We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 110 Kansas City hotels

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
72%
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    186
    82
    54
    40
See reviews for
92
168
36
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (606)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (208)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (133)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I would just like to start off by saying that The InterContinental in Kansas City is 1st class all the way. My family and I were treated with the upmost respect from the very minute we stepped foot on the Property. The General Manager, Don Breckenridge, is one of the most hands on and professional hotelier that I have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a friend for a wedding. Thought it was very nice for the price $219 per night. Clean rooms, friendly staff (especially valet), bathroom a bit on the small side. Comfortable beds. Self park is very close and easy but is still $15 per night. We were on the 6th floor and there was some street noise but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and our staff very friendly. Please know we appreciate you highly recommending the hotel to other travelers! We'll all look forward to the next opportunity to serve you! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My new wife and I elected to stay at this prestigious establishment on our wedding night, overlooking the area where we were engaged not ten months ago. I grew up seeing this building and was always in awe of it. Its views of the Country Club Plaza are unmatched and I had planned to stay there on a special occasion.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies. I would appreciate the opportunity to learn more details about your stay and who you interacted with so we may follow-up as appropriate internally. I may be contacted at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. It is extremely unusual to receive feedback such as yours regarding the service provided by our staff, so I am anxious to learn more... More

Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For those who have read any of my previous reviews, I love staying at nice resorts and hotels with great service. I think it's a huge part of why we all take time off and vacation. Needless to say, my boyfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip to Kansas City to watch the Tigers and Royals play baseball... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughtful and very kind comments! They are truly appreciated and were shared with our team this morning, Whenever I may be of service during any of your future stays, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reuben, Craig and Kent in the Concierge Room on 11 were all excellent. Very friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to assist. I had breakfast and after hours, and they fully accommodated my comfort and seemed to really care. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5-star rating! Your comments will be shared with Reuben, Kent and Craig. We appreciate you letting us know how impressed you were with the service they provided you! We'll all look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Kansas City! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finishing out my stay at this hotel -- thoroughly unimpressed. A few concerns: 1. Rates are still premium for a hotel that hasn't been updated in years. I've stayed in nearly all hotels in this city -- the rooms at the Westin Crown Center or the Raphael are *at least as nice* and usually markedly less. Unfortunatley all were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We regret you didn't leave the hotel with the same positive impression that a very large majority of our guests have. All guestrooms and food and beverage outlets were renovated with-in the last five years. All guestroom corridors, the lobby and all rooftop meeting space was renovated two years ago. The hotel is... More

PORTLAND,OR
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Plaza is a gem of a retail area in a beautiful American city worth anyone's travel attention. Staying at the Intercontinental was an equal treat. Large enough to handle large ballroom functions yet small enough to easily get around. The hotel is wonderfully located within a short walk to the Plaza. Stayed 6-nites recently and enjoyed each day. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Seeing as you stayed with us for six nights attending a conference, it sounds like you were able to experience all areas of the hotel. We're very glad you enjoyed everything. Thanks for sharing your feedback! So you know, we do have mini-refrigerators on order for all guestrooms, and expect them to be here in November. Once again,... More

Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend. It is GORGEOUS! The neighborhood is rich with history and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This hotel is very military friendly. Mariam, the gal that checked us in, was knowledgeable and welcoming. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know you and your husband had a great weekend stay with us! We'll be sure to share your comments with Mariam, along with our thanks for making such a positive impression on you. We'll look forward to your next stay at the InterContinental Kansas City! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

Saint Louis
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a 3-night stay and could not be more disappointed. Tho we had a "special" rate (a block of rooms had been set aside for a special event), the room was overpriced for what it offered. Our "superior" room was incredibly small, no table or chairs (except at the desk), a telephone with a button labeled for immediate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies for the challenges you experienced while our guest. I would like to have the opportunity to make amends and learn more details about your experience. Please feel free to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascitic.com. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

Vincennes, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice size room #212. Door to the Bathroom did not close and Alarm clock did not work. Room was overall very quiet. I would stay here again if I was in the area as it was within walking distance to shopping. Would not stay in this room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We regret that you didn't particularly care for the room you were in, but certainly very glad to learn you plan on staying with us again the next time you are in town. Please feel free to contact me directly at that time and we'll ensure you are in a room you will be very comfortable in. You... More

Do you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay