We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Truman Hotel and Conference Center

1510 Jefferson St, Jefferson City, MO 65110
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Truman Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

I think it was clean, but barely. It was har to tell because the hallway and the room were so smelly that you felt dirty. The carpet should have been replaced years ago. It was worn and oh, so smelly. No elevator to the second level made it difficult for me to get my suitcase upstairs -- I had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alto606
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

This hotel is low budget and crap quality to begin with, and the icing on the cake is the idiots working there. They don't know who is in what room and when - leading to a police report of a missing person, all because they can't keep their system straight. And their front desk people and management didn't care in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Abby D
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Abby, Thanks for your review. I did get the call. We NEVER give out information to anyone about what room or where a person might be. We take the security of our guests very seriously. I do realize the room was mis-logged in the system and I have had a serious talk with our front office staff. I was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Jefferson City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

We checked in on Sept 19th at about 7pm against my better judgement. We were given room 341. We got up to our room and the door was already slightly open due to the fact that it wouldn't close properly. We opened the door and the smell almost took our breath away. Old cigarettes, cats, and bad carpet cleaner smell.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Our apologies for whatever the problems were. I went to 341 and checked it out. I did not smell what you were stating you smelled...at least not cats, etc. Not sure what the issue was. We had a full house this weekend and it was busy. We always use a nice pleasant commercial spray after rooms are completed and cleaned,... More 

Kansas City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

The staff was the best I have seen in years and so helpful. The beds were wonderful and super clean. The entry was very nice. Price was cheap. towels were not super clean but the beds were. Ya get what you pay for and once it is remodeled i am sure it will be great.

Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyShawnee
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, it will be more than a little renovated. We will start the process of a complete rebuild very soon. This will be the newest hotel in Jefferson City with full services. Thank you again for your review! More 

Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel one night on business. I would never have stayed in a hotel this run down if I had to pay for it. My non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. The worst part was the bare wires hanging from the ceiling where the smoke alarm should have been! I was put in a room in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaMissouri
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your review. My apologies for you not feeling safe. With over 40 years of service, we have not had an issue with the safety of our guests. As far as the room smelling like smoke...we charge guests a maximum fee if caught smoking in a non smoking... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

What ever you do, don't stay here..don't book here. I overlooked the reviews and this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, in my entire life. I'm 50 years old and it was awful. They put us in some spill over basement, telling us they had not inside rooms. This was a lie..there were only 4 cars in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank crystal w
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks, Crystal. I reviewed your reservation and found that you were move to three different rooms. Twice in the Outside Building and once in the main building. I am not sure what happened but I can tell our front desk was doing all they could to try and make you comfortable. I wish we could please everyone but it just... More 

Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The hotel needs major updating, the rooms have a musky smell and the furniture is real out dated. It just a very run down place. I would not recommend it to anyone. It might have been a great place twenty thirty years ago, it just has not been well kept.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lowry F
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We about to start work on this historic hotel. Thanks for your review. More 

Lansing, Kansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

I stayed here about 20 years ago and it was a high end hotel and conference center. Today it is just a shell of what it use to be. It is old and dated and appears not a lot of money is going into the upkeep. We were so disappointed in the shower which provided only luke warm water. Shaving... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David F
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and review. We try to keep our customers happy. Our rooms are still a very good value for the age of the property and many guests enjoy our hotel because our property has character. I get many comment on the quality of the beds so I was surprised to read this about your bed. Thanks... More 

Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Nice clean rooms, personal are happy to help you. I stay every week and I show up early most weeks. They have my room ready and clean. The staff is also very friendly with all the guests. As I stated great place for the money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion Z
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Out of the thousands of people that stay with us, it is always nice to get a positive review. Human nature is to complain but very few take the time to say something good when they have the opportunity. We look forward to serving you again and thank you for your review. More 

Ozark, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

I had booked the reservation online and it clearly said that no payment was due and that all we needed to do was cancel 24 hours before we were to arrive, like any normal hotel. I put my card information in to reserve the rooms I had booked and expected to pay for the rooms when I arrived a month... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AshLauren
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear AshLauren, On several of the .com websites we do have it in policy about charging the room in advance. I will be changing this to authorizing the room 2 weeks out and if they do not authorize then we will call the guest for another form of payment.. We have many guests that use an expired card to hold... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
#1 of 14 in Jefferson City
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites
Baymont Inn & Suites
#9 of 14 in Jefferson City
3.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#10 of 14 in Jefferson City
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jefferson City Days Inn
Jefferson City Days Inn
#6 of 14 in Jefferson City
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Hotel
#11 of 14 in Jefferson City
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay