We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Truman Hotel and Conference Center

1510 Jefferson St, Jefferson City, MO 65110
Hotel amenities
Truman Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    8
    13
See reviews for
3
4
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Kerrville, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The bed and pillows appeared new, firm and clean. Enjoyed having a recliner in our room, as well as refrig and coffee maker. Enjoyed hearty continental breakfast, which included excellent biscuits and gravy every day, and homemade oatmeal on week-ends. Coffee was strong and flavorful. Lots of options on the buffet. The price was very reasonable for what we received.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great staff! Very pleasant, personable and accommodating. Unfortunately they don't have a lot to work with. Buildings and rooms were clean but could be in much better repair The old hotel is just worn out. I do appreciate the staff and their efforts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here during graduation season. I had called requesting a 1st floor room,there was no record of this request on my reservation. We were given a first floor room only to find water & a bug in the tub still in the tub. I requested that someone remove it while we were out (they did not have anymore 1st... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value your input. Yes, we were sold out all weekend for graduations, weddings and even another big group event. I did have the restaurant open on Friday night and Saturday night for our guests. We had a full breakfast...not just the normal continental. We did this as an added bonus for our guests so... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reason I wanted to stay here was for the restaurant Binghams. I thought great a hotel with a restaurant attached! Room service! Awesome! Um no....all they had to offer was a continental breakfast. Which consisted of gravy, biscuits, eggs, sausage...all served out of crock pots. Not professional at all. Not appetizing to look at not to eat. Thank goodness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes, our fabulous Binghams restaurant is closed at certain times based on how many guests are here. We always inform our guests of restaurants near us. One great German restaurant is just a few feet from the hotel. Thanks again for your review and staying with us. I will investigate the other issues. More 

Saint Robert, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had items in my room prior to the cleaning lady. After the lady left the items were missing. When I informed the desk the answer I got was, "What do you want me to do?" No manager on duty all weekend. When the manager called a week later he asked if I was sure that I had the items.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I think you may be talking about a phone charger. I did find a wall charger but no cord. I questioned our housekeeping staff and nothing was turned in. We have not had any issues from our staff with stealing. You are always welcome to contact me so I can continue to search this issue. Some... More 

Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

My family and I HAD to stay there, just for a night, due to a family emergency. Upon arrival I was not impressed both the "old" smell of the lobby area. The staff looked very unprofessional (dirty looking). I learned my reservation was incorrect in the system(I was given a King room). The double queens were actually full size beds--which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for your issues you had. Generally, all animals go to the outside building so this must have been a different situation or service dog. I will look up the reservation and check the room. What you described is not acceptable. I do know of the housekeeper and the iron situation and have already... More 

KCMO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I was rather apprehensive about staying at this hotel, having chosen it because it was the lowest cost Jefferson City hotel advertised at the time I made my reservation. The reviews were mixed, the majority being negative. My rating of this hotel reflects its comparison to other "cheapest" hotels at which I've stayed, not all hotels. It's NOT a luxury... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us a your review. Also, thanks for having confidence in us and not deciding on some things other people say and post. We are working hard to make this the best value hotel in Jefferson City. Service is what we try to do to show we are different and value our guests. Again,... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I would never stay in this hotel unless thee was no other choice except sleeping in my car. I go to Jefferson City regularly during legislative session. I am a physician. I had reservations at the Comfort Suites (2/11/15). It was a guaranteed late arrival. I had an emergency case come up. Before leaving Kansas City at 10:30 PM I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear John, Thanks for your review. Our sincerest apologies for this issue. After hearing of your room problem we found out that the thermostat was not working properly. The City was full that evening. We also own the Comfort Suites. I speak for all of us at the Puri Hotel Group that our goal is 100% customer satisfaction. "Comping" the... More 

Linn Creek, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

This Hotel is older and very charming. The lobby is elegant and speaks to the history of President Truman. The staff went beyond and above their call of duty. Jeff the manager, Veronica and Kirsten made sure my 94 year old mother was comfortable and brought her snacks while I was at an Missouri Municipal League meeting at the capitol.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. It was a pleasure serving you and your mother. We try to make sure we go above normal expectations for our guests. I take a personal interest when special requests are made so we can prove hospitality more than just selling a room. Tell her hello and it was a pleasure meeting you both. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stopped at this hotel on our way to Hermann, MO for a labor day vacation. We arrived late and without a reservation and we were able to get a room without an issue. One thing to note is that there is no elevator for the second floor. The rooms were very stately and large and the bed was comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Kendra, I very much appreciate you you taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your positive review. We are trying to make a difference. As you noted...we are not the newest but many of our guests love the charm of a historic hotel. FYI: My family is from Hermann with many years of history being riverboat... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay