchen.

Helpful?
Thank Cardfan2k
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: We are so very glad that you enjoyed being our guest so much and we look forward to that return visit! More 

Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

I travel a lot for work and I stayed here last week. As I was checking in after the dinner hour the front desk clerk grilled me on what I was I was doing there in KC. After answering all her questions she ended up giving me a crappy room. The tv was not functional and when I called down... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikeandstephtravel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

The beds were very comfortable and the room stayed warm. It was freezing outside so we decided to crank the heat up and it worked quick. Free breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly. Location: I felt that there were plenty of options to choose from. It is off main street, so it is a quick drive down up to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam H
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

Hello, Sam and thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you would come back and look forward to having you back! Very best wishes for a happy Holiday season. More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

The room was OK - but it was old and definitely needed to be updated. It was warn out!! The breakfast was OK on day 1 - buy Day 2 was a disaster. Watery juice, mold on bagels, eggs were a block of yellow,...disappointing considering the $300/night premium that we paid due to Football game. I won't be back --... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

I am a Marriot Platinum member and travel frequently for work. On average I stay in hotels about 85 nights a year and I try to stay with the Marriott brand. Unfortunately for this trip, I could not secure a government rate at the downtown Marriott so this was the closest I could get and I usually love the Residence... More 

Helpful?
Thank mbateacher
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We regret that you had some problems during your visit with us but are very glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and evening Residence Inn Mix as well as our complimentary shuttle. Thank you for choosing Residence Inn and we apologize that your experience was not more positive. More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

This is a pleasant place in a very convenient location. The rooms are big and well appointed. Staff was friendly. My one big complaint concerns the channel playing on the TV in the breakfast room. I found it offensive. I would suggest tuning in to something neutral like the Weather Channel or ESPN, and not forcing politics on guests trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pjcurran75
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious, well-appointed suites and our staff service and breakfast. We regret that you did not care for the politics you had to endure at breakfast. We are supposed to have our tv off during breakfast unless a guest turns it on or requests it on.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
1.9 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#37 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#55 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay