We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Truman Hotel and Conference Center

1510 Jefferson St, Jefferson City, MO 65110
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Truman Hotel and Conference Center
Professional photos
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    Write a Review

    23 reviews from our community

    Traveler rating
      1
      3
      3
      7
      9
    See reviews for
    Families
    0
    4
    1
    10
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      3 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      2 of 5 stars
    • Service
      3 of 5 stars
    • Value
      2 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      2.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (23)
    • Mar-May only
      (5)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (4)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (9)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (5)
    All months
    Kansas City, Missouri
    2 reviews
    3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    I would never stay in this hotel unless thee was no other choice except sleeping in my car. I go to Jefferson City regularly during legislative session. I am a physician. I had reservations at the Comfort Suites (2/11/15). It was a guaranteed late arrival. I had an emergency case come up. Before leaving Kansas City at 10:30 PM I... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear John, Thanks for your review. Our sincerest apologies for this issue. After hearing of your room problem we found out that the thermostat was not working properly. The City was full that evening. We also own the Comfort Suites. I speak for all of us at the Puri Hotel Group that our goal is 100% customer satisfaction. "Comping" the... More 

    Linn Creek, Missouri
    Reviewer
    3 reviews 3 reviews
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    This Hotel is older and very charming. The lobby is elegant and speaks to the history of President Truman. The staff went beyond and above their call of duty. Jeff the manager, Veronica and Kirsten made sure my 94 year old mother was comfortable and brought her snacks while I was at an Missouri Municipal League meeting at the capitol.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    1 review
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    We stopped at this hotel on our way to Hermann, MO for a labor day vacation. We arrived late and without a reservation and we were able to get a room without an issue. One thing to note is that there is no elevator for the second floor. The rooms were very stately and large and the bed was comfortable.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear Kendra, I very much appreciate you you taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your positive review. We are trying to make a difference. As you noted...we are not the newest but many of our guests love the charm of a historic hotel. FYI: My family is from Hermann with many years of history being riverboat... More 

    Senior Reviewer
    6 reviews 6 reviews
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

    I had to work in town for the day and online it looked great. It's old and needs upgrading. The meeting rooms are converted hotel rooms, I couldn't connect to the wifi, and the place was fairly dirty. The internal restaurant had decent food and is huge. If you want to avoid a crowd, try it. Their computer system crashed... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear Jason, I appreciate your review and the kind comments on the food and staff. I was shocked to hear the word "filthy" as our restaurant is kept very nice and is a Jefferson City favorite. Again, thanks for your input and you are welcome to email me so I can search deeper in to this issue during your stay.... More 

    1 review
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

    I was on a football trip and the team we was playing placed us here. When I first walked in I could smell that cheap hotel smell. Then our A/C wouldn't work the A/C monitor was almost falling off the wall. The ice machine didn't work, and the bathroom was disgusting. The pipes was loud when you used the water.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear Blake, Thank you for the review and I am sorry you had that experience. Even joking, I do not allow our employees to speak with guests like that. I will make sure and check out who that might have been. I was here when you stayed and spoke to many of the players. I had great comments on the... More 

    Senior Contributor
    28 reviews 28 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

    I was here in September for a meeting. I saw pros and cons to the property. Staff at the front desk did not seem to know where things were, there were two ladies there when I came in, one was friendly, one was not helpful at all. They weren't helping other people find their way either because we had loads... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear Marclar99, Thank you for taking time to submit your review. We have made recent changes as in carpets cleaned and rooms deep cleaned. Thank you for the comments on the staff...I will be sure and pass them on. I hope you will come back and see our progress. We do take pride in this historic hotel but we have... More 

    1 review
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

    I had no choice but to stay here on September 20th. I wish I had made my reservation in April, but alas. This seemed like the best option (price) left! I had read it was run down, but since I knew this hotel when it was a Ramada Inn, I thought it wouldn't be that bad. Well... The floor was... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear Singsince2: Thank you for your review. Since your stay, all carpets have been cleaned and rooms have been inspected. I am sorry you had a bad stay. I hope you will come back and let us show you that our facility is getting better every day. Yes, it is older but very historic with great food and service. More 

