We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Liberty

2.5 of 5 8230 North Church Road, Kansas City, MO 64158
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
22
7
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. The rooms are very clean, the staff go above and beyond in their helpfulness, the breakfast is good , and the stores and restaurants around the hotel are plentiful. I will certainly stay there again when passing through for their own business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night, while visiting William Jewel and Liberty. We had a 3 generation party, including myself, spouse, daughter and grandson. We booked a two-Queen room on the 2nd floor. it was a tight squeeze with the crib. The microwave was on the small size, but the refrig was typical hotel room size. The room was quiet and clean. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Bed was o k. Bathroom was very small. Sink was on wall of hallway as u entered room. Staff was friendly and breakfast was typical o k. Will return there if in area. As usual had to ask for closed captions on t v in breakfast room. For some reason all Holiday Inns have the t v on in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is in need of some updating - I've stayed at other Holiday Inn Expresses that have definitely raised the bar. There are others to choose from in the Kansas City area, and although this is the closest when visiting the college in Liberty, we choose to stay elsewhere. The furniture, carpeting, and beds all are worn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Mary P, Thank you for posting a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the condition of the property and room amenities. Your input will be shared with our management team... More 

Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We called and advised the hotel that we would have a late check in and they were very accommodating. When we arrived; however, the front desk agent (although very friendly and polite) could not find the reservation. I joined my husband inside to see what was going on. It was a simple misunderstanding, he said his first name was Bill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear SummerL26, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the room cleanliness, comfortable bedding, bathroom amenities and wide selection of breakfast items. I appreciate your kind comments about the friendly and efficient staff.... More 

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

HI Express hotels were one of two of our preferred hotel chains when we plan vacations, so we booked a reservation for this hotel for the first night of our vacation. Big mistake. There was something wrong with the air quality that we didn't realize until I woke up with a terrible coughing fit after two hours of sleep. That... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Rose H, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again... More 

Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When we first checked in, we were placed in a room that was offset from the hallway by a door and right next to the elevator. I didn't feel comfortable being secluded so I asked to switch. The front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our next room was very nice and spacious. The king rooms (216 and 316)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renee H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Jared- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for expressing your needs to the staff and allowing us to accommodate. We are pleased that our hotel exceeded your expectations and we look forward to hosting you again! Thank you Darryl B. More 

Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at 3 hotels on our family vacation & this one was by far the worst! It's worse than the hotel we stayed at on our last family vacation & that's hard to beat. Bad 1. NOT enough parking spots for guest 2. Pool is VERY small....26 capacity. There were 2 families and it was crowded (less than 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Danielle S, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Traveled overnight to Kansas City. Arrived earlier than check in but they worked with us to let us in at the earliest option! We stayed in a two bed with sofa & whirlpool tub! The family took advantage of the indoor pool, which was saltwater not chlorine (easier on sensitive skin). With it's location near 35 it made traveling into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renee H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Alicia L, Thank you for taking your valuable time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I'm very pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay and it added to your positive IHG experience. If you find yourself in the Kansas City area again I hope that we will be your first choice.... More 

Poplar grove
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed here several times if I am in town for business on the north side of the city. They do seem to book up so a last minute reservation is not suggested considering the location during the summer. There is a lot of shopping and good dinning around this hotel so there is no need to waste time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renee H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Walleyehunter1, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again next time you are in KC! Thanks again, Darryl B. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liberty

Address: 8230 North Church Road, Kansas City, MO 64158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Liberty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liberty Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

37 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay