We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Hotel website
Hotel deals
8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
13
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
See the most recent reviews
Waynesville, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Our timing was terrible. We shared the hotel with a few soccer teams. The kids decided to play soccer indoors until the wee hours as well as starting around 06:00. Staff did convince the few (inadequate number or) chaperones to get the kids under control when we complained. Sounded like there was more than a little bit of damage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pamela H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and for choosing our Holiday Inn Express. What a happy occasion to visit Kansas City. I apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Yes we were quite busy with a few soccer teams and some were reminded to use their indoor voices :) They were a great group of kids... More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The room was nice and granite top vanity and shower were nice surprises. Facility was very clean and had what we needed. Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items. Avoid scrambled egg because it look and tasted like processed food instead of freshly prepared. Wi-fi was the slowest we had ever encountered in a hotel. I tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rapid City, South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The lady at the front desk was exceptionally friendly- we were greeted warmly and she helped us find a place to eat dinner. The hotel was new, our room was clean and large and the bed was amazingly comfortable. A fabulous value for a little over $100.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pamela H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, enjoyed the value, and look forward to seeing you again very soon! Our staff stands ready to assist you. More 

Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My boss was in town and wanted to see the Royals play so we decided to stay at the Holiday Inn by the complex, the Bar that we started at was in the hotel on the lobby floor and Tessie was our bartender, she was awesome she kept the crowd lively and added a welcome home attitude. it was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was a nice quiet hotel. Clean rooms good price. The staff was awesome. The only down side is I did not see a side of the hotel that would have a good view. This did not matter to us as we were there to see friends. But it may matter to some one else. If you are looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dwayne V, Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of our property. We are thrilled that you chose our Holiday Inn Express during your visit with friends and we certainly hope that you return very soon. (By the way, our staff thinks you are pretty awesome as well)! More 

Fairmont, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a very relaxing stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Went to a Twins/Royals game and location was GREAT!We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pamela H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel, and, thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that you had a fabulous stay. The Twins and Royals will play again in Kansas City, we hope you come back for that game. If you need a different reason to come to Kansas City, just give us a call,... More 

White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was not even close to the stadiums!! There is a Holiday Inn across the street from the stadiums(why isn't that called the sports complex, just because it has a waterpark? Very deceiving) and this is about 20 or so minutes away. It is also in a very bad part of KC. They had armed security at night walking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pamela H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. Your time is valuable and we appreciate the amount you spent sharing with us. I would like to talk with you personally and discuss your recent stay. Please take a moment and contact me at the hotel directly. I look forward to talking you. More 

Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I particular enjoyed the spacious and clean room. But when you're here on business and in need of a reliable internet connection. This is not the hotel to stay in. The internet speed was even worse than dial-up. And when we complained to the front desk about it, they did not bother checking what was wrong, more so, did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear Didi P, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you appreciated your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry the WiFi service was unacceptable during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give... More 

Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The room with a king size bed was clean and furnishings were fairly new. I could hear the people upstairs walking in their rooms. It sounds like they have thin floors. The Wifi in their rooms was so slow that you thought you were in a dial up connection. I complained about it in the front desk and the guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review

Dear duanerdude, Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased with you mentioning about our clean room accommodations. However, it is regrettable that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay because of the noise levels you have experienced and the WiFi service that was provided. I have taken note of your... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was the fifth hotel we stayed at on our vacation and it was definitely a case of saving the best for last. We all agreed it was the best experience, even besting a high end resort. The location was great, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and we felt it was a very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question