We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

3.5 of 5 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    119
    72
    33
    36
See reviews for
57
74
20
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

Reasonable hotel and value. Staff quite helpful and friendly. Noisy near elevator as sound travels well through this flooring. But the much greater noise source is the AC/heater, which is considerable. Windows don't open so you do need to use the HVAC system. Overall value is fair. The suites are much better and would think about those first.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kurt H, Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I am pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. We are continuously coaching and training our team to make sure each guest leaves the hotel 100% satisfied with their service. I would like to apologize for the noise levels from the... More 

Noel, Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I went to see our youngest granddaughter perform at JamFest (cheer competition) which was conveniently right across the street at the convention center. We got rooms for us and Son's family, both king suites with a separate living room and pull out couch for the 2 granddaughters. Ours was by the elevator, which was a little noisy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear WilliamsHomes, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. First of all, I'd like to say, I hope your granddaughter did well at the JamFest Competition. It's always exciting seeing how hyped up the kids get before they perform. I would like to apologize for the... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed here for two weeks on business and had a pleasant time. Food at the hotel restaurant was of a good standard. I did have one disappointing meal on my first night there but gave them a second chance and was pleased to see that all other meals were good. Friendly helpful staff with an attentive barman in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Richard P, Thank you for such a great review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtoan and recognizing our associates. You can't beat our location for all the activities downtown and we are glad you found it convenient. We look forward to having you back for another great stay the next time you travel to Kansas City. Thank You!... More 

Derby, Kansas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel - outstanding down town location. The front desk is friendly and helpful. The rooms are decorated nice - We were in room 2201 over looking Bartle Hall. Ask for a high room they are quieter. The restaurant has a pretty good selection - and the food is good. If you want Starbucks - there is one inside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear lakelizrd, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay even with the inconvenience in our Executive Lounge. I would like to apologize for the way you were treated and I appreciate your comments. As we are... More 

Topeka, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Oh where do I begin. First the positive, I called at 2pm to see if our room was ready, which it wasn't. Not a problem. We decided to go anyway and have a drink in the bar. I guess the bar didn't open until 3 but they decided to open early for us. When 3 came, we went to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kristen C, Thank you for taking your time to share feedback on your stay with the TripAdvisor community. I'd like to apologize for the way you were treated during your stay, especially after bringing your problem to the attention of my staff. Our people are trained to act immediately upon any report of a complain and part of that... More 

Northwest Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We bought a room on Priceline's name your own price. "Won" the hotel for $60/night (plus tax). When we got there I realized we would have to park in a parking garage and wondered how much that would cost. I asked the valet who told me it would be $15 for our entire stay. When we checked in I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear havinfuntravelin, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Crowne Plaza KC Downtown. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I appreciate your comments. As we are continually striving to improve our guest service delivery, I will utilize your comments to coach and train our staff. I hope that should... More 

West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a one-night reservation for February 7, 2015. A room was already available when we arrived between 1:00 and 2:00 p.m. The front desk representative, while smiling, was distant and not really paying attention. She gave us room keys without ever telling us our room number, leaving us to look inside the key card envelope and direct ourselves. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear nateboreland, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I would like to apologize for the experience you had, and I will be sharing your feedback with our team. I would appreciate it if you would contact our General Manager directly, because we would like to make this right... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I believe in giving superior customer service! Today I was the receipient of superior customer service! I want to thank Crystal of the front desk for her warm and charming assistance! She acknowledged me and made me feel totally welcomed! Crystal you ROCK! Stephanie of room service thank you so much for the chocolate cake! Your kind words touched me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sherron, Thank you so much for such a great review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am truly delighted to read your comments and I would like to thank you for taking the time to recognize our associates Crystal and Stephanie for their superior customer service. I have shared your comments with them and the entire management... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Here on business. Hotel has been refurbished. Had a room on 24th floor. Good amenities and new furnishings. Not so clean though. Bathroom had a used dried up washcloth still in the shower which led me to believe in substandard cleaning. Beds were worn. Room a/c not working well and fan ran all night. The room had a mini fridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Rachel G, Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor Community. At the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown, we are dedicated to ensuring each and every guest leaves our hotel with a positive impression of the hotel and our city. I am sorry to say, we fell short in this instance and I would like to sincerely apologize... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nivea, at the front desk is amazing. Glad I have the pleasure of working with her. Although I am not a guest of the hotel but a contractor working in the hotel, I have seen her interact with the guest and she always has a smile on her face and helps them with what they need. She is the person... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear craigmcniel, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about Nivea! She is truly an asset and I have made sure to pass this on to her. Thanks again! Ashley Blair Guest Services More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay