We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Truman Hotel and Conference Center

1510 Jefferson St, Jefferson City, MO 65110
Hotel amenities
Truman Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    6
    3
    9
    16
See reviews for
3
6
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just wanted to express my gratitude of our stay thus far. I left our room about 10 am this morning with our 8 month old son and by 1230 when we came back our room was very throughly cleaned, I was very impressed! I met a very nice lady in the hallway that was a member of your staff who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale City, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Truman Hotel was my first choice for my first visit to Jefferson City. I arrived late in the day and was greeted kindly and rapidly. The Hotel is old, but for it's size and age it looked well kept. My room was small but more than adequate for my travel needs and the bed was quite comfortable. The lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there for a Veterans Convention June 27th, 2015. The Bathroom floor had something disgusting on it and I had to clean it up. The TV for a lot of the rooms was out. The shower alternated between hot and cold. On the up side, the bed was comfortable and the AC worked fine. This hotel is slated to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a cousin's wedding with my wife and we couldn't be more unhappy. The room was so humid the sheets were almost damp to the touch. If you slept on your stomach you might have felt like you were swimming. The room and hallway smelled a little musty and everything was generally in an awful state of disrepair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to give us your input. With 95 degrees and 98% humidity, I had several say the same about the moisture in the building so I do apologize....the system just can't keep up. As far as breakfast I will be glad to check what was going on. I generally get nice comment on the breakfast as it... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

My girl & I got a room to swim for the day and relax for the night. To start we couldn't get in our room because the key cards wouldn't work. When we finally got new cards & into our room the inside door handle pulled right out of the socket. Maintenance came to fix the door handle. While he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes, I was there assisting you and seemed you all had a good time. The keys are being disposed of. These are sponsored keys by a pizza chain and they continue to give us problems. You were not the only one having this issue. We had to clean the pool from a late night obvious pool... More 

Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The bed and pillows appeared new, firm and clean. Enjoyed having a recliner in our room, as well as refrig and coffee maker. Enjoyed hearty continental breakfast, which included excellent biscuits and gravy every day, and homemade oatmeal on week-ends. Coffee was strong and flavorful. Lots of options on the buffet. The price was very reasonable for what we received.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda, Thank you for your review. It takes a lot of effort to maintain this historic property. It certainly is different than all the other newer hotels. This property has true building quality with woodwork that dates back 50 years and has true workmanship of craftsman. New plans are in the works so we hope you come back to... More 

Albany, MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Great staff! Very pleasant, personable and accommodating. Unfortunately they don't have a lot to work with. Buildings and rooms were clean but could be in much better repair The old hotel is just worn out. I do appreciate the staff and their efforts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your review and input. Yes...it is an older hotel but does have some charm many like. We continue to improve staff and these reviews inform us of how we are doing. Again, thanks for your time and we appreciate your review! More 

Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I stayed here during graduation season. I had called requesting a 1st floor room,there was no record of this request on my reservation. We were given a first floor room only to find water & a bug in the tub still in the tub. I requested that someone remove it while we were out (they did not have anymore 1st... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value your input. Yes, we were sold out all weekend for graduations, weddings and even another big group event. I did have the restaurant open on Friday night and Saturday night for our guests. We had a full breakfast...not just the normal continental. We did this as an added bonus for our guests so... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

The reason I wanted to stay here was for the restaurant Binghams. I thought great a hotel with a restaurant attached! Room service! Awesome! Um no....all they had to offer was a continental breakfast. Which consisted of gravy, biscuits, eggs, sausage...all served out of crock pots. Not professional at all. Not appetizing to look at not to eat. Thank goodness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes, our fabulous Binghams restaurant is closed at certain times based on how many guests are here. We always inform our guests of restaurants near us. One great German restaurant is just a few feet from the hotel. Thanks again for your review and staying with us. I will investigate the other issues. More 

Saint Robert, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I had items in my room prior to the cleaning lady. After the lady left the items were missing. When I informed the desk the answer I got was, "What do you want me to do?" No manager on duty all weekend. When the manager called a week later he asked if I was sure that I had the items.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I think you may be talking about a phone charger. I did find a wall charger but no cord. I questioned our housekeeping staff and nothing was turned in. We have not had any issues from our staff with stealing. You are always welcome to contact me so I can continue to search this issue. Some... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
0.8 mi away
Jefferson City Days Inn
Jefferson City Days Inn
#6 of 14 in Jefferson City
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites
Baymont Inn & Suites
#9 of 14 in Jefferson City
3.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
#1 of 14 in Jefferson City
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Hotel
#10 of 14 in Jefferson City
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge - Jefferson City
Econo Lodge - Jefferson City
#12 of 14 in Jefferson City
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay