We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Liberty

Hotel website
Hotel deals
8230 North Church Road, Kansas City, MO 64158
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
23
8
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, Staff was very helpful. When I checked in, the rate on the bill was different than what was on my confirmation, the front desk staff, promptly corrected it. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean. Hotel was well kept inside and out. Breakfast was good and dining area was clean. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

4/12/2015 at 7:30 pm after having just returned to our room. We had the deadbolt and door locked and the chain on. There was a knock at the door and immediately the key was inserted from the outside. Fortunately the chain was on or the "maid" would have broken into our room. She didn't identify herself, but had a rag... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Mary616101, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the incident you encountered. We hope you treat this as an isolated incident and... More 

Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. The rooms are very clean, the staff go above and beyond in their helpfulness, the breakfast is good , and the stores and restaurants around the hotel are plentiful. I will certainly stay there again when passing through for their own business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Stayed one night, while visiting William Jewel and Liberty. We had a 3 generation party, including myself, spouse, daughter and grandson. We booked a two-Queen room on the 2nd floor. it was a tight squeeze with the crib. The microwave was on the small size, but the refrig was typical hotel room size. The room was quiet and clean. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Bed was o k. Bathroom was very small. Sink was on wall of hallway as u entered room. Staff was friendly and breakfast was typical o k. Will return there if in area. As usual had to ask for closed captions on t v in breakfast room. For some reason all Holiday Inns have the t v on in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is in need of some updating - I've stayed at other Holiday Inn Expresses that have definitely raised the bar. There are others to choose from in the Kansas City area, and although this is the closest when visiting the college in Liberty, we choose to stay elsewhere. The furniture, carpeting, and beds all are worn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Mary P, Thank you for posting a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the condition of the property and room amenities. Your input will be shared with our management team... More 

Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We called and advised the hotel that we would have a late check in and they were very accommodating. When we arrived; however, the front desk agent (although very friendly and polite) could not find the reservation. I joined my husband inside to see what was going on. It was a simple misunderstanding, he said his first name was Bill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear SummerL26, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the room cleanliness, comfortable bedding, bathroom amenities and wide selection of breakfast items. I appreciate your kind comments about the friendly and efficient staff.... More 

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

HI Express hotels were one of two of our preferred hotel chains when we plan vacations, so we booked a reservation for this hotel for the first night of our vacation. Big mistake. There was something wrong with the air quality that we didn't realize until I woke up with a terrible coughing fit after two hours of sleep. That... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Rose H, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again... More 

Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When we first checked in, we were placed in a room that was offset from the hallway by a door and right next to the elevator. I didn't feel comfortable being secluded so I asked to switch. The front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our next room was very nice and spacious. The king rooms (216 and 316)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renee H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Jared- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for expressing your needs to the staff and allowing us to accommodate. We are pleased that our hotel exceeded your expectations and we look forward to hosting you again! Thank you Darryl B. More 

Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at 3 hotels on our family vacation & this one was by far the worst! It's worse than the hotel we stayed at on our last family vacation & that's hard to beat. Bad 1. NOT enough parking spots for guest 2. Pool is VERY small....26 capacity. There were 2 families and it was crowded (less than 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review

Dear Danielle S, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities