We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Truman Hotel and Conference Center

1510 Jefferson St, Jefferson City, MO 65110
Hotel amenities
Truman Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    7
    10
See reviews for
1
4
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I HAD to stay there, just for a night, due to a family emergency. Upon arrival I was not impressed both the "old" smell of the lobby area. The staff looked very unprofessional (dirty looking). I learned my reservation was incorrect in the system(I was given a King room). The double queens were actually full size beds--which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCMO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I was rather apprehensive about staying at this hotel, having chosen it because it was the lowest cost Jefferson City hotel advertised at the time I made my reservation. The reviews were mixed, the majority being negative. My rating of this hotel reflects its comparison to other "cheapest" hotels at which I've stayed, not all hotels. It's NOT a luxury... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us a your review. Also, thanks for having confidence in us and not deciding on some things other people say and post. We are working hard to make this the best value hotel in Jefferson City. Service is what we try to do to show we are different and value our guests. Again,... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I would never stay in this hotel unless thee was no other choice except sleeping in my car. I go to Jefferson City regularly during legislative session. I am a physician. I had reservations at the Comfort Suites (2/11/15). It was a guaranteed late arrival. I had an emergency case come up. Before leaving Kansas City at 10:30 PM I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear John, Thanks for your review. Our sincerest apologies for this issue. After hearing of your room problem we found out that the thermostat was not working properly. The City was full that evening. We also own the Comfort Suites. I speak for all of us at the Puri Hotel Group that our goal is 100% customer satisfaction. "Comping" the... More 

Linn Creek, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

This Hotel is older and very charming. The lobby is elegant and speaks to the history of President Truman. The staff went beyond and above their call of duty. Jeff the manager, Veronica and Kirsten made sure my 94 year old mother was comfortable and brought her snacks while I was at an Missouri Municipal League meeting at the capitol.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. It was a pleasure serving you and your mother. We try to make sure we go above normal expectations for our guests. I take a personal interest when special requests are made so we can prove hospitality more than just selling a room. Tell her hello and it was a pleasure meeting you both. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stopped at this hotel on our way to Hermann, MO for a labor day vacation. We arrived late and without a reservation and we were able to get a room without an issue. One thing to note is that there is no elevator for the second floor. The rooms were very stately and large and the bed was comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Kendra, I very much appreciate you you taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your positive review. We are trying to make a difference. As you noted...we are not the newest but many of our guests love the charm of a historic hotel. FYI: My family is from Hermann with many years of history being riverboat... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I had to work in town for the day and online it looked great. It's old and needs upgrading. The meeting rooms are converted hotel rooms, I couldn't connect to the wifi, and the place was fairly dirty. The internal restaurant had decent food and is huge. If you want to avoid a crowd, try it. Their computer system crashed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Jason, I appreciate your review and the kind comments on the food and staff. I was shocked to hear the word "filthy" as our restaurant is kept very nice and is a Jefferson City favorite. Again, thanks for your input and you are welcome to email me so I can search deeper in to this issue during your stay.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I was on a football trip and the team we was playing placed us here. When I first walked in I could smell that cheap hotel smell. Then our A/C wouldn't work the A/C monitor was almost falling off the wall. The ice machine didn't work, and the bathroom was disgusting. The pipes was loud when you used the water.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Blake, Thank you for the review and I am sorry you had that experience. Even joking, I do not allow our employees to speak with guests like that. I will make sure and check out who that might have been. I was here when you stayed and spoke to many of the players. I had great comments on the... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I was here in September for a meeting. I saw pros and cons to the property. Staff at the front desk did not seem to know where things were, there were two ladies there when I came in, one was friendly, one was not helpful at all. They weren't helping other people find their way either because we had loads... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Marclar99, Thank you for taking time to submit your review. We have made recent changes as in carpets cleaned and rooms deep cleaned. Thank you for the comments on the staff...I will be sure and pass them on. I hope you will come back and see our progress. We do take pride in this historic hotel but we have... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I had no choice but to stay here on September 20th. I wish I had made my reservation in April, but alas. This seemed like the best option (price) left! I had read it was run down, but since I knew this hotel when it was a Ramada Inn, I thought it wouldn't be that bad. Well... The floor was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, General Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Singsince2: Thank you for your review. Since your stay, all carpets have been cleaned and rooms have been inspected. I am sorry you had a bad stay. I hope you will come back and let us show you that our facility is getting better every day. Yes, it is older but very historic with great food and service. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We attempted to stay here one evening after a very late meeting. Big Mistake! One bug would've been acceptable maybe but several large black beetle looking bugs crawling across the very unclean carpeting is NOT acceptable! The bathtub looked very dirty and I couldn't imagine taking a shower in it. There were spider webs everywhere. There were exposed areas of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff W, Manager at Truman Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, Thanks for your survey and it was very nice meeting you. I apologize about the sleeping room issues you encountered with the bugs you stated. I went back in there to personally inspect the room. I have also contacted our pest control company we contract with to make sure there are no future issues. We enjoyed your group... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question