    1 review
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

    We attempted to stay here one evening after a very late meeting. Big Mistake! One bug would've been acceptable maybe but several large black beetle looking bugs crawling across the very unclean carpeting is NOT acceptable! The bathtub looked very dirty and I couldn't imagine taking a shower in it. There were spider webs everywhere. There were exposed areas of... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear Nicole, Thanks for your survey and it was very nice meeting you. I apologize about the sleeping room issues you encountered with the bugs you stated. I went back in there to personally inspect the room. I have also contacted our pest control company we contract with to make sure there are no future issues. We enjoyed your group... More 

    Bangkok, Thailand
    Contributor
    15 reviews 15 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

    My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during September 2014 to attend a football game at Mizzou. As it was a game weekend all the hotels in Columbia and surrounding areas were booked up. Knowing that this place still had availability I was not expecting much, but was still disappointed. Although the room was fairly clean we were... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Dear Peter: Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay while with us. We continue to make improvements and linens are one of the upgrades we continue to work on. I would be happy to speak with you on this and find out what room you were in so I can also review... More 

    Bentonville, Arkansas
    Senior Contributor
    33 reviews 33 reviews
    15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

    I was in the process of moving. I knew I would need 4 nights at a hotel in order to get the moving taken care of and then get the house cleaned. I needed a dog-friendly hotel and there were plenty to choose from. I selected Truman Hotel because it said it was newly-renovated. I was willing to pay the... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your input. Based on having and animal, I am guessing you stayed in one of the other buildings. Those two buildings are no longer used and shut down. I will be glad to check in to the rest of the issues you presented. We have made other exceptions for our animal friends... More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
    Owners: What's your side of the story?
    Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
    Manage your listing

    Been to Truman Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

    Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

    Additional Information about Truman Hotel and Conference Center

    Address: 1510 Jefferson St, Jefferson City, MO 65110
    Location: United States > Missouri > Jefferson City
    Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
    Hotel Class:2.5 star — Truman Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
    Number of rooms: 233
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Truman Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

    16 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (13)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (1)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (10)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (3)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (2)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (1)
    Hotels you might also like...
    Check In Check Out
    Price Your Stay

    Amenities

    Highlights
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free Internet
    • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
    • Room Service
    • Free Breakfast
    About the property
    • Wheelchair access
    • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
    Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
    Internet
    • Free Internet
    Services
    • Free Parking
    • Business Center with Internet Access
    • Room Service
    • Free Breakfast
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Meeting Rooms
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Truman Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    Hotels around Jefferson City

    Amber House Bed and Breakfast
    Amber House Bed and Breakfast 5.0 out of 5, 155 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015
    Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club
    Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club 4.0 out of 5, 322 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015
    Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
    Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City 4.5 out of 5, 63 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015
    Country Hearth Inn & Suites Fulton
    Country Hearth Inn & Suites Fulton 3.0 out of 5, 36 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Drury Inn Columbia
    Drury Inn Columbia 4.5 out of 5, 149 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 2, 2015
    Fairfield Inn & Suites
    Fairfield Inn & Suites 4.0 out of 5, 104 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Comfort Suites Jefferson City
    Comfort Suites Jefferson City 4.0 out of 5, 54 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 27, 2015
    Days Inn Columbia I-70
    Days Inn Columbia I-70 2.5 out of 5, 112 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 26, 2015
    Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center
    Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center 3.5 out of 5, 171 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 25, 2015
    Hampton Inn Jefferson City at Capital Mall
    Hampton Inn Jefferson City at Capital Mall 4.0 out of 5, 127 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 22, 2015
    Quail's Nest Inn & Suites
    Quail's Nest Inn & Suites 3.0 out of 5, 47 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 31, 2015
    Americas Best Value Inn
    Americas Best Value Inn 4.0 out of 5, 25 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 27, 2015
    Comfort Suites Columbia
    Comfort Suites Columbia 4.0 out of 5, 170 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 27, 2015
    Travelier Motel
    Travelier Motel 4.5 out of 5, 20 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 27, 2015
    California Motel
    California Motel 3.5 out of 5, 6 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 11, 2014