We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 110 Kansas City hotels

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
72%
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Jmreedy
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    190
    84
    55
    41
See reviews for
94
168
37
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (619)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (208)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our daughter celebrated her wedding reception at the top of the Intercontinental last weekend and we couldn't be happier. The reception staff was outstanding - always hustling and trying to do more. The room was beautiful, the night perfect and the service excellent. Many of our guests stayed at the hotel as well and were very pleased with the service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We can't thank you enough for trusting us to serve you, your daughter and your family & friends during this very special time! We're obviously very pleased the weekend was everything you and your daughter had envisioned! Please know we'll share your comments with our entire team. We'll also be sure to thank Kent for being so attentive... More

Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

a mixed experience for 20 women celebrating a birthday: Our waitress for our private room was unfailingly cheerful and eager to please. However, the food was ordinary and the service was beyond slow. The waitress even told us as salads were served (delicious salad, by the way) the 16 filets ordered were in the oven so entrees would be served... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I will be hosting an event at this hotel and have stayed twice as a guest and am always impressed by the service and the quality of this hotel. The restaurant on site has wonderful breakfast, location is perfect for shopping, and I always feel well-rested when I leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us for the 2nd time. We appreciate your loyalty! Please know we also appreciate your kind words. If may be of service to you when you host your event at the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for a few days here. Very nice hotel. Great location. Very clean rooms. Friendly staff. Decent restaurant for a casual bite. Walking distance to great food. No complaints except wifi was a bit slow....do all things considered....it's all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and found your room to be clean and our staff very friendly! Thank you for staying with us and we'll look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at the InterContinental in Kansas City. The staff was extremely and professional and the surrounding area is beautiful. The locals were even more polite. We went to the MLB playoffs between KC and the Orioles and found that even walking around with Orioles hats everyone was jovial with us. After some good natured jabs from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5-star rating! I guess a true test of mid-western hospitality is when you can walk around the streets of KC wearing an Orioles hat, while they are town playing our Boys In Blue for the ALCS, and still be made to feel very comfortable. I'm glad our city passed the test! The Orioles are... More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor attitude amongst the staff across the board. Entire hotel appears dated except the bar area. Great location however. Plaza side rooms are loud with street traffic. Good wifi strength. Bar was fun without a doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad you enjoyed your experience in the Oak Bar, but certainly disappointed to learn of your perception that our staff had a poor attitude. It is very unusual to hear feedback like this about our staff. Obviously, we would appreciate you sharing details with us so we may follow-up as appropriate internally, You may reach me at... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Kent in the concierge lounge made our morning. Treat him well because he is a treat to guests! He is courteous, quick to offer a refill, clear our plates and keep us laughing. Concierge lounge is a nice value too. Nice variety of food and beverages. Excellent view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, and for letting us know how much you enjoyed the service provided by Kent! He consistently does an outstanding job and we will be sure to share your feedback with Kent. We'll all look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a pretty big fan of InterContinental's. I stay in them around the country. I really liked this particular property. It was once a Ritz Carlton and it shows, but in a good way! Lots of marble and crystal and an overall lux feel. The sense of arrival was spot-on with lots of warm greetings from hospitable staff. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback and your kind words! Your comments were reviewed with our team this morning, and there were a lot of smiles in the room! Please know we will also share your remarks with Mirella, along with our thanks for making such a positive impression on you. It's music to our ears... More

Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The decor and furnishings are really old. Mustard and brown rooms quite depressing. Old, thin towels and a smell of old lady house. Toast was hard and dry with room service. Toilet broken. Depressing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We realize liking or not liking a hotel's decor and furnishings is a personal choice, and we regret that you did not care for the selections made by the hotel's design team. We do appreciate you sharing your thoughts. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You are only paying for location with this hotel. I tried to put a review on the website and they wouldnt post it because all reviews go thru some "approval" system. I am determined to voice my opinion in my stay. My husband, 6mos old and I stayed at a King standard for $169. There is no fridge but you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. Please know reviews on the IHG website are not screened. There is a requirement that the guest enters their reservation confirmation number, which is standard in the industry. Additionally, the "approval" process is a standard for all sites, including Trip Advisor. This allows a... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay