We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    198
    251
    146
    72
    41
See reviews for
71
105
30
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (708)
  • Mar-May only
    (189)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (134)
All months
San Diego, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I flew in from San Diego 27 July night at round 12 pm mid night. As it was back to back flight I asked the front desk girls where can I get a banana.She pointe me to the kiosk and it was locked and promised me that the security will come and open the kiosk so that I can have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This complaint is regarding the Marriott Downtown, Kansas City, MO. We are so very disappointed with our recent stay 7/23 – 26/15. Overall, the quality of the room was no better than Hotel 6. No refrigerator, no microwave, lousy TV reception (limited channels and static on screen). The bed sheets came loose constantly. The hot water was so hot that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and I am sorry that we failed you on that. In the first quarter of 2016 we are starting our guest room renovation and refrigerators are one of the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was super helpful and friendly, rooms were standard, food was not inspired. There are two hotel buildings connected by a second floor walkway over the road. For a convention it means using the walkway many, many times to get to the activities. Area has very little in the way of restaurants and things to see, more of a business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that our staff were friendly and assisted you with your requests. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable, but I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the drain not draining properly. I have notified our Engineering and Housekeeping teams... More 

GLASGOW, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here last week for a convention and was very pleased. Mostly with the very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was pretty standard w/o a frig or m/w. The beds were comfy and very clean. There wasn't however, adequate towel bars for towels, but there was a pull across clothes line in the tub area. The food in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having your convention at our hotel. We are happy to hear that all of our staff were Brilliant Hosts to you and assisted you with anything you may have needed. I am pleased that you liked your room accommodations. We have an upcoming guest room renovation and I will share your comment about... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed two nights at this hotel for a conference (my group had about 9 rooms booked these two nights). We checked in, took our things to the room, unpacked, and then left to explore. When we returned to our room late that evening and removed our shoes, we realized that the carpet was WET... Not just a bit damp,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking he time to post the comments about your recent stay. We rely on all types of feedback to help us improve our hotel operations. Our goal is to provide 100% guest satisfaction and unfortunately we did not achieve that goal during your stay. Please accept my apologies for the carpet in your room being wet. I... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful hotel! We stayed 2 nights while being vendors at the convention, ConQuest (May, 2015). It was an excellent experience and I would recommend it to everybody wanting a relaxing vacation in Kansas City! The rooms are very clean and the view of is spectacular! The staff was extremely helpful and the food in the bar was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your nice comments about your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you had a good time and that you enjoyed your room and the food the bar. I hope that your travels will bring you back to Kansas City and that you will give us the opportunity to serve... More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last week for a convention. Part of our group were in the nice, newer Marriott with larger rooms, three chairs, refrigerators and other expected amenities. I was in the Muehlebach with smaller rooms, two chairs, no refrigerator, no towel bars for the sink area, safety bath rail at the wrong end of the concave tub. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie855, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do sell our two tower property as one hotel, and while we do have three floors with refrigerators, currently we do not offer them in all of our guest rooms. I am very sorry for any inconvenience. We are excited to announce not only that our complete... More 

Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown and just returned home this afternoon. While the Marriott has a great location and we enjoyed the lobby and on-site restaurant for a buffet breakfast, the room we stayed in was awful. They sent us over to the "Muehlebach" Tower, which requires you to go up to the second floor,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. I do apologize that your accommodations in the Muehlebach Tower were not up to your expectations. We will be starting renovations of our guest rooms later this year that will be addressing many of the issues that you mentioned. I also apologize for the experience you... More 

East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights due to a convention that I attended. My comments: - my room was large & quiet -housekeeping was always late in the day, but the room was kept clean and restocked with supplies. -the staff throughout the hotel areas was always offering smiles and saying hello-a very nice surprise. Unfortunutely, the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay. We depend on all types of feedback to continue to improve our hotels operations. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you had during your banquet functions. Our goal is to always provide 100% guest satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not achieve... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was one of the more impressive Marriott locations I have stayed in. The lobby and bar area is huge, and beautiful! The bar area is open and there are tables and booths everywhere with a lot of room for large groups. The service was wonderful, too. We stopped in after the Rush concert and grabbed some food and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking he time to post your wonderful comments about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of our BarCentral and other local night life locations during your stay. I hope you will give us the chance to serve you again if... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (16)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#23 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#49 of 110 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#29 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay