We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

2.5 of 5 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
12
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
See the most recent reviews
Hummelstown
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is located a bit off the Interstate and in kind of a dicey area, but the room was clean and large and check-in very easy. The gym is rudimentary at best and not all equipment worked. Breakfast was OK and the server very friendly but they did not have the automatic pancake machine. We got bottles of water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear HanoiIG, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.... More 

Clinton, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently visited my son and wife in the KC area and my son suggested this place because of the close proximity to his house. Check-in went smooth the front desk staff were very friendly accommodating. When looking for our room we found the room number missing but soon figured out which one it was. We were on the third... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear Pat B, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel August 09, 2013. Overall experience was ok I guess. The room was pretty clean which was nice. I will say that my biggest complaint was that the morning breakfast staff which could not possibly have been ruder. These two girls sense of urgency in keeping food out was nowhere to be found. Muffin tray empty the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear Garry A, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are very sorry you were not so pleased with your recent stay at our hotel and offer our sincere apologies for... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let me start with the fact the hotel was accommodating since our priority club reservation had the incorrect date. Priority club called the hotel confirmed reservations for the correct date. The front desk recognized us as pc members that had the reservations for the incorrect date. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Overall we enjoyed our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. And we highly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. I’ll make sure to let them know your comment as we always strive for the best customer experience. Thank you for recommending out hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. More 

Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was sorely disappointed with my stay at this hotel. I chose it for the location, being one of the closest to Kaufman Stadium. The front desk staff was friendly but did not explain any of the amenities (breakfast times, wifi, etc). When I asked about transport to the Stadium, I received a number for a shuttle service that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear Sapperlight, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel from the Stadium. We would like to apologize for the service you received that did not live up to your expectations. We also apologize you were not satisfied with the room accommodations you had and... More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute and able to get a room. 137 with aaa discount. Check in and check out staff were over the top helpful and nice. We had an issue where candy was found along the edge of thebed and my 10 mo old ate a piece. Staff discounted the room and promised to speak to housekeeping about the issue.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is very important for us that our guests feel comfortable and home. We apologize about the incident about your baby. We are also delighted that you like the breakfast that we have for our guest. And we highly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. I’ll make... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Moldy ceiling in basement hallway. A/C not working in our room. Tarp-like plastic mattress pad. Bugs on bathroom floor. Food stains on guest room walls. Unsafe pool setup. PM staff not very personable, although AM front-desk woman was VERY nice and apologetic, although each time I went to talk to her she was dealing with other complaints ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear abop24, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the over-all experience you had that did not live up to your expectations. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, we have... More 

Heatland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Was with family at Children's Mercy Hospital and needed to find a place to stay for the night but did not start looking for a hotel until late in the evening. There was nothing available amongst the highly rated, reasonable priced hotels nearby. After a number of fruitless phone calls, I ended up with Holiday Inn reservations checking on another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize about the clerk not being too friendly. I’ll definitely address your concern with the cleck. Thank you very much for drawing your attention to these problems. We would be glad to get another chance to convince you entirely with our service quality. More 

West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I needed a hotel near Raytown for one quick night before starting a longer road trip weekend with a friend. This hotel is only a few years old and address-wise was close to where I needed to be but it was hard to find based on the directions from their site and the road/highway in front of the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear goodiowagirl, Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had over the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff, and some... More 

Lenexa, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked a handicap accessible room with 2 beds over 6 weeks in advance. They called the day we were due to check in and informed us that they could not do both! (No chance to find a different hotel by then!) They said the double bed room did have a grab rail for the tub, so I took that.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear THOMAS M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Address: 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay